Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2012, 01:40 AM   #1
RealTime
Member
 
RealTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 64
Default New Laptop Questions

When you get a new laptop what are the first things you do? Normally I just remove bloatware and then get it online to do all the updating and off we go...untill there are problems. Then I am nuking the drive and doing the painful process of installing and updating everything.

This time I want to start off on the right foot. When I ordered my laptop I made sure to get restore disks with it. Once I got the laptop I have removed all bloatware but I haven't put it online just yet. I was thinking now would be a good time to image the drive in this pristine condition before doing so. Once I do that I figured I would do all the updates and image again. Then keep imaging after every batch of windows updates and major software installs.

Anyone think this is a good idea or have a better idea or have something I maybe forgetting? Please advise. Any help is much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
RealTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 05:57 AM   #2
Matt1970
Lifer
 
Matt1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Syracuse NY
Posts: 10,534
Default

That's an awefull lot of imaging.
Matt1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 08:23 AM   #3
Charlie98
Diamond Member
 
Charlie98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 3,806
Default

I would probably update all the drivers first, then image it... that gives you the updated 'working' version for your recovery baseline. Beyond that, I would probably just do a weekly image backup using software like Acronis... it keeps the backup file size down.
__________________
DESK: i5 2500K, Giga Z68MA-D2H-B3, 212+ P/P, M5Pro 256GB, 2TB Seagate, 2x 4GB Samsung RAM, EVGA 760SC ACX, Corsair TX750v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7
HTPC: Pentium G620, Giga B75M-D3H, Agility3 64GB, 2 x 3TB HDD, 2x 2GB Nanya RAM, Diamond HD6450, Corsair CX430v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7, WMC/MB
DESK3: Pentium G3220, Giga H81M-H, 840Pro 256GB, Team 2x 4GB RAM, EVGA 560Ti 448, Corsair CX430M, Fractal Arc Mini, W8.1
Charlie98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 09:27 AM   #4
RealTime
Member
 
RealTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 64
Default

Thank you both for your replies.

@Matt1970 So that would be too much imaging? I just figured that would keep me most up to date.

@Charlie98 Yeah that was one of my next questions...what the image sizes were. I was figuring that since mine is a 512 GB drive I would need that size to store the image. So I was thinking of two plans. The first was to go and partition the new drive to around 50GBs or so and then I can store the images on the the other partition. I can also back up to the cloud. My other plan was just to go buy a 2 TB external drive to store them and back it up to the cloud.
RealTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 04:59 PM   #5
Charlie98
Diamond Member
 
Charlie98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 3,806
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RealTime View Post
@Charlie98 Yeah that was one of my next questions...what the image sizes were. I was figuring that since mine is a 512 GB drive I would need that size to store the image. So I was thinking of two plans. The first was to go and partition the new drive to around 50GBs or so and then I can store the images on the the other partition. I can also back up to the cloud. My other plan was just to go buy a 2 TB external drive to store them and back it up to the cloud.
Acronis won't let you image to the same drive... (unless there is a workaround that I don't know about.) Besides, you would not want to store your backup on the same primary hard drive... if it crashes it'll take it all.

My system backup image is 101GBs, I have 3 separate 500GB HDDs that I backup to... one internal, 2 external that I rotate.
__________________
DESK: i5 2500K, Giga Z68MA-D2H-B3, 212+ P/P, M5Pro 256GB, 2TB Seagate, 2x 4GB Samsung RAM, EVGA 760SC ACX, Corsair TX750v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7
HTPC: Pentium G620, Giga B75M-D3H, Agility3 64GB, 2 x 3TB HDD, 2x 2GB Nanya RAM, Diamond HD6450, Corsair CX430v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7, WMC/MB
DESK3: Pentium G3220, Giga H81M-H, 840Pro 256GB, Team 2x 4GB RAM, EVGA 560Ti 448, Corsair CX430M, Fractal Arc Mini, W8.1
Charlie98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.