Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Home Theater PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2012, 10:51 PM   #1
Jammor
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Default Which CPU for media server?

Wanting to upgrade my Q8400 CPU in my SageTV media server. The server is headless and records analog TV with tuner cards and HD tv with an HDHR. It also runs commercial skipping utility and transcodes MPEG2 videos to a handful of Hauppauge MVP front ends.

I will also be upgrading from XP Home to Win7 64.

I haven't looked at CPUs lately. Can anyone recommend a value CPU for this media server? I don't think I need a real beefy processor; the 8400 has never broken a sweat. I just need to update my media server hardware and re-purpose the 8400 for another project.
Jammor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 10:45 AM   #2
SMOGZINN
Diamond Member
 
SMOGZINN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,284
Default

Well, if you are wanting to keep the motherboard then I think the only thing you are going to be able to find for the LGA 775 socket is a i3-3220.
__________________
"The open society, the unrestricted access to knowledge, the unplanned and uninhibited association of men for its furtherance? These are what may make a vast, complex, ever-growing, ever-changing, ever more specialized and expert technological world nevertheless a world of human community." - J. Robert Oppenheimer
SMOGZINN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 11:32 AM   #3
joutlaw
Senior Member
 
joutlaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 995
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SMOGZINN View Post
Well, if you are wanting to keep the motherboard then I think the only thing you are going to be able to find for the LGA 775 socket is a i3-3220.
i3-3220 is LGA1155.

I have a i3-2100 and G530 Celeron. The i3 is in my HTPC with a Ceton PCI-E tuner. The G530 is my WHS2011 where I archive recordings and have other media. The G530 is pretty impressive considering its price and clock speed.

While I am not doing analog recordings, my i3 is using DVRMSToolbox with ComSkip. I have 4 worker threads enabled (even though my i3 is only 2 cores with 2 HT). It keeps up easily indexing content for commercials.... usually in under 3 minutes or so with an hour show.
joutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 11:56 AM   #4
SMOGZINN
Diamond Member
 
SMOGZINN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joutlaw View Post
i3-3220 is LGA1155.
It sure is. I don't know what I was thinking.
__________________
"The open society, the unrestricted access to knowledge, the unplanned and uninhibited association of men for its furtherance? These are what may make a vast, complex, ever-growing, ever-changing, ever more specialized and expert technological world nevertheless a world of human community." - J. Robert Oppenheimer
SMOGZINN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 04:36 PM   #5
Jammor
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Default

Thx for the replies. I want to run my SageTV servers in parallel until I get the new one updated and ready to take over and then take the Q8400 down completely and re-purpose the Q8400. So I'll need a new MB.

Just trying to find the right blend of performance/energy use/heat. I could easily get another Yorkfield and be happy with it but they're harder to find; they use more energy and give off more heat than newer CPUs; and frankly, on ebay, they're not that much cheaper than newer i3's and i5's.

There are some inexpensive 1st gen i5's but I think socket 1156 is EOL'd and they're less efficient than the 3rd gen i3 like mentioned in this thread.

I have a G620 (2.6ghz dual core SB) in a media client and works fine but not sure it would be up to the server tasks - at least I wouldn't want to roll the dice w/ one in a server.
Jammor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 01:36 PM   #6
thestrangebrew1
Golden Member
 
thestrangebrew1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,305
Default

I'd go with at least an i3 if you're doing any sort of transcoding. 1156 is pretty much dead, I'd stay away from those if you think you might be using the pc for anything else later down the road. I've got a g630 in my server and it does a fantastic job for server duties. I run Plex on it and haven't had any problems with the chip.
__________________
Rig: i7 2700k, asrock extreme 4 gen3, 60 gb OCZ Vertex ssd, 128 gb Plextor M3 ssd, samsung spinpoint 1tb hd, 16gb gskill sniper series, EVGA GTX 670 FTW, antec hcg 750w psu

Server: Intel g630, Biostar H61, 4gb gskill ram, antec 400w eco psu
thestrangebrew1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 01:37 PM   #7
billyb0b
Golden Member
 
billyb0b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,006
Default

i concur with others here... an i3 will fit the bill nicely and is very cost effective
billyb0b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 03:06 PM   #8
flocko
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thestrangebrew1 View Post
I'd go with at least an i3 if you're doing any sort of transcoding. 1156 is pretty much dead, I'd stay away from those if you think you might be using the pc for anything else later down the road. I've got a g630 in my server and it does a fantastic job for server duties. I run Plex on it and haven't had any problems with the chip.
+1

I use a G620 in my media server and don't have any issues either. I don't do a lot of trans coding but when I do I have no problems . A tad slower ... but really doesn't bother me

Last edited by flocko; 12-12-2012 at 03:10 PM.
flocko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 08:46 PM   #9
Jammor
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Default

just wondering...

In the HTPC world, does dual core / 4 threads = quad core / 4 threads?

I like the i3 3220 (2core/4thread) but just wandering if these configurations are equal in terms of HTPC performance.

looks like Newegg has i3 3220 for $119.
Jammor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 11:42 PM   #10
Charlie98
Diamond Member
 
Charlie98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 3,356
Default

I bought a G620 for my HTPC... now I'm wishing I would have gone with an i3 just for transcoding purposes. Oh, well...
__________________
DESK: i5 2500K, Giga Z68MA-D2H-B3, 212+ P/P, M5Pro 256GB, 1TB Seagate, 2x 4GB Samsung RAM, EVGA GTX560ti 448, Corsair TX750v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7
HTPC: Pentium G620, Giga B75M-D3H, Agility3 64GB, 3 x 2TB HDD, 2x 2GB Nanya RAM, Diamond HD6450, Corsair CX430v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7 WMC/MB
DESK3: (Under Construction) Pentium G3220, Giga H81M-H, Crucial M500 120GB, Team 2x 4GB RAM, Corsair CX430M
Charlie98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 12:26 AM   #11
Jammor
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie98 View Post
I bought a G620 for my HTPC... now I'm wishing I would have gone with an i3 just for transcoding purposes. Oh, well...
Charlie - can you elaborate? Why the regret with the G620 in your HTPC? Can you explain about the transcoding? Thx
Jammor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.