Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2012, 06:32 AM   #1
Carbo
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 5,046
Default Unmountable Boot Volume Error On Clean Install

The laptop was running slow and I decided it was time to clean things up and get her running like new again. Backed up everything and wiped the drive using KillDisk.
Three and a half hours later when the process was done I popped in my Wndows 7 OEM disc only to be greeted with the dreaded Unmountable Boot Volume on that pretty blue screen . Tried several times but it's the same thing each time.
What did I screw up? Appreciate any help. Thank you!

(Dell XPS 15, Western Digital 750GB hard drive)

Last edited by Carbo; 12-06-2012 at 06:38 AM.
Carbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:03 AM   #2
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 24,127
Default

You wiped the drive and it has no structure. Needs to be initialized again. This may help:
http://www.tech-recipes.com/rx/2605/..._volume_error/
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

In my view you cannot claim to have seen something until you have photographed it.... Emile Zola

Last edited by corkyg; 12-06-2012 at 07:09 AM.
corkyg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:04 AM   #3
Carbo
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 5,046
Default

Thanks, Corky. The link is helpful. . .but I'm trying to install an OEM version of Windows 7.

Last edited by Carbo; 12-06-2012 at 07:20 AM.
Carbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 10:01 AM   #4
DJJ760
Senior Member
 
DJJ760's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 318
Default

Boot to the Windows 7 disc. (You may need to change BIOS options to boot to CD.) Can you access the Drive options? Delete/Format/New..?
__________________
my heat: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=2982
DJJ760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 10:42 AM   #5
Carbo
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 5,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJJ760 View Post
Boot to the Windows 7 disc. (You may need to change BIOS options to boot to CD.) Can you access the Drive options? Delete/Format/New..?
When I try booting off the Windows 7 disc, I see this:

or this:



Nothing else. No other options. Once attempt I did manage to get the Windows loading files screen, only to then quickly receive the Unmountable Boot Volume error.
Carbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 01:25 PM   #6
jolancer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 469
Default

If w7 doesnt allow you to do it for some reason idk never used it. you could just reinitilize it with GParted first
jolancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 01:58 PM   #7
lakedude
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,410
Default

Them pics are a bit small for my eyes. Naturally since you wiped the drive you can't boot from the HD anymore so you need to boot from the optical. I can't tell what is going on from the tiny pics but are you having trouble booting from the optical? Are you sure your OEM disk is bootable? Maybe check to see if it is bootable in another computer?
lakedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.