Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2012, 11:55 PM   #1
BTRY B 529th FA BN
Lifer
 
BTRY B 529th FA BN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13,025
Default Fresh SSD

I recently fell for the 128Gb 840 Pro. Haven't installed it yet. Does it have to be formatted before installing the OS? I usually hook it up to a port, computer management, format drive, etc.

Thanks
__________________
Rig1: Xeon X5660 6core 32nm (2.8GHz stock), Asrock X58, Geforce 210 0db, Samsung 128Gb 840 Pro, Vertex2 100Gb, Cherry MX Blacks, 2009 Seasonic X 650w, Aluminum Full tower
Rig2: i7 970 6core 32nm @ 4.4GHz 1.365v, EVGA 760 Classified,
GTX 670, Samsung Evo 120Gb, Vertex LE 100Gb, Cherry MX Reds, Sidewinder X5, Enermax Revo 950w, Obsidian 800D
BTRY B 529th FA BN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 12:19 AM   #2
tracerbullet
Golden Member
 
tracerbullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,284
Default

I stuck Win 7 on mine today. Didn't do anything other than plug in the drive (also 128GB 840 Pro), boot from the Win 7 CD, and follow the on screen prompts for a fresh install. It did the rest on its own.
__________________
ebay / Heat
tracerbullet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 01:11 PM   #3
KingFatty
Platinum Member
 
KingFatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,654
Default

As a fun variation, try installing from a USB stick. I really like that method, but I was lucky to have a Win 7 installation that is easy to install from USB stick. Anyway, if you plan to re-install at all in the future, I'd say it's worth making a USB installation.
KingFatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 03:49 PM   #4
dum_71
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Default

This is what I used last week after following a link posted here.

http://www.overclock.net/t/1156654/s...-for-ssds-hdds
dum_71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 07:31 PM   #5
kleinkinstein
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Closet
Posts: 823
Default

ODG, please don't do any Win7 installation without slipstreaming with WUD.
kleinkinstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 08:45 AM   #6
MrX8503
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,531
Default

No do not format the drive. SSDs are not like HDDs.
MrX8503 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 11:36 AM   #7
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

You don't have to format an SSD or HDD to install Windows on it. Windows installer will format it properly for you.
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 12:29 PM   #8
Old Hippie
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6,361
Default

You do the same thing as with a mechanical drive.
__________________
Rick
You Get What You Pay For!
Old Hippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 12:48 PM   #9
Coup27
Golden Member
 
Coup27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,807
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrX8503 View Post
No do not format the drive. SSDs are not like HDDs.
So if you were to use the SSD as a storage drive, how you save anything to it without formatting it?
__________________
Intel i5 4670 | Asus H87I-PLUS | Corsair XMS3 2x4GB | Samsung 840 Evo 120GB SSD | WD Green 3TB HDD | Seasonic SS-360GP | Lian-Li PC-Q27B mITX | Dell 23" IPS Monitor
Coup27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 01:07 PM   #10
Old Hippie
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6,361
Default

All drives need formatted to the correct file system before use.

Usually Windows will do it for you.

Quote:
No do not format the drive. SSDs are not like HDDs.
How about a link for that?
__________________
Rick
You Get What You Pay For!
Old Hippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 01:11 PM   #11
ryderOCZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 479
Default

Formatting an SSD is fine, but always use "quick format". You never need/want to "full format" an SSD.
ryderOCZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 01:29 PM   #12
bigi
Golden Member
 
bigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BTRY B 529th FA BN View Post
I recently fell for the 128Gb 840 Pro. Haven't installed it yet. Does it have to be formatted before installing the OS? I usually hook it up to a port, computer management, format drive, etc.

Thanks
What OS?

Win 7 - No format, just straight install.

Other OSes - depends .
__________________
"I'm sick of being so healthy" - H.Simpson
bigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 02:33 PM   #13
MrX8503
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Hippie View Post
All drives need formatted to the correct file system before use.

Usually Windows will do it for you.


How about a link for that?
http://www.overclock.net/t/1179518/s...DosandtheDonts

Quick is ok, full isn't.

The OP should just proceed as normal and the install will do the format.
MrX8503 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 03:51 PM   #14
Coup27
Golden Member
 
Coup27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,807
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrX8503 View Post
That's not what you said though. An SSD is useless unless it has been formatted and has a file system on it.
__________________
Intel i5 4670 | Asus H87I-PLUS | Corsair XMS3 2x4GB | Samsung 840 Evo 120GB SSD | WD Green 3TB HDD | Seasonic SS-360GP | Lian-Li PC-Q27B mITX | Dell 23" IPS Monitor
Coup27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 04:35 PM   #15
MrX8503
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coup27 View Post
That's not what you said though. An SSD is useless unless it has been formatted and has a file system on it.
Windows 7 install will take care of the formatting for him.
MrX8503 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 04:54 PM   #16
Coup27
Golden Member
 
Coup27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,807
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrX8503 View Post
Windows 7 install will take care of the formatting for him.
Yes it will, but it would also do the same for a HDD. You said that "an SSD is not like a HDD" but in fact they are exactly the same. They both require formatting before anything can be saved to them which is contrary to what you originally said.
__________________
Intel i5 4670 | Asus H87I-PLUS | Corsair XMS3 2x4GB | Samsung 840 Evo 120GB SSD | WD Green 3TB HDD | Seasonic SS-360GP | Lian-Li PC-Q27B mITX | Dell 23" IPS Monitor
Coup27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 04:58 PM   #17
BTRY B 529th FA BN
Lifer
 
BTRY B 529th FA BN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13,025
Default

I just wanted to know if I was going to needlessly wear the drive. I always do a full format before any OS instillation (HDD & SSD,) I haven't done anything yet and was just curious.
__________________
Rig1: Xeon X5660 6core 32nm (2.8GHz stock), Asrock X58, Geforce 210 0db, Samsung 128Gb 840 Pro, Vertex2 100Gb, Cherry MX Blacks, 2009 Seasonic X 650w, Aluminum Full tower
Rig2: i7 970 6core 32nm @ 4.4GHz 1.365v, EVGA 760 Classified,
GTX 670, Samsung Evo 120Gb, Vertex LE 100Gb, Cherry MX Reds, Sidewinder X5, Enermax Revo 950w, Obsidian 800D
BTRY B 529th FA BN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 05:03 PM   #18
Coup27
Golden Member
 
Coup27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,807
Default

Do not do a full format on an SSD. It is pointless in every respect. Quick formats are fine and if you wanted to use your SSD as a storage device then it is essential as formatting puts a file system on the SSD to allow you to store stuff on it.

When you are in the Windows 7 installer if the SSD is empty (unallocated), pressing install will automatically create the default 100MB system partition and then a second partition with the rest of the remaining space. Both partitions will get automatically quick formatted with NTFS and both will be aligned optimally to an SSD.

If you wanted more than the traditional single user accessible partition, you can use the partition editor during the installer to make as many partitions as you want. These partitions will need formatting in the editor before you can use them. Using the format option within the editor performs a quick format on the partition with the NTFS file system.
__________________
Intel i5 4670 | Asus H87I-PLUS | Corsair XMS3 2x4GB | Samsung 840 Evo 120GB SSD | WD Green 3TB HDD | Seasonic SS-360GP | Lian-Li PC-Q27B mITX | Dell 23" IPS Monitor
Coup27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 05:29 PM   #19
MrX8503
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coup27 View Post
Yes it will, but it would also do the same for a HDD. You said that "an SSD is not like a HDD" but in fact they are exactly the same. They both require formatting before anything can be saved to them which is contrary to what you originally said.
Not the same referencing that you shouldn't do the same things to an SSD as you would/could with an HDD.

I assumed the OP meant full format (which he did), which would needlessly wear out his SSD.
MrX8503 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 12:21 PM   #20
Old Hippie
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6,361
Default

Quote:
I assumed the OP meant full format (which he did), which would needlessly wear out his SSD.
LOL!

Where do you guys get this MISinformation?

A full format when needed is not going to hurt anything.
__________________
Rick
You Get What You Pay For!
Old Hippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.