Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2012, 07:56 PM   #1
MonKENy
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,676
Default need equal or greater router than this

http://www.amazon.com/Cisco-Linksys-...ords=WRVS4400N

if you can point me to a better router with the same specs and the same or cheaper it would be great. I need to find something for our offices and need it here by thursday at least but no later than friday.

Thanks guys and gals
__________________
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=68216

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz ♦ GPU: GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 ♦ RAM: WINTEC AMPX 8GB DDR3 1333 ♦ Motherboard: ASRock M3A770DE AM3 AMD 770 ATX ♦ HDD : Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb ♦ PSU CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-650TX 650W ♦ Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit/
MonKENy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:41 PM   #2
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,430
Default

The WRVS4400N is a specialty Router that include aspects that are nor common in less expensive end-User Wireless Routers (like VPN and RADIUS).

You have to specify what are the specific needs of your office if you want a credible answer.

Some features can be achieved by using a sub $100 Wireless Router that is flashed with DD-WRT. However you have to be savvy in this issue in order to do what is needed.


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:45 PM   #3
MonKENy
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,676
Default

I think it just needs VPN capabilities. Just networking 2 small offices together. I have no idea what type of special capabilities this might have that we need or dont need.
__________________
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=68216

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz ♦ GPU: GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 ♦ RAM: WINTEC AMPX 8GB DDR3 1333 ♦ Motherboard: ASRock M3A770DE AM3 AMD 770 ATX ♦ HDD : Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb ♦ PSU CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-650TX 650W ♦ Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit/
MonKENy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:51 PM   #4
drebo
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,599
Default

Juniper SRX100. Far superior.
__________________
"All men are not created equal, and if you believe they are, there's something seriously wrong with you. Some men are destined for greatness. Most aren't. End of story." - Jose Canseco
drebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 06:06 AM   #5
boomhower
Diamond Member
 
boomhower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MonKENy View Post
I have no idea what type of special capabilities this might have that we need or dont need.
I'm not trying to be funny, but if you don't know what the needs are why are you sourcing the router?
__________________
heat
boomhower is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:06 PM   #6
MonKENy
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,676
Default

cause unfortunately I have no one else to do it for me.
__________________
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=68216

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz ♦ GPU: GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 ♦ RAM: WINTEC AMPX 8GB DDR3 1333 ♦ Motherboard: ASRock M3A770DE AM3 AMD 770 ATX ♦ HDD : Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb ♦ PSU CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-650TX 650W ♦ Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit/
MonKENy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 05:07 PM   #7
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MonKENy View Post
cause unfortunately I have no one else to do it for me.
Then I would say.

Option 1. Spend sometime and learn the issues, then (if needed) come wit a specific question.

Option 2. Buy a more expensive device like the Juniper to cover security and VPN, and add to it Access Points to get Wireless.

It will be more expensive, but that is the usual fate of ignorance, it costs more.


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 08:33 PM   #8
MonKENy
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,676
Default

If i had the time I would. I honestly dont but thats ok I went with the non wireless version of that router. We have AP already so ill just use them
__________________
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=68216

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz ♦ GPU: GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 ♦ RAM: WINTEC AMPX 8GB DDR3 1333 ♦ Motherboard: ASRock M3A770DE AM3 AMD 770 ATX ♦ HDD : Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb ♦ PSU CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-650TX 650W ♦ Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit/
MonKENy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 02:28 AM   #9
Gowie
Junior Member
 
Gowie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 4
Default

Cisco EA4500 / EA6500
Gowie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 02:39 PM   #10
MonKENy
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,676
Default

thanks guys. I went with

http://www.amazon.com/Cisco-RVS4000-.../dp/B000GQXFUK

not the best but certainly fit the budget.
__________________
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=68216

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz ♦ GPU: GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 ♦ RAM: WINTEC AMPX 8GB DDR3 1333 ♦ Motherboard: ASRock M3A770DE AM3 AMD 770 ATX ♦ HDD : Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb ♦ PSU CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-650TX 650W ♦ Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit/
MonKENy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.