Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-11-2012, 04:16 PM   #1
Spydermag68
Golden Member
 
Spydermag68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,946
Default Laptop Repair: Power plug breaks off

My wife has a laptop and for the second time the place where power cord plugs into the laptop has broken off inside. The first time it was under warranty and we shipped it back to the manufacturer.

Is this something a "laptop repair" place can fix?

Have you any experiences with this type of place?

Thanks,
Spydermag68
__________________
My Rig
AMD 965 Phenom II Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P Corsair XMS3 RADEON 5850 Logitech MX 610 - Left handed version!

====
(\__/)
(='.'=) I have no idea what you are talking about
(")_(") so here is a bunny with a pancake on it's head.
Spydermag68 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 03:19 AM   #2
Blain
Lifer
 
Blain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: SW Indiana
Posts: 22,880
Default

Are you good at soldering?
If so Click Here
__________________
USA...
Too many delicate hothouse flowers
Blain is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 09:58 AM   #3
dave_the_nerd
Diamond Member
 
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,091
Default

It depends on the builder - I've found a few now where, rather that being soldered onto the motherboard, the AC plug is actually on a little cable lead.

Like this one:

http://compare.ebay.com/like/3006340...Types&var=sbar

To replace the plug, you still have to tear the laptop completely apart (In the case of the Toshiba L645, it took me about an hour from start to finish, but I work slowly) but for the customer, an hour of labor and a $7 wire is cheaper than an hour of labor and a new motherboard. (!)

However, most laptop repair places will, like Blain, assume it's attached to the motherboard and quote you accordingly. (And rightfully so - it's true in the majority of cases.) You should probably find the tech manual for your particular laptop and verify whether it is, in fact, a cable or not. Then you can negotiate from an informed position.
__________________
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 8GB RAM / GTX 660Ti / Samsung EVO 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05. NAS: Foxconn D-70S-P (Celeron 1037U) / 4GB DDR3 / 3x 2TB Toshiba DT01ACA200, RAID-Z / APEX MI-008.

Last edited by dave_the_nerd; 12-12-2012 at 10:00 AM.
dave_the_nerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 10:50 AM   #4
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 23,503
Default

All good suggestikons - and one more . . . train your wife to not yank on the cord to pull it out. If you grasp the connector and pull straight out it should never break. (Unless someone trips over the wire!)
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

"We all have private ails. The troublemakers are they who need public cures for their private ails." - Eric Hoffer
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 11:10 AM   #5
Spydermag68
Golden Member
 
Spydermag68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,946
Default

@Blain - Thanks for the list of videos on Google. I found one that matched very closely to my wife's Toshiba.

@dave the nerd - Thanks for the link to the cables on ebay...Most of the venders are in China or Korea and I could not find an exact match to L355-S7831 unit I have.

@corkyg - It was not my wife but my 2 year old that yanked on the cord an busted the computer.
__________________
My Rig
AMD 965 Phenom II Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P Corsair XMS3 RADEON 5850 Logitech MX 610 - Left handed version!

====
(\__/)
(='.'=) I have no idea what you are talking about
(")_(") so here is a bunny with a pancake on it's head.
Spydermag68 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 11:38 AM   #6
dave_the_nerd
Diamond Member
 
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,091
Default

Toshiba L355 uses a wire end like the 645.

http://www.insidemylaptop.com/repair...-l355-laptops/

Power jack on Amazon.com

http://www.amazon.com/TOSHIBA-SATELL.../dp/B005J2YDQ6

BOOM! HEADSHOT!
__________________
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 8GB RAM / GTX 660Ti / Samsung EVO 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05. NAS: Foxconn D-70S-P (Celeron 1037U) / 4GB DDR3 / 3x 2TB Toshiba DT01ACA200, RAID-Z / APEX MI-008.
dave_the_nerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 11:50 AM   #7
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave_the_nerd View Post
Toshiba L355 uses a wire end like the 645.

http://www.insidemylaptop.com/repair...-l355-laptops/
Wow, that metal replacement looks beefy as all heck!
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.