Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Motherboards

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-07-2012, 02:57 PM   #1
orbster556
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 225
Default ASUS Maximus Forumula III SATA Port Question

Hello:

I have a quick question concerning the use of some of the SATA ports on my Maximus Formula III; the ports on the board are as follow:

6 xSATA 3.0 Gb/s ports
Intel Matrix Storage Technology Support RAID 0,1,5,10 JMicronŽ 322 controller and 2 x JMicronŽ 363 controllers:
- 2 x SATA 3.0 Gb/s port (Red) supporting Hardware RAID 0 and 1 (SPD_HDD1 + SPD_HDD2)
- 1 x External SATA 3.0 Gb/s port (SATA On-the-Go)
- 2 x SATA 3.0 Gb/s port (White) - SATA_ODD1 + SATA_ODD2

I have used the 6 regular SATA ports and also have one optical disk connected through one of the ports reserved for optical drives.

My question is whether I can connect another HDD using the specially designated ports without incident. Reading through the manual, it indicates that the white ports are for optical drives while the 2 red ports are to be used if you want to create Hardware RAID.

I am unsure whether using these slots, in light of their designation for optical disks and RAID arrays, respectively, would be permissible.

Thank you, in advance, for any help or insight you might be able to provide.

Regards,
orbster556 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 05:18 PM   #2
Puppies04
Diamond Member
 
Puppies04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4,894
Default

Plugging a HDD into the red port should be fine, it is advertised as "supporting" raid not being exclusively for that purpose.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by moonbogg View Post
If you have kids, you need to kill them
My weddding pic http://i226.photobucket.com/albums/d...ps224f2a90.png
Puppies04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.