Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-23-2012, 09:33 AM   #1
ingeborgdot
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,089
Default Several issues with newly built computer.

I have built many computers but am having a little bit of a problem with some things and my new one. My new install went great. All programs installed without a hitch. Fast and furious is the way it went to get everything installed. Now, after a week or so I have started having a couple glitches. When I go to install a new program or update it the program just sits there for 4 or 5 minutes before doing anything and then finally starts to do its thing. What could be causing this.
The other issue is that I am trying to do a backup and image clone to get my new system backed up. The problem there is that the windows backup won't see my hard drives. I then tried Norton Ghost and the same thing happened. What is causing this? Thanks.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro-(2)-ASUS VS248H-P24" Monitor-CORSAIR Hydro Series H60 Liquid CPU Cooler
ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Z77 Intel MB - EVGA 012-P3-1571-KR GTX 570 GPU
Kingston Hyper X Blu 16GB - Intel Xeon E3-1245 V2 Ivy Bridge
Antec High Current Pro HCP-750 750W Certified 80 PLUS GOLD - SAMSUNG 830 256GB SSD
3 -2TB Western Digital Black HDD - Rosewill 3.0 3.5 Internal Card Reader
1 Asus Blu Ray Burner 1 Plextor DVD Burner
ingeborgdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 10:27 AM   #2
MagnusTheBrewer
Lifer
 
MagnusTheBrewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 17,687
Default

So, windows backup doesn't see your hard drives but, the computer operates normally? There are some strange software/registry conflicts going on. Not including games, what software do you have installed?
__________________
"We love you children"
"Oh, yes we do"
"Boiled, Fried and, Barbequed"
MagnusTheBrewer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 10:38 AM   #3
ingeborgdot
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,089
Default

The same exact software I had in my last computer from last year.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro-(2)-ASUS VS248H-P24" Monitor-CORSAIR Hydro Series H60 Liquid CPU Cooler
ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Z77 Intel MB - EVGA 012-P3-1571-KR GTX 570 GPU
Kingston Hyper X Blu 16GB - Intel Xeon E3-1245 V2 Ivy Bridge
Antec High Current Pro HCP-750 750W Certified 80 PLUS GOLD - SAMSUNG 830 256GB SSD
3 -2TB Western Digital Black HDD - Rosewill 3.0 3.5 Internal Card Reader
1 Asus Blu Ray Burner 1 Plextor DVD Burner
ingeborgdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 10:43 AM   #4
ingeborgdot
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,089
Default

I don't know for sure if the backup does not see my hard drives but it just is taking forever to find if it does. I do have a network also that it is not finding for backup.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro-(2)-ASUS VS248H-P24" Monitor-CORSAIR Hydro Series H60 Liquid CPU Cooler
ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Z77 Intel MB - EVGA 012-P3-1571-KR GTX 570 GPU
Kingston Hyper X Blu 16GB - Intel Xeon E3-1245 V2 Ivy Bridge
Antec High Current Pro HCP-750 750W Certified 80 PLUS GOLD - SAMSUNG 830 256GB SSD
3 -2TB Western Digital Black HDD - Rosewill 3.0 3.5 Internal Card Reader
1 Asus Blu Ray Burner 1 Plextor DVD Burner
ingeborgdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 10:55 AM   #5
MagnusTheBrewer
Lifer
 
MagnusTheBrewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 17,687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ingeborgdot View Post
The same exact software I had in my last computer from last year.
Which doesn't mean anything unless your new build is the same configuration as the old one.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ingeborgdot View Post
I don't know for sure if the backup does not see my hard drives but it just is taking forever to find if it does. I do have a network also that it is not finding for backup.
You may need to try the old 'eliminate and consolidate' trouble shooting method. I mean uninstalling the software and checking back up and other utilities as you install each program. It may be obvious but, have you checked for any bangs in device manager?
__________________
"We love you children"
"Oh, yes we do"
"Boiled, Fried and, Barbequed"
MagnusTheBrewer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 01:40 PM   #6
lakedude
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,410
Default

Sounds like bad SATA cable connections to me...

Wiggle em and/or get new cables.
lakedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 02:27 PM   #7
ingeborgdot
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,089
Default

Could having the intel HD graphics going cause a problem with the graphics card that I just recently installed? I had been using just the onboard graphics until several days ago when I added an XFX 7870 card. Both are listed in the device manager. No bad signs in Device manager though.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro-(2)-ASUS VS248H-P24" Monitor-CORSAIR Hydro Series H60 Liquid CPU Cooler
ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Z77 Intel MB - EVGA 012-P3-1571-KR GTX 570 GPU
Kingston Hyper X Blu 16GB - Intel Xeon E3-1245 V2 Ivy Bridge
Antec High Current Pro HCP-750 750W Certified 80 PLUS GOLD - SAMSUNG 830 256GB SSD
3 -2TB Western Digital Black HDD - Rosewill 3.0 3.5 Internal Card Reader
1 Asus Blu Ray Burner 1 Plextor DVD Burner
ingeborgdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 09:47 PM   #8
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ingeborgdot View Post
Could having the intel HD graphics going cause a problem with the graphics card that I just recently installed? I had been using just the onboard graphics until several days ago when I added an XFX 7870 card. Both are listed in the device manager. No bad signs in Device manager though.
Probably not, as one of the two is specifically designated in the BIOS to be initialized as the primary display.

Do you have the ASUS AI Suite II software installed? I had all kinds of problems with the ASUSFanControl Service hanging and dragging my system down to a crawl. I eventually had to uninstall the fan control software, then had to manually disable the service via Services.MSC as ASUS' uninstall software doesn't remove the services their software installs (and it totally fracks up your system if you try to delete it even after disabling it). BTW, if you haven't installed the DiskUnlocker utility, don't do it unless you absolutely need it. It installs another service I also had (and continue to have) problems with, ASDiskUnlocker. I can't even disable that one, much less delete it. The remainder of AI Suite II remains installed for me.
Steltek is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 11:59 PM   #9
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,758
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ingeborgdot View Post
Could having the intel HD graphics going cause a problem with the graphics card that I just recently installed? I had been using just the onboard graphics until several days ago when I added an XFX 7870 card. Both are listed in the device manager. No bad signs in Device manager though.
Not so sure. usually the bios turns onboard off.but i would take a peak in.to see if onboard vidoe is disable.
__________________
Motherboard+ram+cpu+hdd+psu.and it works
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 10:41 PM   #10
ingeborgdot
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,089
Default

The onboard video is showing in the device manager.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro-(2)-ASUS VS248H-P24" Monitor-CORSAIR Hydro Series H60 Liquid CPU Cooler
ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Z77 Intel MB - EVGA 012-P3-1571-KR GTX 570 GPU
Kingston Hyper X Blu 16GB - Intel Xeon E3-1245 V2 Ivy Bridge
Antec High Current Pro HCP-750 750W Certified 80 PLUS GOLD - SAMSUNG 830 256GB SSD
3 -2TB Western Digital Black HDD - Rosewill 3.0 3.5 Internal Card Reader
1 Asus Blu Ray Burner 1 Plextor DVD Burner
ingeborgdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 10:42 PM   #11
ingeborgdot
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,089
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steltek View Post
Probably not, as one of the two is specifically designated in the BIOS to be initialized as the primary display.

Do you have the ASUS AI Suite II software installed? I had all kinds of problems with the ASUSFanControl Service hanging and dragging my system down to a crawl. I eventually had to uninstall the fan control software, then had to manually disable the service via Services.MSC as ASUS' uninstall software doesn't remove the services their software installs (and it totally fracks up your system if you try to delete it even after disabling it). BTW, if you haven't installed the DiskUnlocker utility, don't do it unless you absolutely need it. It installs another service I also had (and continue to have) problems with, ASDiskUnlocker. I can't even disable that one, much less delete it. The remainder of AI Suite II remains installed for me.
I have an ASRock board and no Asus software.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro-(2)-ASUS VS248H-P24" Monitor-CORSAIR Hydro Series H60 Liquid CPU Cooler
ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Z77 Intel MB - EVGA 012-P3-1571-KR GTX 570 GPU
Kingston Hyper X Blu 16GB - Intel Xeon E3-1245 V2 Ivy Bridge
Antec High Current Pro HCP-750 750W Certified 80 PLUS GOLD - SAMSUNG 830 256GB SSD
3 -2TB Western Digital Black HDD - Rosewill 3.0 3.5 Internal Card Reader
1 Asus Blu Ray Burner 1 Plextor DVD Burner
ingeborgdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 07:01 PM   #12
ingeborgdot
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,089
Default

I got the installation problem fixed. I shut down system restore. Everything installs and uninstalls as fast as ever. I don't know what caused it to happen but it did and it is now fixed. I still don't have the windows 7 backup resolved though as I will keep on looking I guess.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro-(2)-ASUS VS248H-P24" Monitor-CORSAIR Hydro Series H60 Liquid CPU Cooler
ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Z77 Intel MB - EVGA 012-P3-1571-KR GTX 570 GPU
Kingston Hyper X Blu 16GB - Intel Xeon E3-1245 V2 Ivy Bridge
Antec High Current Pro HCP-750 750W Certified 80 PLUS GOLD - SAMSUNG 830 256GB SSD
3 -2TB Western Digital Black HDD - Rosewill 3.0 3.5 Internal Card Reader
1 Asus Blu Ray Burner 1 Plextor DVD Burner
ingeborgdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 07:27 PM   #13
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 7,284
Default

Are your hard drives running AHCI or IDE?
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 08:17 PM   #14
ingeborgdot
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,089
Default

AHCI because I have an SSD as my OS.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro-(2)-ASUS VS248H-P24" Monitor-CORSAIR Hydro Series H60 Liquid CPU Cooler
ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Z77 Intel MB - EVGA 012-P3-1571-KR GTX 570 GPU
Kingston Hyper X Blu 16GB - Intel Xeon E3-1245 V2 Ivy Bridge
Antec High Current Pro HCP-750 750W Certified 80 PLUS GOLD - SAMSUNG 830 256GB SSD
3 -2TB Western Digital Black HDD - Rosewill 3.0 3.5 Internal Card Reader
1 Asus Blu Ray Burner 1 Plextor DVD Burner
ingeborgdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 08:26 PM   #15
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 7,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ingeborgdot View Post
AHCI because I have an SSD as my OS.
OK, I need to think on that one. How are you backing up in Ghost. Is it from within the OS?
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 10:08 AM   #16
ingeborgdot
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,089
Default

I have since figured out my problem. It is a usb 3.0 card reader that is plugged into the motherboard. I unplugged it and it reads it like a charm now. I plugged it back in and it worked still (for awhile) then it would not let me do a system image or backup again. Anyone care to suggest what I should do? Get a different card reader? Will it do the same thing or is it this card reader I wonder? I am out money for this one I am sure but it is only $29 but I guess that is still money. I may check the website for a new driver.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro-(2)-ASUS VS248H-P24" Monitor-CORSAIR Hydro Series H60 Liquid CPU Cooler
ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Z77 Intel MB - EVGA 012-P3-1571-KR GTX 570 GPU
Kingston Hyper X Blu 16GB - Intel Xeon E3-1245 V2 Ivy Bridge
Antec High Current Pro HCP-750 750W Certified 80 PLUS GOLD - SAMSUNG 830 256GB SSD
3 -2TB Western Digital Black HDD - Rosewill 3.0 3.5 Internal Card Reader
1 Asus Blu Ray Burner 1 Plextor DVD Burner
ingeborgdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 04:43 PM   #17
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 7,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ingeborgdot View Post
I have since figured out my problem. It is a usb 3.0 card reader that is plugged into the motherboard. I unplugged it and it reads it like a charm now. I plugged it back in and it worked still (for awhile) then it would not let me do a system image or backup again. Anyone care to suggest what I should do? Get a different card reader? Will it do the same thing or is it this card reader I wonder? I am out money for this one I am sure but it is only $29 but I guess that is still money. I may check the website for a new driver.
Where did you get the card reader? Is it still under warranty? What model is it?

This is not typical of a card reader, but I have heard of stuff like this happening with cheap models.

BTW, good job diagnosing your issue.
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 11:34 PM   #18
ingeborgdot
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,089
Default

I got it at newegg and it is the rosewell one they sell. Do you know of any 3.0 that is pretty good and where can I get it? I don't find a lot of choices on newegg. I really want the 3.0 one because the with my 3.0 external hdd and the cards read extremely fast also.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro-(2)-ASUS VS248H-P24" Monitor-CORSAIR Hydro Series H60 Liquid CPU Cooler
ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Z77 Intel MB - EVGA 012-P3-1571-KR GTX 570 GPU
Kingston Hyper X Blu 16GB - Intel Xeon E3-1245 V2 Ivy Bridge
Antec High Current Pro HCP-750 750W Certified 80 PLUS GOLD - SAMSUNG 830 256GB SSD
3 -2TB Western Digital Black HDD - Rosewill 3.0 3.5 Internal Card Reader
1 Asus Blu Ray Burner 1 Plextor DVD Burner
ingeborgdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 12:44 PM   #19
mlc
Senior Member
 
mlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

i would
1) check the motherboard manufacturers site, and make sure you have their lastest chipset and USB 3.0 drivers.....
2) check their site for bios updates, and see if you have the latest bios.. if not.. see if they've been addressing usb related issues with their latest bios releases.. as that will clue you in as whether or not this is a problem area..
__________________
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Q6600 quad @ 3.2
Corsair 700W
ASUS EAH6850
X-FI Extreme Music Sound Card
Zalman 9700 HSF
mlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 11:36 PM   #20
ingeborgdot
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,089
Default

I have the latest bios and usb 3.0 drivers they have.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro-(2)-ASUS VS248H-P24" Monitor-CORSAIR Hydro Series H60 Liquid CPU Cooler
ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Z77 Intel MB - EVGA 012-P3-1571-KR GTX 570 GPU
Kingston Hyper X Blu 16GB - Intel Xeon E3-1245 V2 Ivy Bridge
Antec High Current Pro HCP-750 750W Certified 80 PLUS GOLD - SAMSUNG 830 256GB SSD
3 -2TB Western Digital Black HDD - Rosewill 3.0 3.5 Internal Card Reader
1 Asus Blu Ray Burner 1 Plextor DVD Burner
ingeborgdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.