Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2012, 10:00 AM   #5876
cronos
Diamond Member
 
cronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 8,228
Default

Quick stupid question guys:

You use your Origin account to login to this game, is this correct?

I beta tested this game last year and remember some confusion when they merged Origin with EA(?) accounts and I ended up with two Origin accounts now.
__________________
it's called the speed limit, not the speed suggestion
cronos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 11:03 AM   #5877
CVSiN
Diamond Member
 
CVSiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 9,308
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cronos View Post
Quick stupid question guys:

You use your Origin account to login to this game, is this correct?

I beta tested this game last year and remember some confusion when they merged Origin with EA(?) accounts and I ended up with two Origin accounts now.
yes your EA account should match Origin.
and this does use EA credentials if you set it up that way.
__________________
Originally posted by: AnandTech Moderator
Missing unwritten rules are a bannable offense!

"Religion is regarded by the common people as true, by the wise as false, and by the rulers as useful."
- Seneca (4 b.c.- 65 a.d.)





CVSiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:40 PM   #5878
cronos
Diamond Member
 
cronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 8,228
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CVSiN View Post
yes your EA account should match Origin.
and this does use EA credentials if you set it up that way.
Gotcha, thanks. With two Origin accounts I'll just have to decide which account I'd like to use for this game then.
__________________
it's called the speed limit, not the speed suggestion
cronos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:16 PM   #5879
enis083
Senior Member
 
enis083's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pr0d1gy View Post
Yeah I think this is honestly my problem with it at this point, too. In recent months I have really gone away from online gaming and the idea of me needing anyone's help online to do anything on the game is a big turn off for me. Just to give you guys an idea, I solo grinded my WoW toon to level 65 without running very many quests. I guess I am a lone wolf kinda player by nature.

Anyhow, sorry to be neg on the game. I'm sure plenty of people love it, it's just not for me...which is a shame because I LOVED KotoR 1.
I leveled 4 50's and I rarely did flashpoints or group for heroics. You can solo some of the Heroic 2 if you have a stun.

You can also solo a lot of the flashpoints if you are about 5-10 levels above the recommended level. If nothing else, do the Dorin's Sky/Boarding Party (lvl33+) flashpoints and then the Foundry (lvl 37+) FP as it sort of ties up the KOTOR 1 & 2 story lines.
enis083 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:19 PM   #5880
AMDZen
Lifer
 
AMDZen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 12,636
Default

Exactly as everyone has said, I solo everything. You can solo Heroics and flashpoints as well but you just wait until you are 3-4 levels above the level you are supposed to be for it
__________________
Atheism Is a Religion Like Abstinence Is a Sex Position
Yum

Gaming Computer - i5 - 2500k @ 4.6 Ghz | Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3P | G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600 | MSI GTX 480 | Win7 x64
AMDZen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 06:26 PM   #5881
BudAshes
Diamond Member
 
BudAshes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: In your head
Posts: 9,696
Default

I chose slicing as a skill but it seems useless at this point. Should I get rid of it or does it have some real purpose. I'm a level 15 sorc btw.
__________________
There is nothing strange about being strange.

Life is only a dream and we are the imagination of ourselves. -Bill Hicks
BudAshes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 06:51 PM   #5882
coloumb
Diamond Member
 
coloumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Northwest
Posts: 4,089
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BudAshes View Post
I chose slicing as a skill but it seems useless at this point. Should I get rid of it or does it have some real purpose. I'm a level 15 sorc btw.
The missions have purpose - you'll obtain crafting mats which I believe only drop from slicing missions [I may be wrong as it's been a few months since I logged back in]. It's also a nice way to generate some extra credits.
__________________
[<><><><>}================================
This sounds like fun. I will enjoy "bending" her to my will...
coloumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 07:03 PM   #5883
DaveSimmons
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 37,278
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BudAshes View Post
I chose slicing as a skill but it seems useless at this point. Should I get rid of it or does it have some real purpose. I'm a level 15 sorc btw.
What are you trying to craft, if anything?

Slicing mats ("sliced tech parts") are used for crafting augments. They have almost no value in GTN except for the purple / rare ones, because augment crafters get more blue mats than they need while trying to get purples.

Slicing works as a pure gathering skill since you'll find various security boxes around that you can slice open for credits.
DaveSimmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 07:51 PM   #5884
BudAshes
Diamond Member
 
BudAshes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: In your head
Posts: 9,696
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveSimmons View Post
What are you trying to craft, if anything?

Slicing mats ("sliced tech parts") are used for crafting augments. They have almost no value in GTN except for the purple / rare ones, because augment crafters get more blue mats than they need while trying to get purples.

Slicing works as a pure gathering skill since you'll find various security boxes around that you can slice open for credits.
Is it worth it though or is it just a few credits here and there like it is right now?
__________________
There is nothing strange about being strange.

Life is only a dream and we are the imagination of ourselves. -Bill Hicks
BudAshes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 08:51 PM   #5885
enis083
Senior Member
 
enis083's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 314
Default

I would take Cybertech to make mods, armor and earpieces or Artifice to make crystals, hilts and enhancements. If you plan to raid at 50, you can reverse engineer some of them and craft them for a lot of credits. I do ok with Cybertech and I don't raid with my 50's but I see people selling end game armor, barrels and hilts for 1+ mil. Armstech is good but all you really sell is barrels.
enis083 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 10:36 PM   #5886
DaveSimmons
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 37,278
Default

Cybertech is useful for armoring and mods for your orange gear, plus 3 sets of starship upgrades. For it you want scavenging and underworld trading. Those are more useful than slicing to a cybertech.

For saber hilts, enhancements and color crystals you want artifice + archeology + treasure hunting.

But really, unless you want to craft for a bunch of alts or as a second job, it's much easier to just pick 3 gathering skills (archeology, scavenging and slicing are good) to sell mats.

The work involved in running missions, reverse engineering green schematics, selling things on GTN is all time you could be playing your character and earning credits from gathering and loot. It's also hard to run enough missions to get mats for crafting until you are able to send 3-4 companions off on missions.
DaveSimmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 09:56 AM   #5887
darkewaffle
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: pa
Posts: 7,491
Default

Somewhat revised F2P options, "preferred" players (those who have spent $4.99 or are past subscribers) now have access to 4 quick bars. Free to play has two, subscribers up to six.

First expansion announced, I like the fact that it's only $20 for free players or $10 for subscribers. Hopefully it's pretty robust in content.

Patch 1.6.0 "Ancient Hypergate" released. New warzone, new 'heroic' space missions, some other fixes and such.
__________________
heat ebay
oppa gangnam style
darkewaffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 02:36 PM   #5888
coloumb
Diamond Member
 
coloumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Northwest
Posts: 4,089
Default

Just resub'd last night [for some reason I only sub'd for a month back in September vs the monthly sub] - the new space missions are tremendously challenging [and impossible unless you have level 7 equipment]. I used up a few cartel coins to buy a complete set of level 7 mods for my spaceship and managed to survive through 1 of the level 7 missions but failed an objective. Pretty cool you can destroy capital ships now. More challenging space missions = a lot of fun in my book.

Been awhile since I logged in and will have to read up/learn about the new things they've added to the game.
__________________
[<><><><>}================================
This sounds like fun. I will enjoy "bending" her to my will...
coloumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 04:03 PM   #5889
CVSiN
Diamond Member
 
CVSiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 9,308
Default

EXPANSION ANNOUNCED!

http://www.bluesnews.com/s/137570/st...sion-announced

5 more levels.. more story new planet.

more to be announced.
__________________
Originally posted by: AnandTech Moderator
Missing unwritten rules are a bannable offense!

"Religion is regarded by the common people as true, by the wise as false, and by the rulers as useful."
- Seneca (4 b.c.- 65 a.d.)





CVSiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 04:05 PM   #5890
Ns1
Lifer
 
Ns1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: A Warm Place
Posts: 43,311
Default

will SW:TOR ever get housing or guild ships?
__________________
Racing KT to NoLifer...a true race to the bottom. I WILL NEVER CONCEDE TO A CANUCK.


Rule 813 bro
Ns1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 04:45 PM   #5891
CVSiN
Diamond Member
 
CVSiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 9,308
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ns1 View Post
will SW:TOR ever get housing or guild ships?
we already have housing that is what personal star ships are.

all the decorations are legacy items and yes you can have people over.

as for guild capital ships.. freaking on the wish list.
__________________
Originally posted by: AnandTech Moderator
Missing unwritten rules are a bannable offense!

"Religion is regarded by the common people as true, by the wise as false, and by the rulers as useful."
- Seneca (4 b.c.- 65 a.d.)





CVSiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 07:38 PM   #5892
Ns1
Lifer
 
Ns1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: A Warm Place
Posts: 43,311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CVSiN View Post
we already have housing that is what personal star ships are.

all the decorations are legacy items and yes you can have people over.

as for guild capital ships.. freaking on the wish list.
Unless I can decorate the ship and show it off that's not what I equate to player housing (player housing in the style of UO or SW:G). Not sure if things have changed.
__________________
Racing KT to NoLifer...a true race to the bottom. I WILL NEVER CONCEDE TO A CANUCK.


Rule 813 bro
Ns1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 07:55 PM   #5893
DaveSimmons
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 37,278
Default

I'm a bit irked that they want subscribers to pay for new story content, especially for just 5 levels and one new planet. I doubt I'll be pre-ordering this.
DaveSimmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 08:37 AM   #5894
ArchAngel777
Diamond Member
 
ArchAngel777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,929
Default

As I was looking at the cartel market last night it really hit me that F2P really is going to ruin this game. At first, I didn't think it would, but I see it differently now.

Now, F2P might be successful, but that doesn't mean it won't ruin the game. It feels like even subscribers are getting the short end of the stick. Since I started this has happened...

1) Server Merge from 100 to around 25 - Performance was decent, little lag.
2) Server Merge from 25 to 8 - Performance was horrible. The game literally 'stutters' on the server side.
3) F2P launches - Performance is even worse. I can't through a LI, HM-EC, or what not without massive stutters at certain points of the mechanic switches. Basically it feels like someone is hitting pause for a few seconds at times. Of course, we are all over my TS server and everyone is like 'Did the game just pause for you guys?' - a resounding yes. Not packet loss, not network traffic congestion - Their servers just cannot handle the load and I highly doubt any hardware upgrades will be made.

So, I now play a laggy game with a bunch of tools who use general chat as their spam channel. Every week the cartel market puts some crap cosmetic armor to buy. The thing is, I welcome this except that the crap released has been available the entire time, depending on what side you are. Granted, it was not 'adaptive' but it does show that basically no effort is being put into 'new' things, just rebranded and reskinned stuff that already exists.

I am pretty much done with the game. The only reason I even play now is because my son still loves it...
__________________
Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.6Ghz|ASRock Extreme 4 P67|16GB DDR3 1600|nVidia 480 GTX 1GB @ 822/1644/2000|Samsung 830 64GB SSD|4 Intel X25-M 80GB - RAID 0

Intel Core i7 920 @ 4.0Ghz|Asus P6T Deluxe V2|12GB DDR3|nVidia 480 GTX 1GB @ 822/1644/2000|Samsung 830 256GB SSD
ArchAngel777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 09:27 AM   #5895
Axon
Platinum Member
 
Axon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,495
Default

There are only 8 servers now? Fairly shocking.
__________________
Heat

i7 2600k @ 4.6/Gigabyte P67A-UD4/8 Gig G.Skill Ripjaws 1600/ASUS GTX 670 DCII TOP/OCZ Vertex 3 250 GB/WD Black 640 Gig HDD

No one wants to trade new stuff for old crap
Axon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 09:42 AM   #5896
EDUSAN
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,280
Default

so... the game has MORE people now that its f2p?
EDUSAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 09:50 AM   #5897
diesbudt
Diamond Member
 
diesbudt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,393
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EDUSAN View Post
so... the game has MORE people now that its f2p?
No, reducing all the players to 8 servers, and then F2P (in which teh servers will be running at less than maximum power to save money) can cause some stuttering. Not nec. more players.

Since SW:TOR requires a lot of power to run the world, the power reduction they probably had to make to make F2P viable, hurt the game's smoothness.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phanuel View Post
If there was a train of logic, yours derailed about 7 stations back and you just hopped onto the tracks and started running down them in place of the train.
diesbudt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 09:51 AM   #5898
darkewaffle
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: pa
Posts: 7,491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Axon View Post
There are only 8 servers now? Fairly shocking.
They massively overallocated servers at launch, having too many actually hurt the game imo as it made it easier for smaller servers to feel barren.
__________________
heat ebay
oppa gangnam style
darkewaffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 10:54 AM   #5899
CVSiN
Diamond Member
 
CVSiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 9,308
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ns1 View Post
Unless I can decorate the ship and show it off that's not what I equate to player housing (player housing in the style of UO or SW:G). Not sure if things have changed.
um you can do both already.
__________________
Originally posted by: AnandTech Moderator
Missing unwritten rules are a bannable offense!

"Religion is regarded by the common people as true, by the wise as false, and by the rulers as useful."
- Seneca (4 b.c.- 65 a.d.)





CVSiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 10:57 AM   #5900
CVSiN
Diamond Member
 
CVSiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 9,308
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EDUSAN View Post
so... the game has MORE people now that its f2p?
yes MANY more..
there are always 3-4 packed instances everywhere I go in the game.

usually 4-5 fleets at 250 each.
last night tatoonie had 4 packed instances as well.

the game as ALOT more players now.

And they merged and created HUGE servers with new higher pops than we had at launch.

all servers are now running at full at all times with much larger capacities than were allowed at launch.
__________________
Originally posted by: AnandTech Moderator
Missing unwritten rules are a bannable offense!

"Religion is regarded by the common people as true, by the wise as false, and by the rulers as useful."
- Seneca (4 b.c.- 65 a.d.)





CVSiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.