Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2012, 12:01 PM   #1
Kristijonas
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 792
Default hdmi 1.3 vs hdmi 1.4

Hello, I want to choose a hdmi cable for my gtx 550ti to connect to Dell S2340L.

It's either a oxygenless copper, golden plated one 1.3:
https://www.skytech.lt/04857oem-4wor...-p-129491.html

or

A "premium" (I don't know what it actually means) hdmi cable that is 1.4:
https://www.skytech.lt/ccphdmi46-cab...d-p-70896.html

Is it possible to see a difference in quality or lets say 1fps in games because of the choice if hdmi? For example the very best hdmi cable vs the cheapest one?
Do I really need 1.4 or should I go with that quality 1.3? But then perhaps 1.4 is also faster behind the scenes somehow?
__________________
Intel Pentium G860 | Sapphire HD7790 1Gb Dual-X | MSI B75A-G41 | 2x4Gb 1333 RAM | 1 Tb 7200rpm WD Blue | Enermax Pro82+ 525w | Sound Blaster Zxr | S2340L | Edifier Studio 8
Kristijonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 12:07 PM   #2
JimKiler
Platinum Member
 
JimKiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,019
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kristijonas View Post
Hello, I want to choose a hdmi cable for my gtx 550ti to connect to Dell S2340L.

It's either a oxygenless copper, golden plated one 1.3:
https://www.skytech.lt/04857oem-4wor...-p-129491.html

or

A "premium" (I don't know what it actually means) hdmi cable that is 1.4:
https://www.skytech.lt/ccphdmi46-cab...d-p-70896.html

Is it possible to see a difference in quality or lets say 1fps in games because of the choice if hdmi? For example the very best hdmi cable vs the cheapest one?
Do I really need 1.4 or should I go with that quality 1.3? But then perhaps 1.4 is also faster behind the scenes somehow?
I think a 1.3 version should be just fine for you, per wikipedia, 1.4 adds:

Quote:
HDMI 1.4 was released on May 28, 2009, and the first HDMI 1.4 products were available in the second half of 2009.[106][137] HDMI 1.4 increases the maximum resolution to 4K 2K, i.e. 3840 2160p (Quad HD) at 24 Hz/25 Hz/30 Hz or 4096 2160p at 24 Hz (which is a resolution used with digital theaters); an HDMI Ethernet Channel (HEC), which allows for a 100 Mbit/s Ethernet connection between the two HDMI connected devices so they can share an Internet connection;[56] and introduces an Audio Return Channel (ARC),[55] 3D Over HDMI, a new Micro HDMI Connector, expanded support for color spaces, with the addition of sYCC601, Adobe RGB and Adobe YCC601; and an Automotive Connection System.[106][138][139][140][141] HDMI 1.4 supports several stereoscopic 3D formats including field alternative (interlaced), frame packing (a full resolution top-bottom format), line alternative full, side-by-side half, side-by-side full, 2D + depth, and 2D + depth + graphics + graphics depth (WOWvx),[103][142][143] with additional top/bottom formats added in version 1.4a . HDMI 1.4 requires that 3D displays support the frame packing 3D format at either 720p50 and 1080p24 or 720p60 and 1080p24.[143] High Speed HDMI 1.3 cables can support all HDMI 1.4 features except for the HDMI Ethernet Channel
There is also HDMI 1.4a and b. But most of this stuff is for home theater and for the chips at the ends of the cable, not the cable itself.
__________________
"this is Jim Kiler step away from the window" -Robert Culp as Jim Kiler in Outrage.
JimKiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 12:12 PM   #3
JimKiler
Platinum Member
 
JimKiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,019
Default

Actually if you read a little further down on the wikipedia page, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI_1.4#Version_1.4 assuming you are at 32 bit color depth if you need a resolution above 1920x1200 you need version 1.4, but again that means your video card and monitor are 1.4 compliant.
__________________
"this is Jim Kiler step away from the window" -Robert Culp as Jim Kiler in Outrage.
JimKiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 04:23 PM   #4
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,663
Default

According to HDMI.org, cables are no longer supposed to be labeled with specification versions. Only "High-Speed", "High-speed with ethernet", "normal speed", and "normal speed with ethernet".

So as long as it's a high-speed cable, you're good to go. Whether or not your output device or display device supports certain features, is what depends on the spec version number, not the cable.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 09:31 PM   #5
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20,758
Default

There is no physical difference between an HDMI 1.3 and HDMI 1.4 (non Ethernet) cable. They were just tested at a given spec, and the manufacturer may not have gone back and re-tested.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 09:56 PM   #6
piasabird
Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 15,047
Default HDMI Cables

HDMI Cables should not cost that much. If all you want is a cable long enough to go from your Computer to your monitor 1-6ft, then you can probably find some lightweight 1.4 cables that will work just fine. There are a lot of cable internet sellers. So shop around. Where things might get important is if you want cables that are 25-100 ft long.

I thought it kind of odd that monitors would have only VGA and HDMI. I think technically you can send 2 video sources over one HDMI cable, so for one monitor at 1080p almost any HDMI cable will work fine. I dont know how this figures into the 3D video model?
__________________
Asus Memo Pad 7 HD. Quad Core Tablet.
piasabird is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.