Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2012, 10:47 AM   #1
FXGuy3369
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 377
Default Random BSOD/Shutdowns. Error log all over the place

I have a friend's laptop. It's a toshiba satellite. Turion 64 X2, 2GB RAM, running Vista Home Prem 32 Bit. It was just recently reflown for no video. I don't think this is related but figured I would mention it. He says it has been randomly shutting down on him. When I check the windows error log I see all kinds of stuff. 3 from McAffee Backup, 1533 from Quickbooks, 70 from CAPI2, 7 recent ones from Print Spooler, 4 recent from Windows Update. How do you begin to diagnose something like this?
FXGuy3369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 11:30 AM   #2
Chiefcrowe
Diamond Member
 
Chiefcrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,605
Default

I'd run a complete diagnostic - hopefully there is a built in program.
Definitely do a memory test and HD diagnostic.
Chiefcrowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 11:35 AM   #3
FXGuy3369
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 377
Default

I ran HD Tune Pro, SMART scan and full error scan. No issues. Ran Memtest86+ on each stick seperately, approx 4 hours each. No errors.
FXGuy3369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 04:14 PM   #4
Chiefcrowe
Diamond Member
 
Chiefcrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,605
Default

crazy. Have you been able to swap the video card? Maybe that is having problems?
Also check the temps, it may be overheating at some point.
Chiefcrowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.