Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > *nix Software

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-23-2012, 01:18 PM   #1
Arcadio
Diamond Member
 
Arcadio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 5,253
Default Motherboard died on my Ubuntu machine.

Just when everything was set up the way I liked it my motherboard died. If I replace it with an identical model, will everything work as before without any tweaking or configuration? What if I replace the motherboard with a different motherboard with different chipset?
__________________
e^(i * pi) + 1 = 0
Arcadio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 02:13 PM   #2
lxskllr
Lifer
 
lxskllr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 38,440
Default

Everything should work fine. Linux is very flexible with hardware.
lxskllr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 02:52 PM   #3
Jodell88
Diamond Member
 
Jodell88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sweet T&T
Posts: 6,931
Default

Everything should be fine.
__________________
“Defend the weak, protect both young and old, never desert your friends. Give justice to all, be fearless in battle and always ready to defend the right." - The law of Badger Lords
Jodell88 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 04:23 PM   #4
joetekubi
Member
 
joetekubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 176
Default

Replaced my AMD mb with an Intel i7 mb running Ubuntu 64 bit linux. Didn't have to change one thing. Everything worked perfectly.
__________________
"What's your identity?" Cibo Matto "Know your chicken"

Intel i7 930, MSI X58 PRO-E mb, Zalman CNPS 10x Quiet, 2x WD EARS 1.5 TB (raid 1 of course), 12GB tri-channel Patriot ram, Asus NVidia GT440 fanless, Xubuntu 12.10
joetekubi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 12:43 AM   #5
agibby5
Senior Member
 
agibby5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 990
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joetekubi View Post
Replaced my AMD mb with an Intel i7 mb running Ubuntu 64 bit linux. Didn't have to change one thing. Everything worked perfectly.
Wow, that's awesome.
__________________
Heatware Refs
agibby5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 08:28 AM   #6
mv2devnull
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 785
Default

The bootloader loads kernel and initial ramfs image that contains drivers. Kernel loads the rest from "normal" filesystems with the help of the drivers. Installation images do contain ramfs image that contains full set of drivers, but normal ramfs image tends to have a stripped down set, just enough to mount the necessary filesystems.

Therefore, it is theoretically possible that a new motherboard requires a driver not included in the ramfs image. In practice that is highly unlikely. Even if that happens, one can boot from Live/Install image in "rescue" mode and recreate the ramfs image with necessary drivers.


I've seen in recent Fedora/RHEL/SL/CentOS the network configuration to require some tweaking. MAC-address of NIC has been stored in the configuration "to retain consistent naming", and mismatch due to MAC having changed leads to NIC not being activated. A trivial thing to fix. On the other hand, if one does use DHCP (like most of us do) and has static rule to give this PC a specific IP, then the MAC in the rule has to be updated in the DHCP server regardless of whether the OS needs a tweak or not.


Overall, everything should be fine.
mv2devnull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 08:29 AM   #7
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcadio View Post
Just when everything was set up the way I liked it my motherboard died. If I replace it with an identical model, will everything work as before without any tweaking or configuration? What if I replace the motherboard with a different motherboard with different chipset?
There may be minor things like eth0 becoming eth1, but it should boot up and work just fine without much finagling if any.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 08:21 PM   #8
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,503
Default

If you are re-installing an identical replacement motherboard, simply mark the positions of all the hardware and cables on the old board before removal. Swap the boards, and replace everything exactly as it was on the old board. This will minimize the chance you'll have any problems at all booting after the swap.
Steltek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 08:32 PM   #9
Red Squirrel
Lifer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 27,981
Default

Same model/revision should be fine. Different model revision is hit and miss but it will most likely work too though I have seen issues such as Ethernet interfaces changing and being stuck with invalid ones. I have seen times where it wont boot but that is rare.
__________________
~Red Squirrel~
486dx2 @66Mhz turbo, 8MB ram, 512MB HDD, sound blaster 16 + 2x cdrom, Trident 1MB video card @ 640*480, 56k high speed modem.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 09:17 PM   #10
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steltek View Post
If you are re-installing an identical replacement motherboard, simply mark the positions of all the hardware and cables on the old board before removal. Swap the boards, and replace everything exactly as it was on the old board. This will minimize the chance you'll have any problems at all booting after the swap.
You don't even need to worry about that these days. Almost all distros use static identifiers (UUIDs, filesystem labels, LVM, etc) in fstab so it shouldn't have any problems finding the correct drives regardless of port.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 12:29 AM   #11
VinDSL
Diamond Member
 
VinDSL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arizona Uplands Intelligence (IQ): 138+
Posts: 4,861
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lxskllr View Post
Linux is very flexible with hardware.
True!

I carry a bootable USB key, loaded with Peppermint OS.

I've booted it up in any number of computers, and it works every time.

I don't suppose the OP's situation is a whole lot different... when you think about it.
__________________
.:: ABL˛ | Vin's Place | Vin's AnandTech Search | Vin's System Rig
Listen to people who fail. They know what they're talking about.
VinDSL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.