Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Cases & Cooling

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2012, 12:17 AM   #1
HNNstyle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 469
Default Nexus Real Silent Fan (How Do I adjust The Speed?)

Can someone help me? I purchased these fans the other day and they seem to only have one speed when plugged into the motherboard with the 3 pin connector. I've been using bios to change the fan speeds but it doesn't seem to work with these fans. Am I doing something wrong? My motherboard is the Asrock Z75 pro3.

http://www.nexustek.nl/NXS-nexus120m...entcasefan.htm


Okay, I went to the website and apparently these fans only have one speed setting. Is there anyway i can change this?

Last edited by HNNstyle; 12-13-2012 at 06:36 AM.
HNNstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 12:23 AM   #2
tsantsa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Default

without a fan controller, you could undervolt the fan to a lower speed by using an adapter such as these:

12v to 7v: http://www.performance-pcs.com/catal...oducts_id=2479

or

12v to 9v:http://www.performance-pcs.com/catal...oducts_id=2480

hope this helps

Last edited by tsantsa; 12-13-2012 at 12:26 AM.
tsantsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 12:34 AM   #3
HNNstyle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 469
Default

Interesting. I might try it if i can't find any motherboard tricks. Thanks!
HNNstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 04:53 AM   #4
dkm777
Senior Member
 
dkm777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania, Europe
Posts: 527
Default

Is there such a thing as "Q-Fan" in your BIOS? Asus boards as far as my experience goes can vary the fan voltage and can control speed this way. On my old Rampage Extreme there were 3 such fan headers and my current Sabertooth 990FX has many more. Also of note is that even though Sabertooth has some 4 pin headers they still work with 3 pin fans.
__________________

dkm777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 06:36 AM   #5
HNNstyle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 469
Default

I'm sorry. My motherboard is actually an ASrock, not Asus.

Last edited by HNNstyle; 12-13-2012 at 08:19 AM.
HNNstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 07:12 AM   #6
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

Does your motherboard have 3-pin headers or 4-pin headers? If they're 4 pin headers, they're usually PWM controllers by default. You need to enable voltage control in your motherboard, if it has it. If not, you have to convert the PWM into a voltage signal (using some simple circuit tricks).
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 08:18 AM   #7
HNNstyle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eureka View Post
Does your motherboard have 3-pin headers or 4-pin headers? If they're 4 pin headers, they're usually PWM controllers by default. You need to enable voltage control in your motherboard, if it has it. If not, you have to convert the PWM into a voltage signal (using some simple circuit tricks).
I have one connector that is 4-pin and three 3-pins. I'll look into the voltage controls when I get home later. I'm assuming that voltage controls only work on the 4 pin headers? The fans are 3-pin connectors, would that matter?
HNNstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 08:24 AM   #8
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

Well, here's what the 4 pins are: GND, PWR, tach and PWM.

3 pin fans only use the first three; they have no PWM pin for control. So the only way you can change the speed of the fan is to change the PWR input. If it was 4 pins, you could control it with PWM.

Almost all motherboards will have PWM control, but that does not work for 3 pin fans. Instead, you have to hope that your motherboard has onboard voltage control (which varies the voltage through the PWR pin).

PWM is for controlling 4 pin fans using 4 pin headers
Voltage control is for controlling 3 pin fans, using either 3 pin headers or 4 pin headers, depending on the design of the motherboard
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 08:59 AM   #9
HNNstyle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 469
Default

I think my problem has more to do with the fans then it does the motherboard. I have another fan inside of my case that can be controlled with the Bios fan settings but they can't control the new fans that I purchased, specifically the Nexus Real Silent fans. I just finished downloading and trying the Asrock Extreme Tuning Utility and it doesn't work on the Nexus fans either. What circuit tricks can I do short of buying a new 7v cable?
HNNstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 09:22 AM   #10
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

Well, I just downloaded the ASRock Z75 Pro3 manual, and it doesn't seem like it supports voltage tuning.

Is the other fan inside your case a miniature 3pin or miniature 4pin connector? My bet is that the other one is a 4 pin.

I was looking into controlling 3 pin fans with 4 pin headers until I found out my board does it for me. But, you can look into what I started:
http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2286380

Alternatively, get a cheap fan controller from ebay that will fit into your drive bay.
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 10:10 AM   #11
HNNstyle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 469
Default

Okay. I think I narrowed the problem down a bit more. It seems that there are only two 3-pin headers that can be controlled by the motherboard. They are both 3-pin. Two others are 4-pin headers. The last one is pwr_fan1 and they are all set to max speed for some reason. The pwr_fan1 is a 3 pin header.

Last edited by HNNstyle; 12-13-2012 at 10:12 AM.
HNNstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 02:30 PM   #12
tracerbullet
Golden Member
 
tracerbullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,259
Default

^^^ My ASRock board is like this as well. After contemplating how to have it work my fans how I wanted, including a combination of software control and some Zalman fan mates, I finally gave up. I wanted a bunch of case fans and wanted them all at low noise / low RPM, and there wasn't a clean way to do it. I ended up just getting one of these:

http://www.bitfenix.com/global/en/pr...ssories/recon/

I will say I love it. 5 fans at any speed you want, warning beeps to let you know if any go to 0 RPM, and includes temperature leads (you can set temp thresholds that'll kick up the fan speeds as needed to drop a temp back down).

If you have an extra 5.25" external bay and also don't mind throwing a few bucks at the problem, this will do just about whatever you want.
__________________
ebay / Heat
tracerbullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.