Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Home Theater PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-07-2012, 08:26 AM   #1
marcplante
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 511
Default Networking Win7 MCE

I am in the process of setting up a cord-cut household. I have installed an HD antenna and HDHomerun and have a solid selection of channels. We have a series of Win7 computers around the house that are capable of catching and rendering TV or netflix.

I am trying to coordinate recording and playback of TV programs with Win MCE. I would rather have one PC on to do recording duty, then pull from that PC as a server from other Windows MCE boxes around the house. Is it complicated to point the "Recorded Video" libraries on player PCs around the house to the remote PC? Everything is connected by Cat5, so there are no BW issues moving the video around the house.

Thanks,
__________________
AMD AthlonII 620 Desktop
2G 6950 Video Card
Asus N56VZ notebook
marcplante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 11:02 AM   #2
Dirigible
Diamond Member
 
Dirigible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,650
Default

It's very easy. So easy, even I had no problem.

My w7 computers are all in a home group. Dunno if it matters, but they are. I selected sharing a bunch of stuff from my recording computer. The others found the recordings no problem.
__________________
Looking for catsup. PM me if you see it for sale!

Been missing from my area for years.
Dirigible is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 05:00 PM   #3
marcplante
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 511
Default

Cool, thanks. Also does mce wake up a sleeping pc to record?
__________________
AMD AthlonII 620 Desktop
2G 6950 Video Card
Asus N56VZ notebook
marcplante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 06:45 PM   #4
Dirigible
Diamond Member
 
Dirigible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcplante View Post
Cool, thanks. Also does mce wake up a sleeping pc to record?
Yes, it can do that.
__________________
Looking for catsup. PM me if you see it for sale!

Been missing from my area for years.
Dirigible is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 07:52 PM   #5
notposting
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SE MI
Posts: 2,878
Default

I never really had any problems with waking from sleep in that regard. Only problem with sleep I have ran into is the display not working afterwards. I was going to suggest Homegroup as well, but I use a Windows Home Server which probably changes the equation a bit. But Homegroup sees everything on our 4 different W7 PC's no problem.
notposting is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.