Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Programming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2012, 06:18 AM   #1
RampantAndroid
Diamond Member
 
RampantAndroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 4,261
Default Multilingual CMS

Hi all,

Trying to make a website for someone who runs a translation business - one of the features that would be useful would be a way to maintain multiple versions of the website content with a simple drop down on screen to pick your locale (or a simple intro page with a choice) and easy editing of each page and all of its languages. More than anything else, it should have some simple administrative pages. This doesn't need a forum, it will contain little more than information, some photos, a contact page and whatnot.

Now, I gather that Joomla CAN do this with some addons, and Drupal can do it (though Drupal always seemed like way too much work for what I wanted)...what other options are there? What's best? My default is just to take Joomla 3 and beat it into submission (and then get the website admin used to how Joomla works.)

Oh, and this'll be on a linux server where my options are PHP and Ruby, and my database is MySQL.

Thanks a ton!
__________________
Nikon D7000 | 18-200mm VR | 70-300mm f/4-5.6 FX | 35mm f/1.8 prime | Tokina 11-16 Wide angle
RampantAndroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 04:05 PM   #2
Leros
Lifer
 
Leros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 21,149
Default

Do you just need to localize the strings on each page or is each page different?
Leros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 11:36 PM   #3
Cerb
Elite Member
 
Cerb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,648
Default

IMO, pop yourself up a virtual, and try Wordpress, then Drupal. I don't know how well Joomla 2.x handles it.
__________________
"The computer can't tell you the emotional story. It can give you the exact mathematical design, but what's missing is the eyebrows." - Frank Zappa
Cerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 02:31 PM   #4
RampantAndroid
Diamond Member
 
RampantAndroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 4,261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leros View Post
Do you just need to localize the strings on each page or is each page different?
Everything will be translated - basically, each page will have multiple versions - english, japanese, chinese, french.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cerb View Post
IMO, pop yourself up a virtual, and try Wordpress, then Drupal. I don't know how well Joomla 2.x handles it.
Looks like Joomla 3 handles it, installed that on a subdomain already. I'll try wordpress, but I always took wordpress to just be for blogs - is it a good CMS for general purposes?
__________________
Nikon D7000 | 18-200mm VR | 70-300mm f/4-5.6 FX | 35mm f/1.8 prime | Tokina 11-16 Wide angle
RampantAndroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 04:59 PM   #5
GSquadron
Member
 
GSquadron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 162
Default

I had a similar issue like this, a year ago and i choose to make it alone with php and mysql only.
I succeeded and I would strongly recommend not to use a CMS.
This is just my opinion, but you won't be learning anything if you make it with a content management system.
GSquadron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 05:32 PM   #6
RampantAndroid
Diamond Member
 
RampantAndroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 4,261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GSquadron View Post
I had a similar issue like this, a year ago and i choose to make it alone with php and mysql only.
I succeeded and I would strongly recommend not to use a CMS.
This is just my opinion, but you won't be learning anything if you make it with a content management system.
I'm not so sure my goal here is to learn this - it's been years since I made a PHP website and while I enjoyed it then, I write code for a living now and don't want to be writing too much code. I mean, sure...I could do this with Smarty, some PHP code and a database...but I'm not really into that.
__________________
Nikon D7000 | 18-200mm VR | 70-300mm f/4-5.6 FX | 35mm f/1.8 prime | Tokina 11-16 Wide angle
RampantAndroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 08:05 PM   #7
Leros
Lifer
 
Leros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 21,149
Default

Take a look at gettext. It seems to the industry standard from what I've seen.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gettext

It seems to be pretty easy to use with PHP
http://www.codeforest.net/translate-...hp-and-gettext
Leros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 05:54 AM   #8
baseter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Default

I suggest you to go with Wordpress with qTranslate.
baseter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.