Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Merchandise and Shopping > Hot Deals

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2012, 07:39 AM   #1
allisolm
Administrator
Elite Member
 
allisolm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallahassee
Posts: 18,516
Default Cheap laptop @ Target - $259

Dec 2, 2012 ad

Target has a Gateway/Acer 15.6", 500GB, 4GB mem, HDMI, Win 8 laptop for $259.

Here. Model NE56R27u

Looks like in-store.
allisolm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 08:01 AM   #2
Roland00Address
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 880
Default

Good Processor for the price (sandy bridge Pentium)
4gb of memory with 1 slot open if you want to go dual channel
You are not going to get faster graphics in this price range unless you buy refurbished. Anything with intel hd 4000 or a8 is going to cost at least 350 (aka at least 33% more).

Passmark rating here
http://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu.php?...60+%40+2.20GHz

Similar desktop processor is here if you want to use anandtech bench. It has the same architecture, same ghz, but 3 mbs of l3 cache instead of 2 mbs of l3 cache
http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/407
The processor scores pretty much the same as an e8200 or e8300 does with graphics that are as capable of playing any hd video out there.

--------------------------------------

That said the screen is crappy but all laptops in this price range will have crappy screens.
Roland00Address is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 08:28 AM   #3
mazeroth
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,686
Default

I searched for Target stores throughout most of Ohio and not a single one. Thanks anyhow.
__________________
i5 2500k, PNY GTX 770, Shimian 27" IPS 2560x1440

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47880
mazeroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 08:53 AM   #4
CallMeJoe
Diamond Member
 
CallMeJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Palmetto State
Posts: 6,936
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mazeroth View Post
I searched for Target stores throughout most of Ohio and not a single one. Thanks anyhow.
Target's store search is indeed bollixed. Apparently the store 3 miles from me disappeared last night, as did all the other stores in South and North Carolina.


edit: it seems the stores are only missing from the product search engine.
__________________
No one in this world has ever lost money by underestimating the intelligence of the great masses of the plain people.
Nor has anyone ever lost public office thereby.

H. L. Mencken

Last edited by CallMeJoe; 12-02-2012 at 08:56 AM.
CallMeJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 10:15 AM   #5
Sonikku
Diamond Member
 
Sonikku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,192
Default

As I was skimming down the page I thought this title said "Cheap Labor @ Target" and was about to see what I could get done for $259.

Nice budget laptop though.
Sonikku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 10:18 AM   #6
froster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Just picked up one for my daughter. The price/performance and match for what she's using it for is perfect.

Thanks for posting!
froster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 12:54 PM   #7
maniacalpha1-1
Diamond Member
 
maniacalpha1-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,015
Default

Got this - windows 8 blows but at least it's better than a tablet since I have mouse and keyboard. So far seems plenty fast enough for the web browsing, watching youtube etc.
__________________
Join the Planetside 2 Reddit at http://www.reddit.com/r/Planetside/
and PSU IRC Chat at http://www.planetside-universe.com/girchat.php
maniacalpha1-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 01:05 PM   #8
Annon2255
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maniacalpha1-1 View Post
Got this - windows 8 blows but at least it's better than a tablet since I have mouse and keyboard. So far seems plenty fast enough for the web browsing, watching youtube etc.
You'll get used to Windows 8. I'm enjoying it way more than 7 now that I'm used to it. Congrats on the good deal, btw.
Annon2255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 03:42 PM   #9
SunRey
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,189
Default

Thank You!
__________________
SunRey
SunRey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 01:41 AM   #10
kyang357
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11
Default

got one for a gift. not bad for under $300.
kyang357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:55 PM   #11
Muse
Lifer
 
Muse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Under the rainbow over Berkeley
Posts: 13,961
Default

I noticed this Sunday in Target's ad, got my attention. An HDMI port is nice, I figure you can use that for an external monitor. I had a pretty cheap (not this cheap, I guess) Acer (also had an HDMI port, got it at Best Buy) that died shortly after the 1 year warranty expired, so I got shy on bargains, bought used Lenovo Thinkpads instead. If I needed another laptop, I might jump this deal, though. I could maybe use another, but I'd want it smaller than this. I have to consider this, though, use one of my Thinkpads for a tote. Could I slip an SSD in this easily? Got my first one (Intel 520 120GB OEM in the mail today). Guess I could maybe use Intel's Acronis utility to clone to HD to the SSD.

The Acer deal I got in early July 2009 was this:

Acer Aspire AMD QL62 3GB Ram 250GB HDD Webcam 15.6" LCD HDMI for $329.99 @ BB B&M Only
__________________
Quotations on happiness!

Last edited by Muse; 12-04-2012 at 09:11 PM.
Muse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 11:26 PM   #12
Muse
Lifer
 
Muse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Under the rainbow over Berkeley
Posts: 13,961
Default

Hard to find right now, OOS is what I'm told around here.
__________________
Quotations on happiness!
Muse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.