Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2012, 04:13 PM   #1
p0rkguy
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 118
Default What do I need to upgrade?

Operating System - Windows 7 64bit Ultimate possibly going Windows 8 after upgrade
Motherboard - Asus M4N72-E
CPU - AMD Phenom II X4 965 @ 3.4
Power supply - Tt Purepower W0100RU 500W ATX 12V
Memory - PNY OPTIMA 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800, Wintec AMPX 2GB DDR2 800
Hard drive - Samsung 470 128GB SSD (OS), Samsung HD250HJ HDD, WD WD1001FALS HDD
Video card - XFX HD-687A-ZNFC Radeon HD 6870 1GB 256-bit
Monitor - Asus VE278Q @ 1920x1080, LG 20" @ 1680x1050
Mouse/keyboard - Logitech Internet 350 Keyboard, Logitech G500 Mouse
Speakers - Logitech Z906 for gaming via SPDIF, Logitech X-540 for voice via 3.5mm audio ports

In need of an upgrade due to really bad lag while playing BF3. I've set it to medium with motion blur and AA off already and I still have choppiness.

Everest shows
Motherboard - 47C
CPU #1 - 69C
CPU #2 - 69C
CPU #3 - 69C
CPU #4 - 69C
MCP - 57C
Aux - 57C
Samsung 470 - 46C
Samsung HD250 - 43C
WD1001 - 51C
AMD Vision Engine Control Center shows GPU at 70C
These are all idle temperatures. Is this a heat issue or am I being bottle-necked?
p0rkguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 04:32 PM   #2
DooKey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 670
Default

Your temps are way too high for idle. Get rid of the dust bunnies, buy an after market HSF for the cpu and put in some more fans to move some air.
__________________
4770K @4.5|GA-Z87X-UD4H|16gb G.SKILL 1866|R9 290 XFIRE|Samsung EVO 1TB SSD|Dell U2711|Sliverstone Raven RV02B-EW|Corsair AX1200 PSU
DooKey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 06:17 PM   #3
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,894
Default

Your CPU temperatures have to be off, the maximum temperature for PII X4 is 65C, at that point the system will shut down automatically. Did you check BIOS readings? Try other programs as well, for example: HWinfo64, HWmonitor, Realtemp.

The rest of the temperatures look abnormally high also so you probably have a dust issue or otherwise insufficient cooling; but it won't hurt to double check with a different program. You didn't mention what your case is.

6870 should be able to play it at medium settings smoothly given enough CPU power. Phenom II X4 doesn't really cut it - I was CPU limited in BF3 with an i7-920 @ 3.36GHz, fps dropping to 45fps occasionally in 64-player maps despite medium settings with a 7950. Upgraded to 3770K and it plays super smoothly.

However, it is more likely that BF3 is simply maxing out your RAM and the choppiness results from having to use the swap file. Since your board doesn't support DDR3 and it makes no sense to spend on obsolete DDR2, I would recommend upgrading to:

i5-3570K
Z77 motherboard
2x4GB DDR3-1600 1.5V

Where are you located?
__________________
System specs

Last edited by lehtv; 12-02-2012 at 06:20 PM.
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 07:10 PM   #4
hondaf17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 644
Default

My 955 BE at 3.5 Ghz idles at 35 degrees C. That's with a Cooler Master Hyper 212 and Arctic Silver 5.

In BF3 - everything on Ultra - my rig (signature) gets 29 fps average. That is with my GPU at 100% usage and CPU at about 80%. 6870 should be good enough for OP to play BF3 on medium settings. I agree with LEHTV about the RAM.

I just bought a i5-3570k and AsRock Z77 Pro 4 mobo and can report back here with results if it will be helpful to OP.
__________________
My Rig:
i5 3570k @ 4.4 Ghz | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ HSF
8GB (4x2gb) DDR3 1600 RAM | MSI Twin Frozr II 2GB 6950
AuzenTech X-plosion DTS Sound Card
1 TB WD Caviar Black HDD | Corsair 650tx PSU

Last edited by hondaf17; 12-02-2012 at 07:12 PM.
hondaf17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 08:22 PM   #5
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 6,732
Default

Did I read that right? Are you really running Windows 7 on 2 GB of RAM?

Your bad results are from RAM. It is up to you if you want to upgrade to 8 GB of DDR II, or just upgrade the CPU/MB/RAM.
__________________
Intel i5-2500k | Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Western Digital Black 1TB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 08:23 PM   #6
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20,449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ketchup79 View Post
Did I read that right? Are you really running Windows 7 on 2 GB of RAM?

Your bad results are from RAM. It is up to you if you want to upgrade to 8 GB of DDR II, or just upgrade the CPU/MB/RAM.
Memory - PNY OPTIMA 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800, Wintec AMPX 2GB DDR2 800

I think what he's saying is that he has 3 DIMMs totaling 4 GB.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 08:24 PM   #7
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 6,732
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
Memory - PNY OPTIMA 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800, Wintec AMPX 2GB DDR2 800

I think what he's saying is that he has 3 DIMMs totaling 4 GB.
Ok, thanks for the clarification mfenn. I still think more RAM is in order.
__________________
Intel i5-2500k | Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Western Digital Black 1TB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 08:38 PM   #8
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20,449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ketchup79 View Post
Ok, thanks for the clarification mfenn. I still think more RAM is in order.
Maybe. It really comes down to what the OP's budget is.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 08:54 PM   #9
p0rkguy
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 118
Default

OP here
I was thinking
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131754
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145357
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835103099
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835103060 x3

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ik29ros02l...mperatures.png

I'm not planning on replacing the CPU and GPU anytime soon since I purchased them last year.

Last edited by p0rkguy; 12-02-2012 at 08:58 PM.
p0rkguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:42 PM   #10
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20,449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by p0rkguy View Post
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ik29ros02l...mperatures.png

I'm not planning on replacing the CPU and GPU anytime soon since I purchased them last year.
Are those idle temps? There is something seriously wrong with your CPU cooling setup if so. I would recommend removing the HSF, thoroughly cleaning both the HSF and CPU package, and then remounting the cooler (with fresh thermal compound of course).

As for the motherboard and RAM, I really see no reason to buy a new AMD motherboard just to get some more RAM. 4GB should be plenty until you upgrade to a new CPU.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:49 PM   #11
ElFenix
Super Moderator
Off Topic
 
ElFenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 93,782
Default

i thought everest wasn't being updated anymore

edit: that reporting seems to be wrong. is that the latest version of HW Monitor?
__________________
I killed and ate the Fun Mod with some jellybeans and a little Chianti.

AnandTech Mean Moderator
ElFenix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 10:46 PM   #12
p0rkguy
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 118
Default

Yes, those are all idle temps.
AIDA purchased Everest but Everest still works fine.
Don't know if reporting is correct or not but it is CPUID's latest version, 1.21.0.
p0rkguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 10:27 AM   #13
riversend
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: East Coast, USA
Posts: 407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
Maybe. It really comes down to what the OP's budget is.
This. What is your budget? Do you have a timeline where you might be able to save up a bit of cash to get a better bang for your buck? I agree that getting a new mobo and more DDR2 is just adding more to you sunk costs on the system you have leaving you with fewer resources down the road to do something meaningful.

Any possibility of assistance over the holidays?
riversend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 11:12 PM   #14
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20,449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by p0rkguy View Post
Yes, those are all idle temps.
AIDA purchased Everest but Everest still works fine.
Don't know if reporting is correct or not but it is CPUID's latest version, 1.21.0.
In that case, your cooling system is seriously busted. You're seeing massive thermal throttling under load, which is a big contributor to your poor BF3 performance. Give the machine some TLC as I laid out in my earlier post.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.