Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2012, 07:59 AM   #1
docp
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 153
Default intel 520 degrading performance over 6 months

Hello all,
here is my benchmark of intel SSD 520series 120 gb.
this is used in dell latitude 6520 laptop as OS drive.
I have seprate 500 gb seagate to store all data.

this drive is half filled and 55 GB free and intel SSD toolbox is scheduled to do SSD optimizations every 1 week.which is confirmed working.remaining space is in another partition.

this is my crystal diskmark score.

do have a look.



is it time to get rid of this?
another issue I had last week was,laptop refused to boot saying no operating system found.
I managed to repair it via windows 7 usb drive.
but i dont know why it all of sudden became un bootable?
thanks.

Last edited by docp; 12-13-2012 at 10:08 AM.
docp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 09:17 AM   #2
docp
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 153
Default

here it is.



it says 100 percent health.SSD toolbox also says same.
thanks,

Last edited by docp; 12-13-2012 at 10:09 AM.
docp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 09:34 AM   #3
dmoney1980
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,069
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by docp View Post
here it is.

https://www.box.com/shared/static/w3...1uprxzs6gv.JPG

it says 100 percent health.SSD toolbox also says same.
thanks,
linky no worky....

Please run an AS SSD benchmark on it and post the screenshot if you can
dmoney1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 09:44 AM   #4
groberts101
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,390
Default

I would secure erase it and reimage that same install back over to the drive to see if the problem persists. That will give you back a nice big fresh block pool for the controller to work with and likely eliminate the speed issues.

From there we start looking at the install itself and potential driver related issues. Especially if you are running into no boot situations.
groberts101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 10:02 AM   #5
docp
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 153
Default

that boot issue was like this.
i was done with my work and had shutdown laptop.
then I remembered to put one game on my iPhone.went to start pc.
I saw dell boot screen and followed by no boot device.
I thought must be temp,I restarted couple of time no luck.
at least 5-6 times I tried to restart.but no luck,
finally opened up system bay,re seated the disk firmly but no luck ,ended up putting it in place of DVD drive caddy,from their it worked.
docp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 10:10 AM   #6
docp
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmoney1980 View Post
linky no worky....

Please run an AS SSD benchmark on it and post the screenshot if you can
I fixed up links.
do have a look.
thanks.
docp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 10:50 AM   #7
groberts101
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,390
Default

couple of things to look at then.

the bay or enclosure it's housed in can make all the difference in the world with some systems. Especially on a Dell.. Intel or no Intel SSD.

Also consider that software power saving options and bios energy mgmt implementation can still wreak havoc with SSD's. Intel or no Intel SSD.

Just out of curiosity.. was the laptop on battery power at the time.. or plugged in?
groberts101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:04 AM   #8
jhansman
Platinum Member
 
jhansman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by groberts101 View Post
the bay or enclosure it's housed in can make all the difference in the world with some systems. Especially on a Dell.. Intel or no Intel SSD.
How so? I have my 520 in a 3.5"->2.5" adapter that is in turn housed in a snap-in drive bracket for my Antec case. I would be interested to know if this is somehow affecting the drive. BTW, I am getting numbers similar to those shown by the OP.
__________________
Blessed is the man who has nothing to say, and cannot be compelled to say it.
jhansman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:07 AM   #9
docp
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by groberts101 View Post
couple of things to look at then.

the bay or enclosure it's housed in can make all the difference in the world with some systems. Especially on a Dell.. Intel or no Intel SSD.

Also consider that software power saving options and bios energy mgmt implementation can still wreak havoc with SSD's. Intel or no Intel SSD.

Just out of curiosity.. was the laptop on battery power at the time.. or plugged in?
it was plugged in power adapter and when it went bad it was in default system bay and it was swapped later.
docp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:08 AM   #10
docp
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhansman View Post
How so? I have my 520 in a 3.5"->2.5" adapter that is in turn housed in a snap-in drive bracket for my Antec case. I would be interested to know if this is somehow affecting the drive. BTW, I am getting numbers similar to those shown by the OP.
I am glad that our no. are similar .
I do not understand --- this drive is rated for 550 read and 500 write.
why this is not even touching 500?
docp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:12 AM   #11
jhansman
Platinum Member
 
jhansman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by docp View Post
I am glad that our no. are similar .
I do not understand --- this drive is rated for 550 read and 500 write.
why this is not even touching 500?
Mine has never hit 500, not even immediately after a fresh install of 64-bit Win7 and updated chipset drivers. I seem to remember my first M4 (64GB) did turn in 500+ numbers, but since, no drive I've used has. Everything still performs well, though.
__________________
Blessed is the man who has nothing to say, and cannot be compelled to say it.
jhansman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:13 AM   #12
Seven
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 307
Default

I am getting similar results on my 520 120GB. I don't see anything wrong with it.
Seven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:18 AM   #13
docp
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 153
Default

then its fine with me also but how do we explain no boot device found issue?
it was within minute of shut down.why it died all of sudden and came back after installing at another sata port after few tries?

on original port of SSD,now seagate 500 gb drive is installed and its working as always.
docp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:56 AM   #14
Seven
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 307
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by docp View Post
then its fine with me also but how do we explain no boot device found issue?
it was within minute of shut down.why it died all of sudden and came back after installing at another sata port after few tries?

on original port of SSD,now seagate 500 gb drive is installed and its working as always.
I cannot explain that. It might be a driver issue. I guess re-install/secure erase everything on the SSD and see if it helps.
Seven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:59 AM   #15
docp
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 153
Default

i will try it after exam.secure erase and all.
what i do not like is sudden no boot device.
rest all is fine.

reliability goes down to zero.
docp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 01:55 PM   #16
groberts101
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhansman View Post
How so? I have my 520 in a 3.5"->2.5" adapter that is in turn housed in a snap-in drive bracket for my Antec case. I would be interested to know if this is somehow affecting the drive. BTW, I am getting numbers similar to those shown by the OP.
Too many variables to give a quick answer.. but if you're seriously asking me that question.. and not trying to debate with me.. then I will gladly take the time to answer it later on this eve when I'm back in the office again.

The answers were eluded to in some small degree with my previous input to the OP.. so hopefully it may help him with the no-boot situation as well.

PS. SF based drives use compression so it stands to reason that an INCOMPRESSIBLE banchmark like the one popsted above will never give top rated speeds. Especially on a somewhat crippled and reduced power environment in a laptop. Use ATTO since that's where all the advertising comes from. Highly compressible and linear test data will give top speeds.. minus the slower hardwares performance hit.

Last edited by groberts101; 12-13-2012 at 01:58 PM.
groberts101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 01:56 PM   #17
jhansman
Platinum Member
 
jhansman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,214
Default

No, no debate needed. I am genuinely curious about any variable that can affect drive performance, so yes, please do share. Thanks.
__________________
Blessed is the man who has nothing to say, and cannot be compelled to say it.
jhansman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 02:31 PM   #18
blackened23
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,556
Default

Do you have TRIM and AHCI enabled? If it's an old laptop it likely does not support TRIM. That means performance may vary slightly over time.

Secondly, you're benchmarking with a 1GB file size; I believe most websites test at different settings.
blackened23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 04:55 PM   #19
Zxian
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 576
Default

Are you testing the drive with random data, or 0-fill?

Run the CrystalDiskMark again, but make sure to test only using 0-fill. You'll likely see figures much closer to the advertised speeds.

There's likely nothing wrong with your drive. It's simply a matter of how Sandforce controllers handle incompressible/compressible data.
__________________
i7-3770K@4.2GHz|P8Z77 WS|4x4GB DDR3-1600|ASUS 770 DC2OC|2x Samsung 830 256GB|2xWD 750GB|3x2443BW|Win7 Ult x64
Zxian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 10:00 PM   #20
docp
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackened23 View Post
Do you have TRIM and AHCI enabled? If it's an old laptop it likely does not support TRIM. That means performance may vary slightly over time.

Secondly, you're benchmarking with a 1GB file size; I believe most websites test at different settings.
its dell latitude e6520 with second gen.core i5 based system on qm67 chipset.
both TRIM and AHCI are enabled.

I do agree with you that I am testing at 1 GB size.
as many others got similar no.I am okay with it.

only thing I am not okay is sudden apparent death of drive resulting in no boot device error.
I did check it all over again just to make sure its not loose connection.
its not case of loose connection or anything.
it plainly refuses to work or even get detected in bios.

this is what is worrying part to me.

after words it did work for me but after 4-5 tries.
docp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 10:07 PM   #21
docp
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by groberts101 View Post
Too many variables to give a quick answer.. but if you're seriously asking me that question.. and not trying to debate with me.. then I will gladly take the time to answer it later on this eve when I'm back in the office again.

The answers were eluded to in some small degree with my previous input to the OP.. so hopefully it may help him with the no-boot situation as well.

PS. SF based drives use compression so it stands to reason that an INCOMPRESSIBLE banchmark like the one popsted above will never give top rated speeds. Especially on a somewhat crippled and reduced power environment in a laptop. Use ATTO since that's where all the advertising comes from. Highly compressible and linear test data will give top speeds.. minus the slower hardwares performance hit.
I did AS benchmark as suggested here,
no. are somewhat worse.
docp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 10:12 PM   #22
docp
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhansman View Post
No, no debate needed. I am genuinely curious about any variable that can affect drive performance, so yes, please do share. Thanks.
I also checked the adapter again,its just converter plug like normal SATA to DVD drive adapter.
max to max their will be some pin layout might be diff.in rare of scenario.
nothing else I could think of.
port wise,it supports 6 gbps bandwidth as checked in HW info.
DVD drive sata port also is mapped on SATA 3.
so I dont think it makes much diff.

pls elaborate what other causes can be their.

thanks.
docp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 12:22 PM   #23
Seven
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 307
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by docp View Post
I did AS benchmark as suggested here,
no. are somewhat worse.
It's an average score for the 520 120GB.

Do a secure erase and score might go up by 200 points, but will settle down overtime.

Again, this is completely normal.
Seven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 01:12 PM   #24
docp
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 153
Default

Can I do secure erase from say some boot disk or is it only via ssd toolbox?
docp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 01:30 PM   #25
Seven
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 307
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by docp View Post
Can I do secure erase from say some boot disk or is it only via ssd toolbox?
If you are using a laptop, you may not be able to do a secure erase using a toolbox. You might need to connect your SSD as an external disk in order to do a secure erase.

However, you can format the SSD during the OS installation process.
Seven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.