Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2012, 08:34 PM   #1
John Connor
Diamond Member
 
John Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Somewhere with an encrypted radio mocking the NSA
Posts: 8,156
Question Question about HD Tune and Atto

Since most hard drives including mine default to a 4096 MB cluster size shouldn't the benchmarks' score at 4 MBs be the most important? In HD tune the default benchmark test is 64k and in Atto it has a range from 0.5 to 8192 MB.
John Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:26 AM   #2
John Connor
Diamond Member
 
John Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Somewhere with an encrypted radio mocking the NSA
Posts: 8,156
Default

Does anyone know? I contacted Atto and HD Tune and got no response yet.
John Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:36 AM   #3
masteryoda34
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,384
Default

What exactly do you mean by "4096 MB cluster size" ?? I think you must be confused.
masteryoda34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 02:56 AM   #4
John Connor
Diamond Member
 
John Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Somewhere with an encrypted radio mocking the NSA
Posts: 8,156
Default

The allocation unit size.





John Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:32 PM   #5
Elixer
Diamond Member
 
Elixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,689
Default

That is 4K, not 4MB.
__________________
The truth is incontrovertible, malice may attack it, ignorance may deride it, but in the end; there it is.

The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter.
Elixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:12 PM   #6
John Connor
Diamond Member
 
John Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Somewhere with an encrypted radio mocking the NSA
Posts: 8,156
Default

Okay, 4K. So what's the most important speed with running benchmarking software? would the 4K block size be the most important then in the benchmarking software?
John Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:43 PM   #7
masteryoda34
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,384
Default

First, realize that you have not been clearly stating your question, which makes answering it very difficult. You keep switching between calling the variable in question "cluster size", "allocation unit size", and "block size". These are all actual technical terms, but they do not all necessarily mean the same thing. When you keep changing what term you use, you make it very difficult for someone to understand what you are actually trying to ask. You've also been referring to the size in question as "4096 MB", "4 MB", and "4K". 4096 MB is of course very different than 4K. Again, it makes it difficult to understand your actual question.

Next, let's clarify some terms. The parameter you are asking about (allocation unit size, see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Data_cluster) is a parameter of the file system, not of the hard drive. The "4K" hard drive parameter you are referring to is called the sector size (see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Disk_sector). These are different (albeit related) things.

Finally, let's answer your question. HD Tune is designed to measure the performance of the hard disk, not the performance of the file system. When HD Tune reads from the disk, it bypasses the file system and reads blocks directly from the disk. Therefore, the setting you use for allocation unit size in the NTFS file system format dialog (what you posted screenshots of) will have no impact on the results you get with HD Tune. You can verify that the file system is irrelevant to HD Tune by running HD Tune on a hard disk with no file system at all. I do not know for sure if Atto works the same way, but in all likelihood it does.
masteryoda34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:06 AM   #8
John Connor
Diamond Member
 
John Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Somewhere with an encrypted radio mocking the NSA
Posts: 8,156
Default

Well, that doesn't make any sense becasue when I compressed my C drive and ran Atto my speeds flew through the roof. So it must depend on the file system...
John Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:27 AM   #9
masteryoda34
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,384
Default

I said I didn't know about Atto.
masteryoda34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.