Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2012, 01:44 PM   #1
jjsole
Lifer
 
jjsole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Aug 2000
Posts: 27,531
Default Windows 7 - using two mice at the same time?

Is there a utility, windows 7 compatibility and preferably free, that offers support for using 2 mice at the same time?

Googling I came up with Pluralinput, @ $20eur.
jjsole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 01:53 PM   #2
Chiefcrowe
Diamond Member
 
Chiefcrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,656
Default

just curious what would you use that for?
Never heard of anyone wanting this.
Chiefcrowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 02:02 PM   #3
jjsole
Lifer
 
jjsole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Aug 2000
Posts: 27,531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chiefcrowe View Post
just curious what would you use that for?
Never heard of anyone wanting this.
Clients ask, I research.

I'll update if I find out what they're using them for. I can see if someone is collaborating with someone together on the same screen(s), but don't know if that's the case here.
jjsole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 03:36 PM   #4
pauldun170
Platinum Member
 
pauldun170's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjsole View Post
Is there a utility, windows 7 compatibility and preferably free, that offers support for using 2 mice at the same time?

Googling I came up with Pluralinput, @ $20eur.

Why would someone need two mice at once?
2 mice hooked up at the same time is no problem.

I have two wireless mice\keyboard combos hooked up to my PC right now.

Any laptop with a mouse plugged in has two mice at the same time.

Are they trying to do a virtual etch a sketch machine?
pauldun170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 03:50 PM   #5
jhansman
Platinum Member
 
jhansman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,214
Default

Yes, you can have two mice attached at the same time. I sometimes have my Logitech gaming mouse plugged in simultaneously with my wireless mouse; Win7 simply responds to whichever device is being used at the moment. Likewise, I have a portable wireless mouse connected to my laptop, but it will respond to the touchpad as well.
__________________
Blessed is the man who has nothing to say, and cannot be compelled to say it.
jhansman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 04:56 PM   #6
Evander
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,133
Default

I have a wired mouse and a wireless trackball hooked up at the same and it works fine on Windows 7 and has since at least Windows XP when I first tried doing this.
Evander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 03:48 AM   #7
thewhat
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjsole View Post
Googling I came up with Pluralinput, @ $20eur.
Interesting.
I was looking for ways to do this a couple of years ago and I've been told it's impossible.
More exactly, I was asking for ways to assign a keyboard to a specific program, don't know if Pluralinput or any other program can do that. Does anyone know?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chiefcrowe View Post
just curious what would you use that for?
Never heard of anyone wanting this.
Imagine two (or more) users using the same computer, perhaps with two screens and two separate audio devices. You could easily handle lots of simple tasks without using two computers.

Here's a video of Pluralinput in action: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X2mbZLPOCDw
thewhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 12:48 PM   #8
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 24,118
Default

Lenovo Thinkpads can come standard with two functionsl HIDs on at the same time. Add a mouse and you have three. For me, the answer to the question is a simple 'yes.'
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

In my view you cannot claim to have seen something until you have photographed it.... Emile Zola
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 08:45 PM   #9
colonelciller
Senior Member
 
colonelciller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 916
Default

the software in question is Windows 7.

just plug in mouse #2... enjoy
colonelciller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 01:01 AM   #10
Fardringle
Diamond Member
 
Fardringle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 7,400
Default

I think the important question here is whether they want to USE two mice (with two separate mouse pointers) at the same time, or simply have two plugged in but only use one at a time. As others have said, the second option is simple - just plug both in. The first option is significantly more complicated.
__________________
"I did RC5, but I didn't flush." - Bill Clinton
"I invented distributed computing." - Al Gore
"I had a dream where every American would be free to run SETI@Home!" - Martin Luther King Jr.
"Greendale is a bodaciously small town, Lane... I can't even Find-A-Drug here!" - Charles De Mar (Better Off Dead)
"I did not have BOINC relations with that woman, Rosetta@Home!" - Bill Clinton
Fardringle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 12:43 PM   #11
KMASCII
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Default

The reason I would use two mice is to use one for general navigation in my 3D or graphics software and having the second mouse for the intricate editing and manipulation work.

One mouse for low-resolution mousing and the other for high-resolution. That's what I'd be interested in. Unless buying software is the only option, another one is a good quality pen tablet, but that's a little expensive.

Having two mice working at different resolutions would be a very helpful option.

Last edited by KMASCII; 04-09-2013 at 12:45 PM.
KMASCII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 01:17 PM   #12
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 7,284
Default

Interesting, a buddy and I were talking about this a couple weeks ago. When we are working together on a project using one laptop with two screens, it would increase productivity if we could use two mice separately. In Microsoft land, you can have as many physical mice/touch pads as you want, but the OS only has one mouse.
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 01:22 PM   #13
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 24,118
Default

By that, you mean there is only one pointer. Both mice can work it, but there is only one. That is true!
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

In my view you cannot claim to have seen something until you have photographed it.... Emile Zola
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 01:48 PM   #14
KMASCII
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by corkyg View Post
By that, you mean there is only one pointer. Both mice can work it, but there is only one. That is true!
Yup. I think normally windows will allow both mice to manipulate just one pointer.

I was also thinking that I wish some software programs would allow a user to switch the mouse's resolution with key combinations. For the more delicate work, like when manipulating nodes in a vector graphic. At a fixed mouse speed/resolution it can sometimes feel like using a sledge hammer on a finishing nail.
KMASCII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 10:53 PM   #15
Samwise79
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Default Multiple mouse inputs for gaming

As a PC gamer, i would be very interested in multiple (differentiated) mouse inputs to control my avatars.

Game controllers typically used on consoles have a left and right thumbstick.

Typically, the left thumbstick is used for movement, and the right for looking.

I realise these controllers can be purchased for PC, but i find them less precise than computer mice / track-balls.

As such, i would like a track-ball & button array for my left hand (to control movement & weapon/accessory selection), and a right mouse /hamster (to control aiming & firing).

Any help in this regard would be much appreciated.
Samwise79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 12:30 AM   #16
bononos
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,561
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fardringle View Post
I think the important question here is whether they want to USE two mice (with two separate mouse pointers) at the same time, or simply have two plugged in but only use one at a time. As others have said, the second option is simple - just plug both in. The first option is significantly more complicated.
I was thinking of the first option which could be quite useful with one pointer in a separate monitor.
bononos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:05 PM   #17
John Connor
Diamond Member
 
John Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Somewhere with an encrypted radio mocking the NSA
Posts: 7,421
Default

I've had a PS2 mouse and a USB mouse plugged in at the same time with no troubles.
__________________
My life's story.
Re-programing Terminator CPUs since 2029.
The I in Internet is capitalized! Get it right!
John Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:26 PM   #18
EagleKeeper
Discussion Club Moderator
Elite Member
 
EagleKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Bumps west of Denver
Posts: 42,600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Connor View Post
I've had a PS2 mouse and a USB mouse plugged in at the same time with no troubles.
Multiple mice can be used. However Windows only supports one pointer. A delta movement by an input device gets translated into an X/Y movement of the pointer.
__________________
F15 Air Superiority Fighter - Never has one been lost in aerial combat (104 kills)
EagleKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:51 PM   #19
John Connor
Diamond Member
 
John Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Somewhere with an encrypted radio mocking the NSA
Posts: 7,421
Default

I wasn't concerned with multiple pointers. I just so happened to have a PS2 mouse connected when I couldn't access BIOS with a USB mouse.
__________________
My life's story.
Re-programing Terminator CPUs since 2029.
The I in Internet is capitalized! Get it right!
John Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 08:24 PM   #20
EagleKeeper
Discussion Club Moderator
Elite Member
 
EagleKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Bumps west of Denver
Posts: 42,600
Default

I have a USB rodent and track pad on the laptop. I have to be careful that my wrists do not touch the pad when typing. Doing so, translates to a reposition of the cursor and text entry point
__________________
F15 Air Superiority Fighter - Never has one been lost in aerial combat (104 kills)

Last edited by EagleKeeper; 11-15-2013 at 05:11 PM.
EagleKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 07:24 PM   #21
Johnny4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 72
Default

http://www.dicolab.com/wunderworks/ check this i found it for you, but i was lazy to read it. I am 90% sure that this is what you need. .
Johnny4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 07:28 PM   #22
Johnny4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 72
Default

Ok, that`s it http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BSWBz0S9xUM now i am sure. It`s called Teamplayer 3 developed by dicolab.
Johnny4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 02:51 PM   #23
Virgorising
Diamond Member
 
Virgorising's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chiefcrowe View Post
just curious what would you use that for?
Never heard of anyone wanting this.

Maybe he wants to breed them!

I think if you just hook up two USB mice, they will both work.
__________________
"The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes."

Marcel Proust

Virgorising is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 05:12 PM   #24
EagleKeeper
Discussion Club Moderator
Elite Member
 
EagleKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Bumps west of Denver
Posts: 42,600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Virgorising View Post
Maybe he wants to breed them!

I think if you just hook up two USB mice, they will both work.
Multiple mice will work; just that using them at the same instant time will produce finny results; you still only have one cursor.
__________________
F15 Air Superiority Fighter - Never has one been lost in aerial combat (104 kills)
EagleKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.