Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Distributed Computing

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2012, 12:41 PM   #51
blckgrffn
Diamond Member
 
blckgrffn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 6,639
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theAnimal View Post
Count me in again.
Awesome
__________________
Crunch/Fold for the TeAm! http://forums.anandtech.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15

3930k @ 4.2 - GA-UP4 - 2x MSI TF3 7950 - 32GB EL RAM - Seasonic X650 - 840 250GB - U2913WM
blckgrffn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 01:32 PM   #52
GLeeM
Elite Member
 
GLeeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NE Minnesota USA
Posts: 6,646
Default

Welcome to the TeAm, Icecold
__________________
Remember to spend time with loved ones.
___________________

i7 920, 3.95 Ghz, HT on, P6T Deluxe V2
43,000+ hours PrimeGrid stable
GLeeM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 02:04 PM   #53
WildW
Senior Member
 
WildW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sevenoaks, UK
Posts: 873
Default

So. . . we're underway?
WildW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 03:10 PM   #54
PCTC2
Diamond Member
 
PCTC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,862
Default

Hmmm.... 16GB of RAM is kind of limited... damn.

SMP 32 is still pretty good.
__________________
-E3200,DG45FC,4GB,SSD - Q6600,GT240,eVGA 680i SLI,4GB - Q9400,8800GTS G92,EP45-UD3P,4GB
-Ci7 920,U2711,GT240,X58 FTW3,12GB,SSD - Ci7 860,HD5670,eVGA P55M,8GB,SSD
-17" MBP Ci5 - Mac Mini Server C2D - Mac Mini Server Ci7
-2x Xeon E5520,SM X8DTH-6F,24GB,ESXi5 - Xeon E3-1220,8TB RAID5,SM X9SCM-F,8GB,SSD -E3300,G43ITX,4GB,7.5TB RAID-Z+SSD
HEATWARE
PCTC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 04:02 PM   #55
ZipSpeed
Golden Member
 
ZipSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 1,150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildW View Post
So. . . we're underway?
I think so.
__________________
PLAY, WORK & CRUNCH
(1) i7 3770K | 7950 (2) i7 2600K | 7870 XT (3) i7 950 | GTX 580 (4) i3 540 | GT 240
CRUNCH
(1) i5 2500K | GTX 480 (2) i7 970 | 5870 (3) Q9550 | 5850 (4) X6 1055T | 2 x GTX 460 (5) i7 3770K | 7950
ZipSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:10 PM   #56
petrusbroder
Lifer
 
petrusbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In Blekinge, the garden of Sweden
Posts: 11,979
Default

Yes, we are; since the past 4 hours.
__________________
Petrusbroder
Shrunk Rapper

"There is an art, it says, or, rather, a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."
From: Douglas Adams: Life, the Universe and Everything: Chapter 9
petrusbroder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:13 PM   #57
Uppsala9496
Diamond Member
 
Uppsala9496's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Madhouse on Madison
Posts: 4,788
Default

Of course there are record high temperatures outside...this will at least save on the heating bill.
__________________
this space is blank
Uppsala9496 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 07:19 PM   #58
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,295
Default

Peter asked me to collect the starting stats since he's out of town at the moment.

Peter, I added theAnimal to the folding firecats but you can change that. I put the data into a shared google spreadsheet which should make it easier to copy the data into your master spreadsheet.

Here's the link to the spreadsheet: Stats

Let me know if I've made any errors.
__________________
Crunch for TeAm AnandTech!!

2600K, GTX780Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX980, Linux, Win8 dual boot
Q9550, GTX660Ti, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux
biodoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 07:34 PM   #59
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,295
Default

It looks like I'll be able to do ~120K ppd if these clients are stable.
__________________
Crunch for TeAm AnandTech!!

2600K, GTX780Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX980, Linux, Win8 dual boot
Q9550, GTX660Ti, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux
biodoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 08:51 PM   #60
Uppsala9496
Diamond Member
 
Uppsala9496's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Madhouse on Madison
Posts: 4,788
Default

You have my total points the same as peters. Mine should be 6,311,200 as of noon central time.
__________________
this space is blank
Uppsala9496 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 09:05 PM   #61
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uppsala9496 View Post
You have my total points the same as peters. Mine should be 6,311,200 as of noon central time.
Corrected. Thanks.
__________________
Crunch for TeAm AnandTech!!

2600K, GTX780Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX980, Linux, Win8 dual boot
Q9550, GTX660Ti, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux
biodoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 09:20 PM   #62
T_Yamamoto
Lifer
 
T_Yamamoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina State University
Posts: 13,779
Default

Folding away
__________________
Intel i5 4430, MSI B85M-P33, Gigabyte Windforce R9 270x, 6GB ram, Intel 530 128gb SSD, WD 160gb HDD, Toshiba Canvio 1tb External HDD, Windows 7, NZXT Vulcan, Dell E2414H, ROCCAT Kova+ Max, TG3 BL82
Mid 2014 13" Macbook Pro, Intel Core i5-4278U 2.6Ghz, Intel Iris 5100 GPU, 8GB ram, 128gb SSD
iPhone 6 16gb CDMA
Heatware | Steam
T_Yamamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 11:32 PM   #63
Pokey
Platinum Member
 
Pokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,322
Default

Thanks for the stats biodoc.

It may take a bit for everyone to get up to speed............but the race is on.
Pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:36 AM   #64
petrusbroder
Lifer
 
petrusbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In Blekinge, the garden of Sweden
Posts: 11,979
Default

Lets keep the teams as they are now for a few datsy - I know that it takes time for the ppd to get stable, for a few more folders to join, and for the computers to get past the first 10 WUs to get more than the most basic points.
Thanks for the stats, biodoc!
I'll do the stats tomorrow (Wednesday) when I am home again!
__________________
Petrusbroder
Shrunk Rapper

"There is an art, it says, or, rather, a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."
From: Douglas Adams: Life, the Universe and Everything: Chapter 9
petrusbroder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 02:16 AM   #65
HutchinsonJC
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 64
Default

The spreadsheet linked in post #58 shows me having 13,213,957 points on the 3rd.

I'm not yet passed 8mil!


This link shows me as having earned 50,070 points on the 3rd with a total points of 7,450,530.

http://stats.free-dc.org/stats.php?p...j=fah&team=198

This means I had 7,400,460 total points if you're not counting the points accumulated on the 3rd, or 7,450,530 if you are.

Based on a quick glance at other people's points in the spread sheet, I think mine should say 7,400,460 in the Dec 3 Points column.

I'm not sure where the discrepancy comes for the ppd for the 3rd. I'm listed for 49549 on the spreadsheet, but the free-dc.org site shows I made 50,070 points on the 3rd. Perhaps it's a time zone issue when the data is collected between various sites! /shrug. In any case, I definitely do not have over 13mil points total!
HutchinsonJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 03:31 AM   #66
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HutchinsonJC View Post
The spreadsheet linked in post #58 shows me having 13,213,957 points on the 3rd.

I'm not yet passed 8mil!


This link shows me as having earned 50,070 points on the 3rd with a total points of 7,450,530.

http://stats.free-dc.org/stats.php?p...j=fah&team=198

This means I had 7,400,460 total points if you're not counting the points accumulated on the 3rd, or 7,450,530 if you are.

Based on a quick glance at other people's points in the spread sheet, I think mine should say 7,400,460 in the Dec 3 Points column.

I'm not sure where the discrepancy comes for the ppd for the 3rd. I'm listed for 49549 on the spreadsheet, but the free-dc.org site shows I made 50,070 points on the 3rd. Perhaps it's a time zone issue when the data is collected between various sites! /shrug. In any case, I definitely do not have over 13mil points total!
Corrected. Guess I should have had the scotch after I collected the numbers!
__________________
Crunch for TeAm AnandTech!!

2600K, GTX780Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX980, Linux, Win8 dual boot
Q9550, GTX660Ti, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux
biodoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 07:23 AM   #67
Pokey
Platinum Member
 
Pokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokey View Post
Thanks for the stats biodoc.

It may take a bit for everyone to get up to speed............but the race is on.
And I didn't forget you petrusbroder...... thanks for taking the time to put this together. I always enjoy our annual get together.
Pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 02:33 PM   #68
theAnimal
Diamond Member
 
theAnimal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: True North
Posts: 3,708
Default

FYI for anyone Folding on nVidia Fermi (& also Kepler I think) there is a beta GPU *WU* with QRB, change your client type to beta to get these and be sure you are using passkey. There is a thread at the folding forums, with some pretty ridiculous PPD (which can of course change since it is still beta). Not sure about availablity of WU.

*edit: added WU

Last edited by theAnimal; 12-04-2012 at 05:25 PM.
theAnimal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 04:15 PM   #69
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theAnimal View Post
FYI for anyone Folding on nVidia Fermi (& also Kepler I think) there is a beta GPU with QRB, change your client type to beta to get these and be sure you are using passkey. There is a thread at the folding forums, with some pretty ridiculous PPD (which can of course change since it is still beta). Not sure about availablity of WU.
I looked forever, do you have a link ? I think mine is 7.2.9, but I only get 15k ppd out of 660ti 2 gig cards.
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 2 x 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w 2 x GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons w 2 x GTX 460
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w 2 x GTX 460
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 04:42 PM   #70
Rattledagger
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,963
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markfw900 View Post
I looked forever, do you have a link ? I think mine is 7.2.9, but I only get 15k ppd out of 660ti 2 gig cards.
The actual testing-thread is here:
http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=66&t=22808

Despite "everyone" with Nvidia-cards now runs with the beta-flag set, and it's become much more interesting to use Nvidia, #active also for Nvidia continues to drop just like all the other platforms is doing.

Now, how to set the neccessary beta-flag, no idea...
__________________
"I make so many mistakes. But then just think of all the mistakes I don't make, although I might."

Last edited by Rattledagger; 12-04-2012 at 04:45 PM.
Rattledagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 05:13 PM   #71
WildW
Senior Member
 
WildW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sevenoaks, UK
Posts: 873
Default

I think I've figured out how to set the client for beta work units. I will have to wait to see if this actually did anything, but the change seemed to "stick", while guessing at invalid options gave me error messages and removed them, so it seems right. . .

Switch the SMP client to expert mode with the dropdown box at the top right.

Hit configure, Slots tab, double-click your GPU slot.

At the bottom of the window that opens is a box marked Extra Slot Options. Hit the add button beneath it. (I had to pause folding first or the FAHControl program would freeze here.)

In the box that pops up when you click add you enter "client-type" in the name box and "advanced" in the value box. (Without quotes)

This matches up with a guide I found here... http://www.overclock.net/t/977412/wi...lient-v7-guide

I then stopped and restarted the client process for good measure (with the Stop button in the connection tab)
WildW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 06:39 PM   #72
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rattledagger View Post
The actual testing-thread is here:
http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=66&t=22808

Despite "everyone" with Nvidia-cards now runs with the beta-flag set, and it's become much more interesting to use Nvidia, #active also for Nvidia continues to drop just like all the other platforms is doing.

Now, how to set the neccessary beta-flag, no idea...
see post from jedi (#8) in this thread.

http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.aspx?m=1582299

I may try this later.

An alternative is to join the beta test team I guess.
__________________
Crunch for TeAm AnandTech!!

2600K, GTX780Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX980, Linux, Win8 dual boot
Q9550, GTX660Ti, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux
biodoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:23 PM   #73
salvorhardin
Senior Member
 
salvorhardin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 319
Default

Here's a list of all the slot options. For beta wus the name would be client-type and the value would be beta.
__________________
Ci7 3770k, hyper 212+, Corsair 300R, 16GB G.Skill, Asus P8Z77-V, Radeon 7950, Corsair 750TXv2
C2Q 9400, Xigmatek S1283V, Antec 300, 4GB Corsair, GA-EP45-UD3P, HD5850, Corsair 650TX.
salvorhardin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:23 AM   #74
PCTC2
Diamond Member
 
PCTC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,862
Default

FYI, for biodoc/petrus... My output is not going to be stable. I am currently running 5 SMP clients and I am losing 2 of them tomorrow, one of which is my highest PPD client... a SMP-64 client with 256GB of RAM.

I wonder if I could run a SMP-160 client on a 1TB of DDR3 ECC RAM server? (Yes. This server has more RAM than some people have HDD space.)
__________________
-E3200,DG45FC,4GB,SSD - Q6600,GT240,eVGA 680i SLI,4GB - Q9400,8800GTS G92,EP45-UD3P,4GB
-Ci7 920,U2711,GT240,X58 FTW3,12GB,SSD - Ci7 860,HD5670,eVGA P55M,8GB,SSD
-17" MBP Ci5 - Mac Mini Server C2D - Mac Mini Server Ci7
-2x Xeon E5520,SM X8DTH-6F,24GB,ESXi5 - Xeon E3-1220,8TB RAID5,SM X9SCM-F,8GB,SSD -E3300,G43ITX,4GB,7.5TB RAID-Z+SSD
HEATWARE
PCTC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 06:19 AM   #75
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildW View Post
I think I've figured out how to set the client for beta work units. I will have to wait to see if this actually did anything, but the change seemed to "stick", while guessing at invalid options gave me error messages and removed them, so it seems right. . .

Switch the SMP client to expert mode with the dropdown box at the top right.

Hit configure, Slots tab, double-click your GPU slot.

At the bottom of the window that opens is a box marked Extra Slot Options. Hit the add button beneath it. (I had to pause folding first or the FAHControl program would freeze here.)

In the box that pops up when you click add you enter "client-type" in the name box and "advanced" in the value box. (Without quotes)

This matches up with a guide I found here... http://www.overclock.net/t/977412/wi...lient-v7-guide

I then stopped and restarted the client process for good measure (with the Stop button in the connection tab)
Choosing "advanced" will give you late stage beta WUs. If you want bleeding edge, enter "beta".

After cruising the beta testers forum, it appears you don't need to be an official "beta tester" to grab beta WUs. However, they will lock your post in the general forum if you complain about crashes/low ppd, etc for beta WUs.
__________________
Crunch for TeAm AnandTech!!

2600K, GTX780Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX980, Linux, Win8 dual boot
Q9550, GTX660Ti, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux
biodoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.