Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2012, 11:45 PM   #1
Shawn
Lifer
 
Shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 32,101
Default Frequent stalling with SSD. No SMART issues detected.

I have a Patriot Pyro SE 120GB SSD that randomly hangs causing the whole OS to hang along with it. Eventually it completes whatever data access that caused it to hang and the OS continues working none the wiser. I'm not getting any OS or SMART errors.

When I first got the drive it seemed really fast but I was in IDE mode. I did a reformat and switched to AHCI which is when I first encountered the problem. I recently downgraded from Win8 back to Win7 and switched back to IDE mode hoping that would fix the problem, but the problem still persists.

Has anyone encountered this problem before? Any ideas? I already updated the firmware a while back. It's been doing this for over a year so I don't think it's failing.


edit: My motherboard is a Gigabyte 965P-DS3 with a C2Q Q8200 and 8gb ram.
__________________
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

Last edited by Shawn; 12-03-2012 at 11:47 PM.
Shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:03 AM   #2
John Connor
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Somewhere with an encrypted radio mocking the NSA
Posts: 9,504
Default

Have you checked the SATA connector?
John Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:31 PM   #3
Elixer
Diamond Member
 
Elixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,129
Default

Check event viewer, it should tell you more information about the issue.
__________________
The truth is incontrovertible, malice may attack it, ignorance may deride it, but in the end; there it is.

The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter.
Elixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 06:21 PM   #4
Shawn
Lifer
 
Shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 32,101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elixer View Post
Check event viewer, it should tell you more information about the issue.
No information in the event viewer.
__________________
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
Shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 06:23 PM   #5
Emulex
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ATL
Posts: 9,621
Default

run a long benchmark on it and watch perfmon - i bet you have some a/v lagging it out.

IDE = 10x slower than ahci btw. no NCQ which is how they excel.
__________________
-------------------------
NAS: Dell 530 Q6600 8gb 4tb headless VHP
PC1: Mac Pro Dual nehalem - 6gb - GF120 - HP ZR30W
Emulex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 06:31 PM   #6
Burner27
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,708
Default

Check to see if you have the following settings in your BIOS:

C3 reporting
C6 reporting

If you have those and they are enabled--disable them.
Burner27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 11:59 PM   #7
Shawn
Lifer
 
Shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 32,101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burner27 View Post
Check to see if you have the following settings in your BIOS:

C3 reporting
C6 reporting

If you have those and they are enabled--disable them.
Only thing I found was C1E.
__________________
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
Shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.