Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Merchandise and Shopping > Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2012, 05:41 PM   #26
Vincent
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Cottonwood Heights, UT
Posts: 2,005
Default

Everything is already assembled inside the case.
Vincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 10:16 AM   #27
jalaram
Lifer
 
jalaram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Posts: 12,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaido View Post
Even at $89, it's still a pretty good deal.

Does anyone know if this unofficially supports 16 gigs of RAM?
+$13 shipping.
__________________
Take care,
JC

"My friends call me Keith, but you can call me John."-Keith Moon
Heatware: 2xx-0-0
jalaram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:17 AM   #28
Vincent
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Cottonwood Heights, UT
Posts: 2,005
Default

I set up my RM3-H2 over the past few days. Here are some notes

1) Even if your RAM heatsinks are short, they may still get in the way of a long optical drive
2) I wish there were pre-drilled holes for mounting a 2.5" HD
3) I found the 3.5" drive bay under the optical drive to be more convenient because it does not interfere with the power supply cables
4) Mine came with a CWT 250W power supply
5) My system arrived with a BIOS dated May 2011. I updated the BIOS on mine to the April 2012 A41F1P03 version on the Foxconn RM2-H2 webpage. The BIOS version is in fact dated Nov 2011
6) The same A41F1P03 BIOS also appears on the Foxconn H67S webpage
7) The Foxconn H67S webpage has a BIOS C33F1P01 that says it is for Ivy Bridge support
8) I flashed the MEBIOS version of the H67S C33F1P01 BIOS to my H61SP motherboard and it is still working. YMMV
9) This new BIOS has more detailed fan options and a different menu structure
10) Installing the Realtek LAN driver from the included CDROM onto a Win7 x64 SP1 system caused a BSOD
11) The downloaded driver from the Foxconn webpage installed successfully
12) With the May 2011 BIOS the system would not shut down successfully--the PSU fan continued running, but this is no longer an issue with the latest BIOS
13) I flashed the BIOS via DOS
14) It is necessary to disable Intel ME via a motherboard jumper to flash the BIOS

Overall I am pleased with this system. I'm using a Celeron G550 now, but I also ordered an RM3-H2 in which I will install an i3-3225. So I am glad that the BIOS provides Ivy Bridge support.

Last edited by Vincent; 12-11-2012 at 11:54 AM. Reason: add note about motherboard jumper
Vincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:48 PM   #29
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

Great notes!

I was considering, but I already have too many computers.
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:55 PM   #30
thestrangebrew1
Golden Member
 
thestrangebrew1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,387
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent View Post
I set up my RM3-H2 over the past few days. Here are some notes

1) Even if your RAM heatsinks are short, they may still get in the way of a long optical drive
2) I wish there were pre-drilled holes for mounting a 2.5" HD
3) I found the 3.5" drive bay under the optical drive to be more convenient because it does not interfere with the power supply cables
4) Mine came with a CWT 250W power supply
5) My system arrived with a BIOS dated May 2011. I updated the BIOS on mine to the April 2012 A41F1P03 version on the Foxconn RM2-H2 webpage. The BIOS version is in fact dated Nov 2011
6) The same A41F1P03 BIOS also appears on the Foxconn H67S webpage
7) The Foxconn H67S webpage has a BIOS C33F1P01 that says it is for Ivy Bridge support
8) I flashed the MEBIOS version of the H67S C33F1P01 BIOS to my H61SP motherboard and it is still working. YMMV
9) This new BIOS has more detailed fan options and a different menu structure
10) Installing the Realtek LAN driver from the included CDROM onto a Win7 x64 SP1 system caused a BSOD
11) The downloaded driver from the Foxconn webpage installed successfully
12) With the May 2011 BIOS the system would not shut down successfully--the PSU fan continued running, but this is no longer an issue with the latest BIOS
13) I flashed the BIOS via DOS
14) It is necessary to disable Intel ME to flash the BIOS

Overall I am pleased with this system. I'm using a Celeron G550 now, but I also ordered an RM3-H2 in which I will install an i3-3225. So I am glad that the BIOS provides Ivy Bridge support.
Thanks for the quick write up. I'll be looking to this if I have any issues. I have a slightly different model, the R2-H2 I believe. The BIOS has a different date. I think I read somewhere on a review how the LAN drivers are proprietary and the reviewer said to stay away. I think it was on amazon for my particular model. Not sure why it'd be a big deal that they're proprietary.
__________________
Rig: i7 2700k, asrock extreme 4 gen3, 60 gb OCZ Vertex ssd, 128 gb Plextor M3 ssd, samsung spinpoint 1tb hd, 16gb gskill sniper series, EVGA GTX 670 FTW, antec hcg 750w psu

Server: Intel g630, Biostar H61, 4gb gskill ram, antec 400w eco psu
thestrangebrew1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 05:00 PM   #31
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,369
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zap View Post
Great notes!

I was considering, but I already have too many computers.
LOL. You too, eh?
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 08:29 AM   #32
Kaido
Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 28,942
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent View Post
A third one is on sale for $60 now:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16856119065

I got my RM3-H2 yesterday and set it up today. The power supply fan is a little noisy but it should be inaudible inside by TV stand. Mine came with an H61 motherboard instead of the H67 that some people were getting. I wanted to replace the 80mm side fan with a quieter one but the ones I have were too thick.

It's a nice piece of hardware as long as it remains reliable. I'm tempted to pick up another one, although I really wouldn't have much use for it.
This one is back on sale for $69. I did a side-by-side comparison of the RM2-H2 and RM3-H2, they look exactly the same aside from the case, spec-wise.
__________________
Dave Likes Food
Kaido is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 05:00 PM   #33
thestrangebrew1
Golden Member
 
thestrangebrew1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,387
Default

Anyone know if the psu could handle a 6570 gpu? Pretty much the only thing I'll be adding to this barebone is a g850, 4gb ram & a 128gb 830 ssd. might throw in a bdrom as well.
__________________
Rig: i7 2700k, asrock extreme 4 gen3, 60 gb OCZ Vertex ssd, 128 gb Plextor M3 ssd, samsung spinpoint 1tb hd, 16gb gskill sniper series, EVGA GTX 670 FTW, antec hcg 750w psu

Server: Intel g630, Biostar H61, 4gb gskill ram, antec 400w eco psu
thestrangebrew1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 07:26 PM   #34
Vincent
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Cottonwood Heights, UT
Posts: 2,005
Default

Mine have 250W CWT DS1250P microATX power supplies. This link

http://hothardware.com/Reviews/AMD-R...instream-GPUs/

says that the 6570 consumes a max of 44W. Your CPU has a TDP of 65W. So you have 140W for the rest of your components, although you probably don't want to stress your PSU by running it continuously at its rated wattage.

My guess is that it would be ok, but you'll never know until you try it.
Vincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.