Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2012, 09:57 PM   #226
StinkyPinky
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: A sandpit with casinos
Posts: 4,888
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skipsneeky2 View Post
Anyone playing this on a 7850 or 7870 at 1080p or 1200p and if so what settings and what fps?

I play on a 7870/2500K and it runs very nicely with custom settings at 1080p with most things set to ultra, except post processing which I set to high. Sorry, don't know the exact FPS but it is smooth.
__________________
Intel i7 4790K, GIGABYTE Z97X-UD5H, 16GB G.SKILL Ares DDR3 1866MHz , ASUS R9 280X DirectCU II TOP 3GB, Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB + 3 x 1TB Samsung F3, 1 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda. Windows 8.1 Pro

Late 2013 13" Macbook Pro, Intel Core i5-4258U 2.4Ghz, Intel Iris 5100 GPU, 8GB ram, 256GB SSD
StinkyPinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 10:45 PM   #227
skulkingghost
Golden Member
 
skulkingghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LessThanDan View Post
So probably not until late tonight, then?

Ah well. I had to RMA my video card and the replacement is coming on Wednesday, so I won't be able to play 'til then anyway.
Word is 10am PST tomorrow :-(
skulkingghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:31 AM   #228
Soundmanred
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Czelktik, Uzbenistaz
Posts: 10,664
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimrawr View Post
How come no ones talking about the multiplayer? I know farcry is really a single player experience, but the vids I saw on youtube this multiplayer actually looks sweet.. Has anyone tried it?
Piracy = no multiplayer (usually)
__________________
Nothing like doing a little meth and defending the honor of lions on the internet. NOTHING.
Soundmanred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:52 AM   #229
moonbogg
Diamond Member
 
moonbogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimrawr View Post
How come no ones talking about the multiplayer? I know farcry is really a single player experience, but the vids I saw on youtube this multiplayer actually looks sweet.. Has anyone tried it?
Because it is buggy and doesn't work. You sit in a lobby forever and nothing happens.
__________________
3930K @ 4.3 - 16GB DDR3 @ 1600 - 2X GTX 670 SLI(2GB) - SAMSUNG 830 SSD - 1920X1080 @ 120HZ - WINDOWS 8.1
moonbogg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 03:16 AM   #230
VulgarDisplay
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,909
Default

My VPN trial has expired =(


No FC3 until tomorrow for me.

EDIT: Turns out you don't need the VPN after you unlock it. Just keep steam offline and Uplay is fine.

Last edited by VulgarDisplay; 12-04-2012 at 04:30 AM.
VulgarDisplay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 03:18 AM   #231
badb0y
Diamond Member
 
badb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,798
Default

I am working on Dishonored but this game has shot up to the top of my backlog followed by The Walking Dead.
__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.4 ghz with NH-D14 - GTX 780 SLI (Stock) - 12GB DDR3 1600 G.Skill Ripjaws RAM - SilverStone SG10 - NZXT Hale90 750W PSU -ASUS Maximus V Gene - Crucial MX100 512GB
Heatware: badboydiablo 23-0-0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil deGrasse Tyson
God is an ever-receding pocket of scientific ignorance.
badb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 07:21 AM   #232
gorcorps
aka Brandon
 
gorcorps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South Bend
Posts: 25,797
Default

You guys are making me want it

must... resist... need gifts for family to buy
__________________
-So sayeth Brandon, knower of things
PSN: gorcorps|||Steam: gorcorps
HEATWARE
gorcorps is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 07:49 AM   #233
lavaheadache
Diamond Member
 
lavaheadache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Cod MA
Posts: 6,517
Default

I was hoping to be able to wake up, start downloading before work, start playing when I get home from work... looks like that didn't happen.
__________________
Video Card Specialist

sell me your 5950 Ultra

Heat 137-0-0 heatware 1 percentile
lavaheadache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 07:58 AM   #234
ShadowOfMyself
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,223
Default

^

Get it, its totally worth it

12 hours in and Im at about 50%, though I havent bothered with relics/letters yet
Whenever I fire up the game I end up playing 3-4hours... Its just so hard to stop playing

The only bad thing about the game is the awful checkpoint system... It has made me rage quite a few times already, where I go exploring for half hour then get attacked by a tiger out of nowhere, and there goes my progress

Or this one time where I left the mission area to take over an outpost, because it was really close to where I was... Just as I finish securing it, I get mission failed and game loads back at the last checkpoint, without the outpost, sigh...
__________________
Let's say we're advanced enough in few thousands years. And we simply build a stick that's 2.5 LY long. And then simply move it 5 inches forward. It is fully testable.
ShadowOfMyself is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:00 AM   #235
jimrawr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 798
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moonbogg View Post
Because it is buggy and doesn't work. You sit in a lobby forever and nothing happens.
Aww that sucks. Are you playing the legit version? Maybe today when its released it will be playable
jimrawr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:00 AM   #236
TechBoyJK
Lifer
 
TechBoyJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 13,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowOfMyself View Post
^

Get it, its totally worth it

12 hours in and Im at about 50%, though I havent bothered with relics/letters yet
Whenever I fire up the game I end up playing 3-4hours... Its just so hard to stop playing

The only bad thing about the game is the awful checkpoint system... It has made me rage quite a few times already, where I go exploring for half hour then get attacked by a tiger out of nowhere, and there goes my progress

Or this one time where I left the mission area to take over an outpost, because it was really close to where I was... Just as I finish securing it, I get mission failed and game loads back at the last checkpoint, without the outpost, sigh...
I think the checkpoint system could be a lot worse. I understand some of the missions are so scripted you can't really free roam save them, so there has to be checkpoints. They did a nice job compromising.

I've wondered the jungle for over an our, skinning, hunting, etc. but not doing anything that caused a save and then BAM. Face eaten off by a tiger.

Sucks, but that fear I have wondering the jungle because of this stuff makes the gaming experience more real to me. You have to fear the jungle. You can't just wonder out there.

I found myself sitting in a 'safe' spot in the woods. No bad guys, couldn't hear any critters. I got up to to go the bathroom and stopped myself thinking 'wtf, dude animals roam, you can't just sit there'. Granted, I just hit ESC to pause it, but yea you cant just hangout in the jungle.
__________________
Originally posted by: n0cmonkey
You're being difficult. You have not provided us with the information we need to troubleshoot the problem. You have not given us errors, you're vague about where the problem is, you are not answering the questions we ask. In short, you DON'T KNOW HOW TO THINK. Give back that piece of paper you think makes your intelligent, apologize, destroy your computer and go live in the woods kid.
TechBoyJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:05 AM   #237
TechBoyJK
Lifer
 
TechBoyJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 13,526
Default

The main bad guy, Vaas, his voice actor was the model for the game character. Side effect? HE can play the bad guy in real life. They are making funny vids of him already.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xQ3cisZyb98
__________________
Originally posted by: n0cmonkey
You're being difficult. You have not provided us with the information we need to troubleshoot the problem. You have not given us errors, you're vague about where the problem is, you are not answering the questions we ask. In short, you DON'T KNOW HOW TO THINK. Give back that piece of paper you think makes your intelligent, apologize, destroy your computer and go live in the woods kid.
TechBoyJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:06 AM   #238
Soundmanred
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Czelktik, Uzbenistaz
Posts: 10,664
Default

Sneaking up on bad guys from a distance with little ammo, trying to figure out who to kill first...along comes a tiger into the camp/area.
Problem solved.
__________________
Nothing like doing a little meth and defending the honor of lions on the internet. NOTHING.
Soundmanred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:39 AM   #239
CVSiN
Diamond Member
 
CVSiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 9,308
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowOfMyself View Post
^

Get it, its totally worth it

12 hours in and Im at about 50%, though I havent bothered with relics/letters yet
Whenever I fire up the game I end up playing 3-4hours... Its just so hard to stop playing

The only bad thing about the game is the awful checkpoint system... It has made me rage quite a few times already, where I go exploring for half hour then get attacked by a tiger out of nowhere, and there goes my progress

Or this one time where I left the mission area to take over an outpost, because it was really close to where I was... Just as I finish securing it, I get mission failed and game loads back at the last checkpoint, without the outpost, sigh...
quicksave is your friend.
use it.
and stay on mission during missions once you enter the mission area you no longer can save.

game does have a quicksave system for PC.
The only time you cannot use it is during a mission.
it saves char state and world state.

you will spawn at the closest safe area you control when you use it though.

but thats no big deal at all.
__________________
Originally posted by: AnandTech Moderator
Missing unwritten rules are a bannable offense!

"Religion is regarded by the common people as true, by the wise as false, and by the rulers as useful."
- Seneca (4 b.c.- 65 a.d.)





CVSiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 10:48 AM   #240
moonbogg
Diamond Member
 
moonbogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,921
Default

Yes I think there is an F key for quick save, otherwise hit escape and click save. It saves your roaming/looting progress and everything, they just make you go by checkpoints during the core missions, which is a great compromise IMO. I can't find anything wrong with the game. The closest thing to something wrong is that sometimes enemies respawn during SOME missions, but even this just makes it challenging or gives you more peeps to frag. Afterall, why should torching a drug dealers weed fields be easy? (bitchin mission BTW)

Also, I will post it again because my pig killing skills are awesome. Watch in HD. Crank the volume to hear the epic dramatic pig grilling music effects.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S4GCCUAk8mM
__________________
3930K @ 4.3 - 16GB DDR3 @ 1600 - 2X GTX 670 SLI(2GB) - SAMSUNG 830 SSD - 1920X1080 @ 120HZ - WINDOWS 8.1

Last edited by moonbogg; 12-04-2012 at 10:51 AM.
moonbogg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:43 PM   #241
Childs
Diamond Member
 
Childs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,889
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lavaheadache View Post
I was hoping to be able to wake up, start downloading before work, start playing when I get home from work... looks like that didn't happen.
I got the download email 10:05AM PST.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TechBoyJK View Post
The main bad guy, Vaas, his voice actor was the model for the game character. Side effect? HE can play the bad guy in real life. They are making funny vids of him already.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xQ3cisZyb98
hahahahahhahaha Vas on snorkeling...
__________________
i7-3770k@4.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti OC 3GB * 840 Pro 512GB * 24" Asus VG248QE 144Hz
Mac Mini i7 2.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * 840 Pro 512GB * 27" Dell U2711
Origin name: tT-Childs

Last edited by Childs; 12-04-2012 at 12:47 PM.
Childs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:00 PM   #242
Dankk
Diamond Member
 
Dankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mormonville, Utah
Posts: 5,200
Default

For those who got the game from Ubishop/for free with your video card, check your email if you haven't already. Download's up.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 4.2GHz | HIS iPower IceQ X R9 290X
MSI 990FXA-GD80 V2 | G.SKILL 16GB DDR3 1600
Kingston HyperX 120GB SSD | Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB HD

Steam
Dankk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:40 PM   #243
Childs
Diamond Member
 
Childs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,889
Default

Download the main game, install, launch, download 1.0.1 patch, install, launch uplay, launch game, install 1.0.2 patch, then finally you can play. Reminds me of the old days of PC gaming before Steam.
__________________
i7-3770k@4.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti OC 3GB * 840 Pro 512GB * 24" Asus VG248QE 144Hz
Mac Mini i7 2.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * 840 Pro 512GB * 27" Dell U2711
Origin name: tT-Childs
Childs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:42 PM   #244
moonbogg
Diamond Member
 
moonbogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,921
Default

Happy US release day! You guys will love it.
__________________
3930K @ 4.3 - 16GB DDR3 @ 1600 - 2X GTX 670 SLI(2GB) - SAMSUNG 830 SSD - 1920X1080 @ 120HZ - WINDOWS 8.1
moonbogg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 02:27 PM   #245
gorcorps
aka Brandon
 
gorcorps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South Bend
Posts: 25,797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CVSiN View Post
quicksave is your friend.
use it.
and stay on mission during missions once you enter the mission area you no longer can save.

game does have a quicksave system for PC.
The only time you cannot use it is during a mission.
it saves char state and world state.

you will spawn at the closest safe area you control when you use it though.

but thats no big deal at all.
Sounds like how a lot of free roam games are. All the GTA games were like this (always started in a safe house), Sleeping Dogs, Saints Row 3, Just Cause 2, plus more.

Seems like the save system was blown pretty out of proportion.
__________________
-So sayeth Brandon, knower of things
PSN: gorcorps|||Steam: gorcorps
HEATWARE
gorcorps is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 03:32 PM   #246
VulgarDisplay
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,909
Default

So there was was walking next to a river. All the sudden a crocodile comes flying out of the water and gets me lol. I actually screamed when it happened haha.

Another hilarious occurence was when I saw a friendly NPC down by the water and all the sudden I hear SPLASH. Crocodile drug him out into the water. 10 seconds later his body floats up to the surface lol.

Dogs in camps are also really annoying. I'm trying to be billy sneaking badass and they always ruin in.
VulgarDisplay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 03:51 PM   #247
CVSiN
Diamond Member
 
CVSiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 9,308
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VulgarDisplay View Post
So there was was walking next to a river. All the sudden a crocodile comes flying out of the water and gets me lol. I actually screamed when it happened haha.

Another hilarious occurence was when I saw a friendly NPC down by the water and all the sudden I hear SPLASH. Crocodile drug him out into the water. 10 seconds later his body floats up to the surface lol.

Dogs in camps are also really annoying. I'm trying to be billy sneaking badass and they always ruin in.

that is the animal I didnt want to spoil

yeh EVERY TIME I jump out of my skin..


and yes I love that the animals hate everyone equally..
that adds so much life to the game.
__________________
Originally posted by: AnandTech Moderator
Missing unwritten rules are a bannable offense!

"Religion is regarded by the common people as true, by the wise as false, and by the rulers as useful."
- Seneca (4 b.c.- 65 a.d.)





CVSiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 04:32 PM   #248
Childs
Diamond Member
 
Childs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,889
Default

The game looks pretty good without AA, but there seems to be some kind of motion blurring going on. Anyone know what setting controls this?
__________________
i7-3770k@4.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti OC 3GB * 840 Pro 512GB * 24" Asus VG248QE 144Hz
Mac Mini i7 2.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * 840 Pro 512GB * 27" Dell U2711
Origin name: tT-Childs

Last edited by Childs; 12-04-2012 at 06:45 PM.
Childs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 04:58 PM   #249
BlueWeasel
Lifer
 
BlueWeasel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Tupelo
Posts: 15,397
Default

Edit the XML file under \My Documents\My Games\Far Cry 3
http://i4.minus.com/ibqyk1G5hUfQpq.png
__________________
Desktop:: 2500K@4.7Ghz/ 7950/16GB RAM/CM690/120GB SSD/3.0TB Storage/Win8.1
Laptop:: Macbook Air (2012)/128GB SSD/8GB RAM
Heatware 158-0-0
BlueWeasel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 05:48 PM   #250
GSquadron
Member
 
GSquadron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 170
Default

Far Cry 3 review is ready!
http://www.anothergames.com/reviews/fcr
GSquadron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.