Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-15-2012, 04:04 PM   #1
CrossTrack
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Default Ram size vs. Ram speed

So I plan on getting a new laptop soon and the stock ram it has is going to be 8 gb 1600 mhz, but I have a previous ram upgrade in my current laptop of 16 gb 1333 mhz. I know that the actual difference in the speed is minuscule something like 2% or so in real time usage, but I was wondering if performance would be cut significantly if I were to use the slower speed ram or if I should stick with the stock 8 gb.

Basically, which would be better higher ram size or speed?

I know I didn't give a description of what I'd be using the laptop for, but I was just wondering what would be a better configuration generally.
CrossTrack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 04:22 PM   #2
gpse
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 413
Default

16GB, you wont notice the difference with 1333 to 1600 unless you run benchmarks.
8gb to 16gb you WILL notice.
gpse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:57 PM   #3
fffblackmage
Platinum Member
 
fffblackmage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,535
Default

For the most part, 16GB of DDR3-1333 will be better than 8GB of DDR3-1600. Down the road, older computers can still be relatively useful if they had more ram to work with. Running out of ram just sucks.
fffblackmage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 11:31 PM   #4
lamedude
Senior Member
 
lamedude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mercedes-Benz Silverdome
Posts: 730
Default

If gaming with Intel iGPU I'd say speed but its not a big deal. If gaming with AMD APU then definitely speed.
lamedude is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 01:09 AM   #5
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,449
Default

16GB is overkill unless you do lots of video editing or stuff like that and actually need that amount.
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 01:54 AM   #6
blastingcap
Diamond Member
 
blastingcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,537
Default

My gf says both size and speed count, when it comes to a good ram. Seriously though if you have an integrated GPU you want speed, else I would go with the cheapest option because 16 is overkill but if it's the same price as the 8gb then go for that.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/4503/s...he-best-ddr3/6
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoFox View Post
We had to suffer polygonal boobs for a decade because of selfish corporate reasons.
Main: 3570K + R9 290 CF + Crucial 16GB 1866 + AsRock Extreme4 Z77 + Eyefinity 5760x1080 eIPS

NAS and HTPC/workstation: Supermicro MBD-X9SCM + G530 + 16GB ECC; ASUS P8B WS + i3-3220; 1.1TB of Intel/Crucial/Samsung SSDs + 26TB of WD/Hitachi HDDs
blastingcap is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:08 AM   #7
CrossTrack
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Default

It'd be an intel i7 processor with a dedicated gpu and I'd be somewhat gaming, but nothing super hardcore really. I also wouldn't be spending any money on the ram since I already have the 16gb ram and the 8gb would be stock in the laptop, so price isn't a factor.
CrossTrack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:12 AM   #8
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,449
Default

Then go for the 16GB and use parts of it as a RAM-disk or so. Otherwise you most likely wouldn't notice any difference at all, no matter if you have 1333 or 1600 or 8GB or 16GB.
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 03:24 AM   #9
BFG10K
Lifer
 
BFG10K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 20,264
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpse View Post
8gb to 16gb you WILL notice.
Unlikely, unless he has a very specific niche reason.

RAM size only matters when you don't have enough of it.
__________________
i5 2500K | Titan | 16GB DDR3-1600 | GA-P67A-UD3-B3 | 128GB Samsung 830 | 960GB Crucial M500 | 1TB VelociRaptor | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Seasonic X 560W | Fractal Arc R2 | 30" HP LP3065
BFG10K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 04:45 AM   #10
thebigbolgna
Diamond Member
 
thebigbolgna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,911
Default

I have 8GB and never come close to using it all, including gaming. Depends on what your doing.
__________________
HTPC/TV Gamer: AMD X4 750K @ 4.2 GHz | MSI A88X-G45 | MSI 7850 TFIII 2GB @ 1200/1375 | 8GB DDR3-1600 Ballistix | 120GB Intel 320 | 750GB Seagate | nMedia 5000b | Insignia 50" 1080p LED | Win 8.1 Pro |
Notebook: Dell E6330 13" | Intel i7 3540M @ 3.0 GHz | Intel HD 4000 | 16GB DDR3 | Samsung 830 256GB | Win 8.1 Pro |
Phone: HTC One 32GB Google Play Edition
thebigbolgna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 05:37 AM   #11
KentState
Diamond Member
 
KentState's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 5,286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigystyle84 View Post
I have 8GB and never come close to using it all, including gaming. Depends on what your doing.
And mine was over 12GB used so it does depend.
KentState is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 10:49 PM   #12
j03h4gLund
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 236
Default

I have 2x4GB sticks of ram(see below). I am having a minor stuttering issue with the game, Rift. I am going to get to the bottom of this. So far I have replaced my PSU and noticed 0 difference. My next step is to replace my 8GB 1600mhz ram w/ 16GB 2133mhz ram. I will let you know if I see my problem resolved with this change. Size + Speed = Win
__________________
CPU/Mobo: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.8Ghz/ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 w/Hyper 212 Plus
RAM: Patriot Sig 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 (1866;9-10-9-22 CR1)
PSU: Rosewill FORTRESS-750W
GPU/Display: Reference 2GB MSI GTX 670 OC ed./BenQ XL2720T 120Hz 1ms
Keyboard/Mouse: CM Storm Quickfire TK Cherry MX Red/Logitech G9X
Storage: Samsung 830 256GB, (2)1TB Samsung F3's
j03h4gLund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 10:24 AM   #13
nomadicspirit
Junior Member
 
nomadicspirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 11
Default

I realize this thread is about a month old since updates, but I was wondering if anyone had any information on speed vs size for the Vishera CPUs. I already know they are going slower than Intel, but I am building kind of an AMD budget machine. Found a few benchmarks on the Bulldozer, nothing on Piledriver as far as memory bandwidth usage is concerned. Not much point in paying for the extra memory speed if the CPU is not going to utilize it correctly is what I am thinking. Anyone have thoughts?

CPU I have is 8320
Board is MSI 990FXA-GD80V2
nomadicspirit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 05:04 PM   #14
zephyrprime
Diamond Member
 
zephyrprime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 7,189
Default

If you're really worried about it, sell both sets and buy a faster set.
zephyrprime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:39 PM   #15
nomadicspirit
Junior Member
 
nomadicspirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 11
Default

In my current setup I am hitting full ram at 8GB when I have VMware running and Transcoding going on, the new one is definitely getting the 32GB treatment. Might as well spring for the speed, it cant hurt.
nomadicspirit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:58 PM   #16
Deders
Senior Member
 
Deders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 693
Default

What would you be using the laptop for, apart from gaming?
__________________
i5 750@3800 - MSI P55 GD65 - Asus GTX670 DirectCU II 2GB @1215 & 6980 - 8GB Gskill RipjawsX DDR3 @1800 8-9-8 - Be Quiet! Straight Power E9 500W - Nanoxia Deep Silence One - X-FI Xtreme Gamer - Samsung 830 128GB - Spinpoint F3 1TB - WD RE4 2TB - WD Caviar Blue 640 - LG Flatron W2252TQ - Razer Deathadder - Thermaltake Contac 29.
Deders is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.