Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Security

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2012, 12:21 AM   #1
Stg-Flame
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Deserts of New Mexico
Posts: 848
Default Possible Infection?

Three days ago, I booted up my computer and the Welcome screen (right after logging on) took about 10 - 15 seconds to actually boot to the desktop. This wouldn't be a concern except for the fact that I installed my OS to a SSD and every boot prior to that one took a matter of one to two seconds. The only other oddity on my computer (Windows 7 64bit) is Firefox is now asking permission to make changes to my computer upon loading. I normally use Chrome, but I love Firefox for convenience on a few sites and it had never previously asked to make changes to my computer in the past.

I scanned with Malwarebytes and came up clean on both drives. Is this a possible sign of infection or is something else going on here? I just built this computer about a month ago, so wiping this clean wouldn't be a problem in the slightest. I also have a second SSD I just bought that I need to install as a gaming SSD, but I want to make sure my rig is clean before I start adding drives and moving files.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge 4.5GHz | 8GB Samsung RAM DDR3 1600 (11-11-11-28) | SLi eVGA GTX 670 4GB VRAM 1006/1084/6008
Stg

Quote:
XenoOGear - So one research for drummers, one research for trumpeteers, one research for flute players? They sure had a lot of music majors who wanted to die during that time.
Stg-Flame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 11:45 AM   #2
Chiefcrowe
Diamond Member
 
Chiefcrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,647
Default

strange.. could be a virus of some sort. i'd scan with a few different programs and try to completely uninstally firefox and reinstall. if that still is having problems then I'd just reformat/reinstall if i were you just to be on the safe side.
Chiefcrowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 02:12 AM   #3
amsterdamxxx
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: in your motherboard
Posts: 34
Default

Firefox sucks for security, the only redeeming feature is No-Script plugin.

My advice stick to Chrome, it's the best browser security wise out there. With sandboxed tabs, sanboxed flash &automatic updates it's the go to browser.

Puts Firefox to shame.
amsterdamxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 12:30 PM   #4
Chiefcrowe
Diamond Member
 
Chiefcrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,647
Default

FYI - firefox does have sandboxed flash and automatic updates now, so it is still behind on the tab front.
Chiefcrowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 12:46 PM   #5
Albatross
Platinum Member
 
Albatross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Romania
Posts: 2,302
Default

http://support.kaspersky.com/5350
Albatross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 06:39 PM   #6
AdvancedSetup
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Default

Did you recently remove your wallpaper? I think Microsoft has already corrected this via normal Windows updates but if you don't have all your updates it could potentially be an issue.

Code:
http://itexpertvoice.com/home/get-rid-of-slow-logons-in-windows-7/

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/977346
AdvancedSetup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.