Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2012, 05:13 AM   #151
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,452
Default

Good results, a bit unexpected. Does someone have the old values to compare?
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 06:00 AM   #152
Grooveriding
Diamond Member
 
Grooveriding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 5,723
Default

What's up with guru's benching methods ? Why are they not running the tests on ultra and with HDAO enabled ?

I can tell you right now there is no way you are getting anywhere near 35fps with a 680 on ultra in this game. I get about 55 using two 680s most of the time.

Anyone have benches done on maximum settings ?
__________________
3930K 4.8Ghz | RIVE | 16GB 2133 Dominator Platinum | 780ti SLI | Evo 500GB Raid 0 | Dell U3011 | EVGA 1300W PSU
under custom water
Grooveriding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 06:10 AM   #153
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,452
Default

Aside from the PCGH and probably Computerbase (they didn't say if they tested with ultra, but looking at the fps values, I think they did) there isn't anything out there, yet.

I developed a 30s fraps run and collected some results at various resolutions and AA-settings, always ultra and HDAO. Would be great if you'd like to participate and post your results here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UajS-...ature=youtu.be

30s fraps. Start at Amanaki Town (quick travel location), exit the house. Start fraps and immediately start walking the route shown in the video, staying on the paths until the 30s are over. The video is cut short at the end - just walk straight ahead for 2-3 seconds more until fraps is done. Quite easy and very repeatable if nobody gets in your way (happens rarely).

Some results with GTX580, GTX680 and 7970@1125/1700:
http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulle...51#post9569151

Last edited by boxleitnerb; 12-04-2012 at 06:13 AM.
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 06:13 AM   #154
Grooveriding
Diamond Member
 
Grooveriding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 5,723
Default

I'll see if I can do some benches of your run later tonight.

That Guru bench set is crapola. He's not even using a Sandy Bridge, benching on an i7 930..... Was hoping to find some benches to compare my system to. Even CPU seems to matter in this game.



This game is really hard on the GPUs. I've never seen a game make my cards run at such high temperatures as this one does. When I run SGSSAA I tend to get higher than normal temperatures, but FC3 as it is makes my cards get even hotter than that. It looks good though, not BF3 good, but pretty decent.
__________________
3930K 4.8Ghz | RIVE | 16GB 2133 Dominator Platinum | 780ti SLI | Evo 500GB Raid 0 | Dell U3011 | EVGA 1300W PSU
under custom water

Last edited by Grooveriding; 12-04-2012 at 06:16 AM.
Grooveriding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 06:17 AM   #155
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,452
Default

Yup, I noticed that as well. Usually I'm running 50C or a bit lower. With FC3 my temps are 3-5C higher.
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 06:45 AM   #156
sontin
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxleitnerb View Post
Good results, a bit unexpected. Does someone have the old values to compare?
From the comments:
Quote:
Yeah it won't bring you more perf alright, only with like 8xMSAA you'll see some benefits, but who realistically is running 8xMSAA with this game engine ?
http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...42&postcount=6
sontin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 07:01 AM   #157
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,452
Default

Seems plausible as they explicitly mentioned 8xMSAA. Given that MSAA doesn't really work well in this game, 8x is especially useless.
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 07:11 AM   #158
sontin
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,893
Default

Computerbase.de tested the driver, too:
http://www.computerbase.de/news/2012...-zu-far-cry-3/

I think that is the same performance increasement nVidia user got with the latest beta driver. In the end this is a worst case scenario for AM 7970GHz losing to the GTX680 is very bad.
sontin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 07:24 AM   #159
ICDP
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 709
Default

I think we will see quite a few performance increases with this game. It plays well enough on my 7970 at 2560x1600 with Ultra settings and 2x MSAA enabled, but some more performance would be nice.

The new 12.11 (beta 11) driver helps with MSAA, at 1920x1080 it is matching the GTX 680.

4xMSAA (A2C) + FXAA/16xAF
GTX 680: 42.1 FPS average
HD 7970GE :41.1 FPS average

With FXAA only the GTX 680 takes a 6% lead over the 7970 GE and both are quite playable. So both Nvidia and AMD are making good strides to fixing performance here. Good work from both, more of the same please

Last edited by ICDP; 12-04-2012 at 07:34 AM.
ICDP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:22 AM   #160
sze5003
Diamond Member
 
sze5003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4,868
Default

Is there a fraps for windows 8? I dunno what frames I get on my 7970 but the gameplay is much smoother on ultra than on optimal settings. I'm using stock 12.10 drivers.
__________________
Asrock Extreme3 Gen3| Core i5 2500k @4.2Ghz-Hyper212 EVO| 8GB Corsair Vengence 1600 | 1TB Seagate 7200 rpm | 256GB Samsung 830 |128GB Crucial M4 | Saphire VaporX 7970Ghz 3GB | NZXT Phantom 410 | 750W Corsair Enthusiast
sze5003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 10:06 AM   #161
DrBoss
Senior Member
 
DrBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 383
Default

NVIDIA 310.70 WHQL drivers are up.
I wont be able to test them for performance gains in Far Cry 3 until i get home tonight.
__________________
.
.
Intel i7-2600k @4.4ghz (1.27V, offest -.05) |
Thermalright Archon | Shin-Etsu X23-7783D | ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3 | MSI GTX 670 Twin Frozr IV Power Edition | 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 | Corsair 850HX | Intel X25-M 160GB | WD Caviar Black 500gb | 2x WD Caviar Black 640gb | Pioneer BDR-206 | HT Omega eClaro 7.1 | Eizo SX2761w | Fractal Design Define XL

Onkyo TX-SR705 | 2x Klipsch RB-81 | 2x Klipsch RB-51 | Klipsch XL-23 | Outlaw Audio LFM-1 EX
DrBoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:42 PM   #162
ICDP
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 709
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sze5003 View Post
Is there a fraps for windows 8? I dunno what frames I get on my 7970 but the gameplay is much smoother on ultra than on optimal settings. I'm using stock 12.10 drivers.
The latest preview 1.1.1.0 of RadeonPro allows FPS logging.
ICDP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 05:49 PM   #163
moonbogg
Diamond Member
 
moonbogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,499
Default

SLI is kicking ass in this game after the manual fixes were applied to get it working, but I noticed something strange and i'm curious if i'm the only one. Since using SLI perhaps, I have noticed that while driving the quads and flying the hang glider, the front of the quad and the hang glider appear blurry. I mean, like really blury. I didn't notice it before with one card and I might experiment, but to be honest i'm too busy enjoying the game to screw around like I usually do. I'll at least do a run through benchmark as instructed in this thread and report back later tonight.
__________________
3930K @ 4.3 - 16GB DDR3 @ 1600 - 2X GTX 670 SLI(2GB) - SAMSUNG 830 SSD - 1920X1080 @ 120HZ - WINDOWS 8.1
moonbogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:32 PM   #164
DiogoDX
Senior Member
 
DiogoDX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 210
Default

Pcgamesharware update:

They are using HDAO and 4xMSAA while Guru3D uses SSAO and 2xMSAA.




http://www.pcgameshardware.de/Far-Cr...marks-1036726/

Last edited by DiogoDX; 12-04-2012 at 09:37 PM.
DiogoDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:40 PM   #165
lavaheadache
Diamond Member
 
lavaheadache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Cod MA
Posts: 6,313
Default

Is it me or are the in game graphics not that impressive?

I feel like the cut scenes when somebody is talking to you or something are gorgeous but then it goes to mediocre when gameplay starts up again
__________________
Video Card Specialist

sell me your 5950 Ultra

Heat 137-0-0
lavaheadache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 10:06 PM   #166
Grooveriding
Diamond Member
 
Grooveriding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 5,723
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moonbogg View Post
SLI is kicking ass in this game after the manual fixes were applied to get it working, but I noticed something strange and i'm curious if i'm the only one. Since using SLI perhaps, I have noticed that while driving the quads and flying the hang glider, the front of the quad and the hang glider appear blurry. I mean, like really blury. I didn't notice it before with one card and I might experiment, but to be honest i'm too busy enjoying the game to screw around like I usually do. I'll at least do a run through benchmark as instructed in this thread and report back later tonight.
It's not you. If you look at the Ambient Occlusion shadowing you'll notice issues as well using the hacks to get SLI working on nvidia in the game. The shadowing will smear and in other places stretch out. It's an issue with the bits that enables SLI. If you put everything back to driver defaults it will go away, but SLI won't work again.


Quote:
Originally Posted by lavaheadache View Post
Is it me or are the in game graphics not that impressive?

I feel like the cut scenes when somebody is talking to you or something are gorgeous but then it goes to mediocre when gameplay starts up again
The cut scenes are amazing and I think the character's faces and animations are some of the best I've seen. Actual gameplay is hit and miss. Some of the textures on the weapons are pretty impressive. The lighting/hdr/sunrays are really, really well done. The jungle environment as a whole though is not as impressive as Crysis 1. Still is no game that looks as good in that respect.
__________________
3930K 4.8Ghz | RIVE | 16GB 2133 Dominator Platinum | 780ti SLI | Evo 500GB Raid 0 | Dell U3011 | EVGA 1300W PSU
under custom water
Grooveriding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 10:55 PM   #167
Will Robinson
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,402
Default

Quote:
I have noticed that while driving the quads and flying the hang glider, the front of the quad and the hang glider appear blurry. I mean, like really blury. I didn't notice it before with one card and I might experiment, but to be honest i'm too busy enjoying the game to screw around like I usually do.
According to tviceman and Keysplayr this could be NVDA sacrificing image quality to gain a performance advantage in FPS.
Well,that's what they think AMD did so I guess it must be a widely used deception...lucky they were so diligent in their "research" otherwise we may have missed NVDA doing it.
__________________
Intel CPUs and AMD GPUs.


Will Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:06 AM   #168
moonbogg
Diamond Member
 
moonbogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grooveriding View Post
It's not you. If you look at the Ambient Occlusion shadowing you'll notice issues as well using the hacks to get SLI working on nvidia in the game. The shadowing will smear and in other places stretch out. It's an issue with the bits that enables SLI. If you put everything back to driver defaults it will go away, but SLI won't work again.
Damn. I'm installing the brand new drivers now and will report back. Hopefully they don't break SLI and the blurring gets fixes.
__________________
3930K @ 4.3 - 16GB DDR3 @ 1600 - 2X GTX 670 SLI(2GB) - SAMSUNG 830 SSD - 1920X1080 @ 120HZ - WINDOWS 8.1
moonbogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:17 AM   #169
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grooveriding View Post
It's not you. If you look at the Ambient Occlusion shadowing you'll notice issues as well using the hacks to get SLI working on nvidia in the game. The shadowing will smear and in other places stretch out. It's an issue with the bits that enables SLI. If you put everything back to driver defaults it will go away, but SLI won't work again.
Which bits are you referring to? Could you please post screenshots of this issue, I can forward it to a friend with direct connection to Nvidia. He is also the one finding out most of these custom bits, I don't know how he is doing it

Currently I'm using 0x080942F5
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:24 AM   #170
Grooveriding
Diamond Member
 
Grooveriding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 5,723
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxleitnerb View Post
Which bits are you referring to? Could you please post screenshots of this issue, I can forward it to a friend with direct connection to Nvidia. He is also the one finding out most of these custom bits, I don't know how he is doing it

Currently I'm using 0x080942F5
0x0C1902F5 is the one I am using. When I use the one you have going I get random FPS drops whenever there is action on the screen. I'll add some SS of the AO issues tomorrow. You can find some on nvidia's geforce forums and guru3d as well.
__________________
3930K 4.8Ghz | RIVE | 16GB 2133 Dominator Platinum | 780ti SLI | Evo 500GB Raid 0 | Dell U3011 | EVGA 1300W PSU
under custom water
Grooveriding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:32 AM   #171
moonbogg
Diamond Member
 
moonbogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grooveriding View Post
0x0C1902F5 is the one I am using. When I use the one you have going I get random FPS drops whenever there is action on the screen. I'll add some SS of the AO issues tomorrow. You can find some on nvidia's geforce forums and guru3d as well.
Exactly. I am going back to the other bits as Nvidias brand new driver totally broke SLI for me. Getting dips into the 30's with 50% usage.
__________________
3930K @ 4.3 - 16GB DDR3 @ 1600 - 2X GTX 670 SLI(2GB) - SAMSUNG 830 SSD - 1920X1080 @ 120HZ - WINDOWS 8.1
moonbogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:34 AM   #172
Vesku
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,914
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grooveriding View Post
The cut scenes are amazing and I think the character's faces and animations are some of the best I've seen. Actual gameplay is hit and miss. Some of the textures on the weapons are pretty impressive. The lighting/hdr/sunrays are really, really well done. The jungle environment as a whole though is not as impressive as Crysis 1. Still is no game that looks as good in that respect.
I'd like to believe the jungle isn't as impressive because they let you set fire to it.
Vesku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:38 AM   #173
moonbogg
Diamond Member
 
moonbogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,499
Default

I had to stop playing to report how critical it is to your SLI gaming experience to NOT use Nvidia's default SLI profile. You must use the modified bits. The difference is 30fps to 70fps. I just went back to the other bits and holy crap, what a shame it is that Nvidia would bork us like this.
__________________
3930K @ 4.3 - 16GB DDR3 @ 1600 - 2X GTX 670 SLI(2GB) - SAMSUNG 830 SSD - 1920X1080 @ 120HZ - WINDOWS 8.1
moonbogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:21 AM   #174
Skurge
Diamond Member
 
Skurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Namibia
Posts: 4,831
Default

Can someone explain to me what bits are? I have a few friends with SLI and wouldn't mind helping them out.
__________________
Intel Core i7-4770K [stock]|MSI Z87-G45 Gaming|16GB DDR3-1600|Gigabyte R9 290 Windforce CF [stock]|Samsung SSD 840 Evo 500GB|Corsair AX860 PSU|Corsair 750D|Windows 8 Pro|Samsung S27A950D|Logitech G27 Racing Wheel|Nexus 5 32GB
Skurge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:47 AM   #175
Silverforce11
Diamond Member
 
Silverforce11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiogoDX View Post
Pcgamesharware update:

They are using HDAO and 4xMSAA while Guru3D uses SSAO and 2xMSAA.

http://www.pcgameshardware.de/Far-Cr...marks-1036726/
Interesting to see that these performance drivers also boosted Cayman performance by a LOT, but totally nothing for Evergreen. They are very similar architecturally (VLIW), one would expect both to increase..

Looking at NV's drivers, Fermi cards and Kepler get similar boosts.
__________________

Rig 1: 3570K | Z77 E4 | Crossfire R290 | 840 250GB + 840EVO 250GB | 8GB G.Skill Ares 2133 | OCZ 850W Gold+ | Nanoxia DS1 | Ghetto Water
Hobby: Mobile Game Dev & Cryptocoin day-trader
Silverforce11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.