Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2012, 08:58 AM   #1
BrightCandle
Diamond Member
 
BrightCandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,353
Default [H] Yet again say SLI is smoother than crossfire

I stopped using my Crossfire 7970's months ago before the "magic" drivers were released. It seems that HardOCP agrees that SLI still feels smoother despite the Ghz bios and the magic upgrades in performance.

Quote:
Per usual, there is more than just performance, i.e. framerates, when determining the "best" platform for gaming. We of course speak about the real-world "feel" of gaming between SLI and CrossFireX on a multi-display setup. There is no question that SLI feels smoother, thanks to the added technology that NVIDIA employs to address this very topic
From http://www.hardocp.com/article/2012/...lay_showdown/7

Admittedly the 7970's beat the 680's in FPS, no question about it. There is something wrong with AMDs crossfire implementation however, it shouldn't produce so much stutter. I wonder if their additional frames are coming from choosing stuttering to get better benchmarks. Its the sort of trade off they might take to win but which negatively impacts their customers.
__________________
i7 3930k @4.4, 2xMSI GTX 680, 16GB Corsair 2133 RAM, Crucial m4 500GB, Soundblaster Z
Custom watercooled by 2x MCR 320 and 1 MCR 480
Zowie Evo CL EC2, Corsair K70, Benq XL2411T
BrightCandle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:06 AM   #2
Skurge
Diamond Member
 
Skurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Namibia
Posts: 4,900
Default

You switched from Crossfire to SLI, so yuo should know from personal experience which is smoother.

EDIT: That was actually suppose to be a question if which you felt was smoother.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K |MSI Z97-Gaming 5|32GB DDR3-1600|Gigabyte R9 290 Windforce CF [stock]|Samsung SSD 840 Evo 500GB|Corsair AX860 PSU|Corsair 750D|Windows 8.1 Pro|Samsung U28D590D|Logitech G27 Racing Wheel|Nexus 5 32GB

Last edited by Skurge; 12-04-2012 at 09:19 AM.
Skurge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:15 AM   #3
Jaydip
Diamond Member
 
Jaydip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,284
Default

My first experience with Crossfire was 4870X2 which was horrible.Later I had 470 SLI, performance was good but the heat and noise was unbearable.I will probably pickup another 7950 for my brother to see how it fares today.
__________________
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit || i7 4770K @ 4.2 with CM V6-GT || MSI Z87 GD 65||MSI Gaming N780 TF 3GD5/OC GeForce GTX 780|| Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 || WD Cavier Black 1TB FAEX X2|| HAF-X || Corsair TX750 V2 ||AL MX 5021E || DELL U2713HM||SideWinder X4||Razer DA
Jaydip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:22 AM   #4
videogames101
Diamond Member
 
videogames101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 52375
Posts: 6,110
Default

Isn't there a thread which describes a tool to enable the same kind of frame limiting Nvidia uses to eliminate stutter for Xfire?

edit: frame metering

i'm not sure what the difference is though haha, sounds like a fancy frame limiter reading about it - someone might explain the difference for me
__________________
3570K
HD7870 (Tahiti LE)

Last edited by videogames101; 12-04-2012 at 10:17 AM.
videogames101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:24 AM   #5
Jaydip
Diamond Member
 
Jaydip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,284
Default

yeah RadeonPro
__________________
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit || i7 4770K @ 4.2 with CM V6-GT || MSI Z87 GD 65||MSI Gaming N780 TF 3GD5/OC GeForce GTX 780|| Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 || WD Cavier Black 1TB FAEX X2|| HAF-X || Corsair TX750 V2 ||AL MX 5021E || DELL U2713HM||SideWinder X4||Razer DA
Jaydip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:35 AM   #6
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,486
Default

Nvidia uses frame metering, not frame limiting. Big difference. I would like to see a thorough investigation with some advanced equipment and tools by some site. [H] mentioned something months ago about getting some tools from NV and buying specialized equipment to that purpose, but nothing ever came of it, sadly. At least so far.
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:39 AM   #7
Skurge
Diamond Member
 
Skurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Namibia
Posts: 4,900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxleitnerb View Post
Nvidia uses frame metering, not frame limiting. Big difference. I would like to see a thorough investigation with some advanced equipment and tools by some site. [H] mentioned something months ago about getting some tools from NV and buying specialized equipment to that purpose, but nothing ever came of it, sadly. At least so far.
One of EU sites will probably get it done 1st. Will just have to keep an eye on them.

Edit: Just noticed they said Xfire is as smooth given enough FPS, so I would assume they would want to run the 7970s at lower setting to get higher FPS so it's as smooth as SLI. I wonder why they didn't do that.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K |MSI Z97-Gaming 5|32GB DDR3-1600|Gigabyte R9 290 Windforce CF [stock]|Samsung SSD 840 Evo 500GB|Corsair AX860 PSU|Corsair 750D|Windows 8.1 Pro|Samsung U28D590D|Logitech G27 Racing Wheel|Nexus 5 32GB

Last edited by Skurge; 12-04-2012 at 09:47 AM.
Skurge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:42 AM   #8
Ferzerp
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: B̿̄ͬͮͦ͐̐̂̌̂͛̓̃̔̈́̓
Posts: 5,160
Default

Don't you know you aren't allowed to mention this, BrightCandle

You must be an nvidia fanboy if you do (according to some), even if in the same post you point out the single gpu amd>nvidia right now.

Last edited by Ferzerp; 12-04-2012 at 02:33 PM.
Ferzerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 10:17 AM   #9
p_monks33
Golden Member
 
p_monks33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tulsa OK.
Posts: 1,006
Default

I have 7970 crossfire now, I used to have GTX 680 SLI. I do believe that SLI was a bit smoother throughout some titles, but suffered in others due to memory limitations maybe. Alan wake ran poorly for me with SLI at 5760x1080 so I opted for a 7970 setup and Alan wake ran great. Then I got sleeping dogs and it stutters and runs terribly on my 7970s and I hear it runs well on SLI. I think its a game by game basis how smooth things look. I do believe if Nvidia had more memory bandwidth for extreme resolutions I would have chosen to stick to the 680s , but it is what it is
__________________
Heatware
Corsair 750D , I7 4770K 4.4Ghz , Maximus Formula VI,
EK Water Cooled DC2 GTX 780, EK Pump/Res , 500GB Samsung 840, 1000w EVGA SuperNova PSU, 30" Monoprice IPS.
p_monks33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 10:18 AM   #10
Ferzerp
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: B̿̄ͬͮͦ͐̐̂̌̂͛̓̃̔̈́̓
Posts: 5,160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by p_monks33 View Post
Alan wake ran poorly for me with SLI at 5760x1080
The default nvidia profile for alan wake is messed up, or at least was for ages.
Ferzerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 10:29 AM   #11
Elfear
VC&G Moderator
 
Elfear's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 6,114
Default

Yet again [H] failed to at least try RadeonPro. Multiple people in their forums have asked them to try using it but so far nothing.

That's not to say AMD shouldn't have a better solution out already for microstutter but there are simple tools available to counteract it.
__________________
4770k@4.7Ghz | Maximus VI Hero | 2x290@1150/1450 | 16GB DDR3 | Custom H20
Elfear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 11:08 AM   #12
BD231
Diamond Member
 
BD231's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 9,527
Default

3rd party software shouldnt be required to get ur hardware running correctly and technically speaking Sli/crossfire are both broken because of microstutter. We can fly to the moon but nobody can get two gpus working together, makes no sense.
__________________
2550k @ 4.7 - Gene-Z ROG - 7970 - 8gb @ 2133

DEATH TO GANGSTALKERS. MAY YOU ALL DIE A SLOW AND PAINFUL DEATH.
BD231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 11:41 AM   #13
VulgarDisplay
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,696
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BD231 View Post
3rd party software shouldnt be required to get ur hardware running correctly and technically speaking Sli/crossfire are both broken because of microstutter. We can fly to the moon but nobody can get two gpus working together, makes no sense.
Have you seen the frame time charts using RadeonPro in crossfire? It's actually smoother than a single card.
VulgarDisplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 11:54 AM   #14
omeds
Senior Member
 
omeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 596
Default

Yeh and you can get the same results with SLI by using a frame cap too..
omeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 11:56 AM   #15
blastingcap
Diamond Member
 
blastingcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,773
Default

Can we PLEASE resolve this once and for all? Can Ryan or someone on forums buy a Nikon J1 or V1 and take ultra-slow motion videos of the frames as they go by and graph the frame times as they pop out? I know it depends on other things including the monitor, but all else equal if there is a major difference we'd like to know it. TechReport admitted that their method of accounting for frame times was incomplete and that there were other steps on the chain from GPU to monitor... so that implies the only way to get accurate user-experience time of frame time is via high-speed camera and playing back in slow motion and counting the frames that way.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoFox View Post
We had to suffer polygonal boobs for a decade because of selfish corporate reasons.
Main: 3570K + R9 290 + 16GB 1866 + AsRock Extreme4 Z77 + Eyefinity 5760x1080 eIPS
blastingcap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:15 PM   #16
Jacky60
Senior Member
 
Jacky60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 985
Default

I'd love to experience both systems with contemporary drivers and wish they had empirical data to back up their subjective impressions. I know how effective marketing dollars are at affecting subjectivity with journalists. If they're going to talk of such subjectivity ( As a marketeer if I wanted to make them subjective I'd give each of them a top of the line 680 SLI rig to keep) they should at least measure frame intervals as per some other sites (tech-report?) to give their subjectivity a bit of credence. We seem to mostly want better analysis so that 'subjectivity' can be removed.
__________________
4770K@4.7Ghz, 290 tri-fire 1000/1375 MSI Z87GD65 2133Mhz/840Pro256, EVGA G2 1300W, I7 920@4.0ghz, 6990x2, HAF 932,Vertex 2 50gb, 120GB SSD. 16GB 1600Mhz Hanns.G 28in Enermax Revolution+ 1250W
'He who goes in search of garden always look forlorn'

Last edited by Jacky60; 12-04-2012 at 12:19 PM.
Jacky60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:40 PM   #17
notty22
Diamond Member
 
notty22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beantown
Posts: 3,287
Default

I knew it would be brought up. Hey if you are happy with your setup, that's all that counts. This idea that Nvidia 'markets' their way to success is lame. They don't do Apple like commercials, they sponsor gaming LAN events, fund game development, proactive driver support.

Marketing shenanigans! You Nvid-sheeple! /sarcasm
__________________
I5 750@3940mhz , Gigabyte p55 ud4p
1600mhz ddr3 4GB
GTX 660 2gb SC
Let's make sure history never forgets... the name... 'Enterprise'. Picard out.
notty22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:56 PM   #18
KingFatty
Platinum Member
 
KingFatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,498
Default

Marketing can help someone become happy with their setup, regardless of actual performance. It has a measurable benefit on a person's subjective enjoyment of his/her system.

But if you have hard data, that can immunize a person from marketing bias. If someone makes a claim/advertising that is backed-up by hard facts, that is even better.
KingFatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:58 PM   #19
Lepton87
Golden Member
 
Lepton87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Poland(EU)
Posts: 1,646
Default

They didn't bother to use Radeon pro, because it would invalidate their nv sponsored subjective feelings. Maybe they should add another pair of 7970s for a quad fire, I've heard that MS gets less annoying the more cards you have. I can't see any of that MS in games that properly support Quad-Fire.
__________________
i5 2600K@4778MHz(47x101.7MHz) 1.45V,Noctua NH-D14, Asus Maximus IV Extreme, 8GB Corsair 1866MHz, Gigabyte GTX Titan, Sandforce 2 120GB + Sandforce 1 60GB 2x2TB WD Caviar, BE Quiet 1200W, dell u2711
Lepton87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:02 PM   #20
Silverforce11
Diamond Member
 
Silverforce11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,443
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BD231 View Post
3rd party software shouldnt be required to get ur hardware running correctly and technically speaking Sli/crossfire are both broken because of microstutter. We can fly to the moon but nobody can get two gpus working together, makes no sense.
Assuming that gamers that even notice microstutter are the minority, the niche so to speak. I'm sure someone who gets amazing perf/$ with 2x OC 7950s or even 7970s vs 680 SLI is willing to spend 2 minutes downloading a commonly used 3rd party tool...

I mean we all already use some form of hardware monitoring right? Or fan profiles, OC profiles etc etc.

But as ive said in other threads, AMD needs to implement this option in their official drivers. That a single guy can make it work and AMD's driver team cant says a lot.
__________________

Rig 1: 3570K | Z77 E4 | Crossfire R290 | 840 250GB + 840EVO 250GB | 8GB G.Skill Ares 2133 | OCZ 850W Gold+ | Nanoxia DS1 | Ghetto Water
Hobby: Mobile Game Dev & Cryptocoin day-trader
Silverforce11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:02 PM   #21
Keysplayr
Elite Member
 
Keysplayr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 19,555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lepton87 View Post
They didn't bother to use Radeon pro, because it would invalidate their nv sponsored subjective feelings. Maybe they should add another pair of 7970s for a quad fire, I've heard that MS gets less annoying the more cards you have. I can't see any of that MS in games that properly support Quad-Fire.
omg...
__________________
Member of Nvidia Focus Group
NVIDIA Focus Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time
to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the Members.

i5 2500K Asus P-Z68-V/Gen3 Titan Black SLI
Keysplayr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:04 PM   #22
Keysplayr
Elite Member
 
Keysplayr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 19,555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverforce11 View Post
Assuming that gamers that even notice microstutter are the minority, the niche so to speak. I'm sure someone who gets amazing perf/$ with 2x OC 7950s or even 7970s vs 680 SLI is willing to spend 2 minutes downloading a commonly used 3rd party tool...

I mean we all already use some form of hardware monitoring right? Or fan profiles, OC profiles etc etc.

But as ive said in other threads, AMD needs to implement this option in their official drivers. That a single guy can make it work and AMD's driver team cant says a lot.
But doesn't Radeon Pro drastically reduced the fps in order to achieve stability or a more constant frametime? Correct me if I'm wrong because I am not certain nor trying to FUD this up.
__________________
Member of Nvidia Focus Group
NVIDIA Focus Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time
to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the Members.

i5 2500K Asus P-Z68-V/Gen3 Titan Black SLI
Keysplayr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:09 PM   #23
Lepton87
Golden Member
 
Lepton87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Poland(EU)
Posts: 1,646
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keysplayr View Post
But doesn't Radeon Pro drastically reduced the fps in order to achieve stability or a more constant frametime? Correct me if I'm wrong because I am not certain nor trying to FUD this up.
Anything above 60fps on a 60Hz monitor is already excessive, so who cares? Using 120Hz would be another matter entirely but it means settling for a TN panel.
UPDATE: I just saw that you receive free hardware, of course you're biased. No sense talking to you about graphics cards. Other members should also take that to heart.
__________________
i5 2600K@4778MHz(47x101.7MHz) 1.45V,Noctua NH-D14, Asus Maximus IV Extreme, 8GB Corsair 1866MHz, Gigabyte GTX Titan, Sandforce 2 120GB + Sandforce 1 60GB 2x2TB WD Caviar, BE Quiet 1200W, dell u2711

Last edited by Lepton87; 12-04-2012 at 01:12 PM.
Lepton87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:12 PM   #24
Keysplayr
Elite Member
 
Keysplayr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 19,555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lepton87 View Post
Anything above 60fps on a 60Hz monitor is already excessive, so who cares? Using 120Hz would be another matter entirely but it means settling for a TN panel.
Not what I asked. If you don't know, then I'd like to hear from somebody that does. But thanks anyway for trying.
__________________
Member of Nvidia Focus Group
NVIDIA Focus Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time
to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the Members.

i5 2500K Asus P-Z68-V/Gen3 Titan Black SLI
Keysplayr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:14 PM   #25
chimaxi83
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,408
Default

Lol they "feel" it's better using the ultra advanced tools knows as eyeballs, which of course we all know is objective and scientific. Nvidia fanboys lap it up, so good for them I guess.
__________________
Mine: 3770K - MSI Z77 MPower - Gigabyte 290 CF - 16GB Samsung - M4 256GB/Caviar Black 1TB - XFX Core Pro 1050W - NZXT Switch 810 - Auria IPS 27" 2560x1440 - Custom loop
Kiddo: 3770K - MSI Z77A-G43 - 7870 Tahiti LE - 8GB Samsung - M4 64GB/Caviar Black 1TB - Antec Neo Eco 620W - HAF 922
chimaxi83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.