Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2012, 07:10 PM   #326
VulgarDisplay
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,686
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coldmeat View Post
I don't really like how it's all or nothing though. If you don't take out the base, you've got trucks passing by every 30 seconds with mounted machine guns that will destroy your car if you try to just drive away, since they're basically impossible to lose on the roads. If you do take out the base, there's no enemies anywhere and the only gun fights you get into are in missions.

Sometimes I will leave the bases alone for a while, just to keep things interesting, but every time I run into an enemy truck I end up having to kill like 30 guys.
I consistently outrun the enemy vehicles. In fact the only time I've been killed driving was when one was chasing me and I came around a corner and another car crashed into me pushing me off a cliff.
VulgarDisplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 07:13 PM   #327
TechBoyJK
Lifer
 
TechBoyJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 13,293
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick James Astley View Post
No matter what I do, game crashes at the splash screen.The far cry 3 folder within the my games folder is empty? Steam forum suggestions aren't helping and Ubisoft support is silent, submitted dxdiag few error reports and screenshots. Tried reinstalling, no dice. After spending $60 on the game, spent another $40 for win8, same exact problem under win8 too. Every other game and app work fine. I'm truly clueless what to do...
That sucks. I have a pretty basic rig and it spun up just fine for me. Haven't had a glitch yet.

Are you all patched up?
__________________
Originally posted by: n0cmonkey
You're being difficult. You have not provided us with the information we need to troubleshoot the problem. You have not given us errors, you're vague about where the problem is, you are not answering the questions we ask. In short, you DON'T KNOW HOW TO THINK. Give back that piece of paper you think makes your intelligent, apologize, destroy your computer and go live in the woods kid.
TechBoyJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 07:15 PM   #328
TechBoyJK
Lifer
 
TechBoyJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 13,293
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coldmeat View Post
I don't really like how it's all or nothing though. If you don't take out the base, you've got trucks passing by every 30 seconds with mounted machine guns that will destroy your car if you try to just drive away, since they're basically impossible to lose on the roads. If you do take out the base, there's no enemies anywhere and the only gun fights you get into are in missions.

Sometimes I will leave the bases alone for a while, just to keep things interesting, but every time I run into an enemy truck I end up having to kill like 30 guys.
I don't have a problem with the patrols. Yes, they come by frequently near the bases, so if you are going to hit one, you gotta do it quick and gtfo. If I'm going to hit a patrol, I don't even loot until the next patrol passes by and checks it out.

What would you do IRL? I ask myself this in the game often, and it seems the 'real life' approach works best.

Anybody already wondering what Far Cry 4 might be like?
__________________
Originally posted by: n0cmonkey
You're being difficult. You have not provided us with the information we need to troubleshoot the problem. You have not given us errors, you're vague about where the problem is, you are not answering the questions we ask. In short, you DON'T KNOW HOW TO THINK. Give back that piece of paper you think makes your intelligent, apologize, destroy your computer and go live in the woods kid.

Last edited by TechBoyJK; 12-05-2012 at 07:27 PM.
TechBoyJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 07:21 PM   #329
TechBoyJK
Lifer
 
TechBoyJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 13,293
Default

If you guys haven't seen this yet.

Live Action Far Cry 3 Vacation vid...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GaVxulsgH_A
__________________
Originally posted by: n0cmonkey
You're being difficult. You have not provided us with the information we need to troubleshoot the problem. You have not given us errors, you're vague about where the problem is, you are not answering the questions we ask. In short, you DON'T KNOW HOW TO THINK. Give back that piece of paper you think makes your intelligent, apologize, destroy your computer and go live in the woods kid.
TechBoyJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 08:15 PM   #330
coldmeat
Diamond Member
 
coldmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ON, CA
Posts: 9,178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesV View Post
I honestly feel it's much too easy to not be detected. Getting away in a car chase seems to be pretty easy also... not sure what you mean by not being able to lose them. They will follow you pretty much forever, but once they lose detection, they move slowly but continually in your last direction.
Yes, it's easy to avoid them if you are on foot, since you can hear the truck coming from a good distance. I find myself driving sometimes full speed and meet up with an enemy truck coming the other way, and I'll pass them without slowing down and somehow they turn around and catch up almost immediately, then shoot my car to pieces within seconds.
__________________

coldmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 08:35 PM   #331
StinkyPinky
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: A sandpit with casinos
Posts: 4,784
Default

So what load outs are you guys doing?

I'm...

Shotgun (in case I get surprised)
Assault Rifle (for general combat...silenced with reflex sight)
Sniper Rifle (silenced for stealth hits before I attack a base/group)
Bow (because it's fun...)
__________________
Intel i7 4790K, GIGABYTE Z97X-UD5H, 8GB ram, ASUS R9 280X DirectCU II TOP 3GB, Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB + 3 x 1TB Samsung F3, 1 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda. Windows 8.1 Pro

Late 2013 13" Macbook Pro, Intel Core i5-4258U 2.4Ghz, Intel Iris 5100 GPU, 8GB ram, 256GB SSD
StinkyPinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 08:47 PM   #332
coldmeat
Diamond Member
 
coldmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ON, CA
Posts: 9,178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StinkyPinky View Post
So what load outs are you guys doing?

I'm...

Shotgun (in case I get surprised)
Assault Rifle (for general combat...silenced with reflex sight)
Sniper Rifle (silenced for stealth hits before I attack a base/group)
Bow (because it's fun...)
I'm using the same. I use the bow the most, it's really fun.

I'm using the 2nd assault rifle right now, was using the last one for a while and realized it was kinda the same as my sniper rifle, and it's fun to spray or just run in a base with guns blazing sometimes so I wanted fully automatic. I kinda wish it had more recoil though, there's barely any.
__________________

coldmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 08:52 PM   #333
KaOTiK
Lifer
 
KaOTiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 10,884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StinkyPinky View Post
So what load outs are you guys doing?

I'm...

Shotgun (in case I get surprised)
Assault Rifle (for general combat...silenced with reflex sight)
Sniper Rifle (silenced for stealth hits before I attack a base/group)
Bow (because it's fun...)
Same, though I use the shotgun for hunting, kills animals in one shot. I'll switch out the bow with the flame thrower when I want to cause a lot of chaos though. I freak love the fire in this game lol
KaOTiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 08:59 PM   #334
Regs
Lifer
 
Regs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 16,083
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LessThanDan View Post
Generally speaking, high FOV is good. A higher field of view lets you see more of your environment and gives you a heightened sense of awareness.

.......

If you have a few minutes, this video explains the concept pretty well: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=blZUao2jTGA

Thanks for that detailed write up. That explains a good amount of what I was pondering. I didn't want to handicap myself so I'm going to stick to around 85-90 FOV.
__________________
Edit: I Always edit my messages"You cannot help the poor by destroying the rich. You cannot strengthen the weak by weakening the strong. You cannot bring about prosperity by discouraging thrift. You cannot lift the wage earner up by pulling the wage payer down."
Abraham Lincoln
Regs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 09:30 PM   #335
pontifex
Lifer
 
pontifex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: PA
Posts: 40,522
Default

got this game today and holy crap! the wildlife seems more deadly than the bad guys!!

was driving and found some dead bodies, so i looted them. while looting some pirate was being attacked by a komodo dragon. i laughed and saw his friend nearby and shot him. then shot the dragon.

then a jeep comes and kill 2 guys. then get attacked by 2 dogs.

while looting everytihng i get attacked by a dragon. walk a few feet and loot some more bodies and get attacked by 2 dragons! jump in a jeep because i'm almost dead and here comes a pack of like 4 wild dogs chasing a goat. i ran down 1 dog but the others ran away i guess.


also, i keep seeing loot chest markers on the map but there are no chests in sight....bug?
pontifex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 09:38 PM   #336
dpodblood
Diamond Member
 
dpodblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 3,975
Default

OK so seriously guys where are the Boars at? I've been hunting around for hours trying to do this ammo pouch upgrade and cant find a single one. Just pigs pigs pigs every place I look.
dpodblood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 09:45 PM   #337
coldmeat
Diamond Member
 
coldmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ON, CA
Posts: 9,178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pontifex View Post
also, i keep seeing loot chest markers on the map but there are no chests in sight....bug?
Those ones are underground. There are black spots on the map that mark entrances.
__________________

coldmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 09:47 PM   #338
Rhezuss
Diamond Member
 
Rhezuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,037
Default

Awesome game since I managed to tweak the settings and eliminate the stuttering and lag. I'm running some options on Ultra and most on High without any hiccups. Game is looking really good!

And it's damn fun...except for the too many patrols everywhere...but hey, gotta get those camps!
__________________
Maturity is for boring people

Win7 Pro 64-bit | ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | i7 3770K w/ 212 EVO @ 4.4GHz | G.skill Ares 2x4gb DDR3-1866 | M4 128gb SSD (Boot) + WD RE4 500gb (Games) + WD Blue 320gb | Gigabyte HD 7950 WF3 3gb (F43) @ 950/1300 | X-Fi Titanium HD | XFX TS 650W 80+ Gold | LG 23" LCD 1080p | CM690 II Advanced | Logitech Z623 |
Rhezuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 09:59 PM   #339
coldmeat
Diamond Member
 
coldmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ON, CA
Posts: 9,178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhezuss View Post
Awesome game since I managed to tweak the settings and eliminate the stuttering and lag. I'm running some options on Ultra and most on High without any hiccups. Game is looking really good!

And it's damn fun...except for the too many patrols everywhere...but hey, gotta get those camps!
mind posting how? I think my game suffers from the same
__________________

coldmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 10:03 PM   #340
Dankk
Diamond Member
 
Dankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mormonville, Utah
Posts: 5,029
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coldmeat View Post
mind posting how? I think my game suffers from the same
Seconded. Using the latest AMD beta drivers, the game runs pretty well on High/Very-High settings (sans AA), however it "feels" kind of hanky janky in some places. I'd like to know what the optimal settings for this game are.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 4.4GHz | MSI TwinFrozr 7870 1050/1200
MSI 990FXA-GD80 V2 | G.SKILL 16GB DDR3 1600
Kingston HyperX 120GB SSD | Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB HD

Steam
Dankk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 10:36 PM   #341
Rhezuss
Diamond Member
 
Rhezuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,037
Default

I'm using the 12.10 drivers.

Here are my settings and BTW no .ini tweaks and the like, only the in-game settings.

- 1920x1080
- Vsync @ 1 frame
- GPU buffer @ 1
- DX11
- MSAA @ OFF
- Alpha to coverage @ STANDARD
- SSAO method @ HDAO
- FoV @ 90

- Textures, Ambient lighting, Shadows, Vegetation, Terrain, Water and Environment @ HIGH
- Post FX and Geometry @ ULTRA

In CCC I have these settings:

- AA to App controlled and Filter to Edge-detect
- AF to app controlled
- Tesselation to AMD optimized
- Catalyst A.I to High Quality
- Surface format optimization enabled
- Vsync to On unless app specified
- AA mode to MSAA (first option)
- OpenGL Triple buffering enabled

With all that my game is smooth as butter and look gorgeous!
__________________
Maturity is for boring people

Win7 Pro 64-bit | ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | i7 3770K w/ 212 EVO @ 4.4GHz | G.skill Ares 2x4gb DDR3-1866 | M4 128gb SSD (Boot) + WD RE4 500gb (Games) + WD Blue 320gb | Gigabyte HD 7950 WF3 3gb (F43) @ 950/1300 | X-Fi Titanium HD | XFX TS 650W 80+ Gold | LG 23" LCD 1080p | CM690 II Advanced | Logitech Z623 |
Rhezuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 11:09 PM   #342
supremor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 266
Default

I finally sorted out my crashing issue and I'm loving this game even more now. It is absolutely stunning at 5760x1200, the open world is really brought to life in Surround more so than most other games I played.

Loadout:
Z93 Signature weapon .50cal sniper
Signature weapon Vector SMG w/ silencer,scope and extended mag
MKG Sig weapon LMG with extended mag+red dot
And the good ol' RPG-7
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundmanred View Post
Watercooled and OC'ed = not warrantied.
Don't be a Tweakboy, have some integrity.
supremor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 11:18 PM   #343
TechBoyJK
Lifer
 
TechBoyJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 13,293
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supremor View Post
I finally sorted out my crashing issue and I'm loving this game even more now. It is absolutely stunning at 5760x1200, the open world is really brought to life in Surround more so than most other games I played.

Loadout:
Z93 Signature weapon .50cal sniper
Signature weapon Vector SMG w/ silencer,scope and extended mag
MKG Sig weapon LMG with extended mag+red dot
And the good ol' RPG-7
screen shot?
__________________
Originally posted by: n0cmonkey
You're being difficult. You have not provided us with the information we need to troubleshoot the problem. You have not given us errors, you're vague about where the problem is, you are not answering the questions we ask. In short, you DON'T KNOW HOW TO THINK. Give back that piece of paper you think makes your intelligent, apologize, destroy your computer and go live in the woods kid.
TechBoyJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 11:44 PM   #344
PhatoseAlpha
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,024
Default

You guys are having luck stopping tigers and bears with shotguns? Man, I always pack the flamethrower simply because it always stops wildlife.

Is there any way to turn SSAO off completely? I really don't care for the effect at all.
__________________
"He is behind me. You are in front of me. If you value your life, be someplace else."
PhatoseAlpha is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 11:57 PM   #345
sze5003
Diamond Member
 
sze5003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6,059
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhezuss View Post
I'm using the 12.10 drivers.

Here are my settings and BTW no .ini tweaks and the like, only the in-game settings.

- 1920x1080
- Vsync @ 1 frame
- GPU buffer @ 1
- DX11
- MSAA @ OFF
- Alpha to coverage @ STANDARD
- SSAO method @ HDAO
- FoV @ 90

- Textures, Ambient lighting, Shadows, Vegetation, Terrain, Water and Environment @ HIGH
- Post FX and Geometry @ ULTRA

In CCC I have these settings:

- AA to App controlled and Filter to Edge-detect
- AF to app controlled
- Tesselation to AMD optimized
- Catalyst A.I to High Quality
- Surface format optimization enabled
- Vsync to On unless app specified
- AA mode to MSAA (first option)
- OpenGL Triple buffering enabled

With all that my game is smooth as butter and look gorgeous!
I should try theses. Although all I did was leave everything but shadows to very high. Fov to max. Still get seasick lol. Game runs really smooth. Not sure what to set ssao to I think I left default options in CCC.
__________________
Asrock Extreme3 Gen3| Core i5 2500k @4.2Ghz-Hyper212 EVO| 8GB Corsair Vengence 1600 | 1TB Seagate 7200 rpm | 256GB Samsung 830 |128GB Crucial M4 | Saphire VaporX 7970Ghz 3GB | NZXT Phantom 410 | 750W Corsair Enthusiast
sze5003 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 12:43 AM   #346
StinkyPinky
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: A sandpit with casinos
Posts: 4,784
Default

The graphics are stunning in this game...some of the best I've seen. But one thing that puts me off slightly is the blurring in the distance. Like distant hills are blurred. It's not a deal breaker but is there some way to disable that?
__________________
Intel i7 4790K, GIGABYTE Z97X-UD5H, 8GB ram, ASUS R9 280X DirectCU II TOP 3GB, Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB + 3 x 1TB Samsung F3, 1 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda. Windows 8.1 Pro

Late 2013 13" Macbook Pro, Intel Core i5-4258U 2.4Ghz, Intel Iris 5100 GPU, 8GB ram, 256GB SSD
StinkyPinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 12:51 AM   #347
moonbogg
Diamond Member
 
moonbogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,131
Default

OK, about to give up. There is a stealth mission on the second island that seems impossible. They couldn't have made it any more difficult. I'll have to find a guide or something.

EDIT: NM! I GOT THIS SHIT!

Actually NM again...its really hard. I got to the next point but for crying out loud this is insane hard.
__________________
3930K @ 4.3 - 16GB DDR3 @ 1600 - 2X GTX 670 SLI(2GB) - SAMSUNG 830 SSD - 1920X1080 @ 120HZ - WINDOWS 8.1

Last edited by moonbogg; 12-06-2012 at 01:06 AM.
moonbogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 01:49 AM   #348
supremor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TechBoyJK View Post
screen shot?
Ask and ye shall recieve.

http://imgur.com/a/XvZOw#0

For anyone who hasn't seen triple monitor screenshots, yes the sides are somewhat stretched looking but its barely noticeable in actual gameplay because the side monitors are there to fill your peripheral vision and not to be constantly focused on. Also having them angled towards yourself helps alleviate this further.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundmanred View Post
Watercooled and OC'ed = not warrantied.
Don't be a Tweakboy, have some integrity.
supremor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 03:06 AM   #349
Childs
Diamond Member
 
Childs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,550
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpodblood View Post
OK so seriously guys where are the Boars at? I've been hunting around for hours trying to do this ammo pouch upgrade and cant find a single one. Just pigs pigs pigs every place I look.
Use the map to find them. The hunting syringe might even help if you are in the area, but I dont know for sure if its for the animals listed on the map, or just animals in the area.

I think I could beat this whole game just using the bow and knife. So satisfying, and I'm glad you can retrieve your arrows. I rarely use anything else, but the silenced pistol has its uses. I'm looking forward to unlocking the sniper rifle that can be silenced. If I'm not hunting and come across a predator, I just keep on trucking. I find myself ignoring the story missions and just establishing safe houses and radio towers. I kinda wish there were enemies at the radio towers, cause I'm having lots of fun marking targets and stealthily taking them out.
__________________
i7-3770k@4.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti OC 3GB * 840 Pro 512GB * 24" Asus VG248QE 144Hz
Mac Mini i7 2.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * 840 Pro 512GB * 27" Dell U2711
Origin name: tT-Childs
Childs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 03:13 AM   #350
StinkyPinky
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: A sandpit with casinos
Posts: 4,784
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Childs View Post
Use the map to find them. The hunting syringe might even help if you are in the area, but I dont know for sure if its for the animals listed on the map, or just animals in the area.

I think I could beat this whole game just using the bow and knife. So satisfying, and I'm glad you can retrieve your arrows. I rarely use anything else, but the silenced pistol has its uses. I'm looking forward to unlocking the sniper rifle that can be silenced. If I'm not hunting and come across a predator, I just keep on trucking. I find myself ignoring the story missions and just establishing safe houses and radio towers. I kinda wish there were enemies at the radio towers, cause I'm having lots of fun marking targets and stealthily taking them out.

I'm pretty sure the silenced sniper rifle can be picked up very early for a cost of about $1800 plus a few hundred for the silencer.
__________________
Intel i7 4790K, GIGABYTE Z97X-UD5H, 8GB ram, ASUS R9 280X DirectCU II TOP 3GB, Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB + 3 x 1TB Samsung F3, 1 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda. Windows 8.1 Pro

Late 2013 13" Macbook Pro, Intel Core i5-4258U 2.4Ghz, Intel Iris 5100 GPU, 8GB ram, 256GB SSD
StinkyPinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.