Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2012, 10:50 AM   #1
desmondjim
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default electronic noise from computer in stereo speakers

I recently completed an HTPC/media server build that is connected to my TV and stereo via HDMI to the TV and analog 1/8" to RCA to the stereo. I am getting a veriable high pitched electronic noise in the stereo speakers that seems to be tied into cpu/ hard drive usage. When the pc is idle there is no apparent noise, but when I task the pc to do something like type on the keyboard or copy files to the hard drive over the LAN I get noise. I unpluged the analog audio cable from the pre amp and I still get the same noise. I even turned off the pre amp with just the amp on and I am still getting the same sound.
I wonder if the PSU is contaminating the ac back though the rest of my system and the amp is picking it up and sending it to the speakers.
I would greatly appriciate any ideas of how to eliminate this noise, I cannot use the computer for it's intended purpose if I can't get it under control.

Build
Biostar Hi-Fi A85W motherboard
AMD A10-5800K CPU
Rosewill Hive 550 PSU
Crucial M4 128 ssd
4 Western Digital Green 3tb hds
Silverstone GD-08 case

Cheers,
Jim
desmondjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 02:49 PM   #2
mlc
Senior Member
 
mlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Jim...

do a search on "coil whine" to get some ideas... could be psu, mobo or graphics related... due to components used.. Try disabling some of the power saving settings in the bios to see if that helps, and go from there.. (e.g. EIST, C1E)..

It wouldn't hurt to try plugging PC into a different outlet.. just to see if there is a change in behaivor as well...

Good Luck
Mike
__________________
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Q6600 quad @ 3.2
Corsair 700W
ASUS EAH6850
X-FI Extreme Music Sound Card
Zalman 9700 HSF
mlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 02:56 PM   #3
Deders
Golden Member
 
Deders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,187
Default

pretty sure it's not coil wine, would be good to know what happens if it's plugged into a different outlet.
__________________
i5 750@3800 - MSI P55 GD65 - Asus GTX780 DirectCU II OC 3GB @1215 & 7000 - 8GB Gskill RipjawsX DDR3 @1800 8-9-8 - Be Quiet! Straight Power E9 500W - Nanoxia Deep Silence One - X-FI Xtreme Gamer - Samsung 830 128GB - Spinpoint F3 1TB - WD RE4 2TB - WD Caviar Blue 640 - Dell U2913WM - Logitech G19 - Corsair M65 - Thermaltake Contac 29 with Noctua NF-F12 PWM.
Deders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:38 PM   #4
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,830
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by desmondjim View Post
1/8" to RCA to the stereo
is this a good quality wire.
__________________
Motherboard+ram+cpu+hdd+psu.and it works

Last edited by denis280; 12-05-2012 at 03:39 PM. Reason: wire
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 05:54 PM   #5
jolancer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 469
Default

This isn't uncommon IMO for cheap components. iv ownd some myself that exhibited crosstalk. Its usually not an issue though since the interference noise isn't noticable once you start using the audio you cant hear the interfience anymore. If you are still hearing it excessivly i'd guess its because your amp or some other stereo component is sensitive to the interferince or miss adjusted (sorry im nota stereo guy) but i do know just like software amps if your settings or gain is outa wack, or your just MAXing everything you will invite more noise interferience.

you know how it goes, you get what you pay for. The interferience is from within your computer, cause the cheap onboard audio controller doesnt have any shielding or suppression from normal interferience.

perhaps try the digital output instead of the analog? and see if you get lucky... or get an aftermarket Audio card.. as long as its not a cheap peace of garbage i'd imagine any would have better noise isolation then the one built into your board.

....or i guess you could just lower the volume a tad, your neughbors may appreciate it to
jolancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 07:07 PM   #6
Deders
Golden Member
 
Deders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,187
Default

I think he's saying that the noise happens even when the computer isn't connected to the amp
__________________
i5 750@3800 - MSI P55 GD65 - Asus GTX780 DirectCU II OC 3GB @1215 & 7000 - 8GB Gskill RipjawsX DDR3 @1800 8-9-8 - Be Quiet! Straight Power E9 500W - Nanoxia Deep Silence One - X-FI Xtreme Gamer - Samsung 830 128GB - Spinpoint F3 1TB - WD RE4 2TB - WD Caviar Blue 640 - Dell U2913WM - Logitech G19 - Corsair M65 - Thermaltake Contac 29 with Noctua NF-F12 PWM.
Deders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 10:24 AM   #7
desmondjim
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the tips. I do have a high quality analog cable that is shielded, but the sound it there even if the cable is gone. I will have to get a long extension cord to find another plug that is not on the same circuit as this one. I will try that when I get home. I poked around the BIOS last night but could not find EIST or C1E I'll research these on the Biostare site. Thanks for the suggestions.
desmondjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 08:50 AM   #8
desmondjim
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

I found the problem! There was a ground loop caused by the incoming coax to the cable box that was in turn connected to the pre amp with rca cable. The noise from the pc must have been riding on the ground loop, when I unplugged the coax in to the box the noise stopped. I then added in an inline isolation transformer that I had to the coax cable right at the cable box and that solved the problem for good!
desmondjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 11:53 AM   #9
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,830
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by desmondjim View Post
I found the problem! There was a ground loop caused by the incoming coax to the cable box that was in turn connected to the pre amp with rca cable. The noise from the pc must have been riding on the ground loop, when I unplugged the coax in to the box the noise stopped. I then added in an inline isolation transformer that I had to the coax cable right at the cable box and that solved the problem for good!
Great
__________________
Motherboard+ram+cpu+hdd+psu.and it works
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.