Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2012, 10:02 AM   #1
mlc
Senior Member
 
mlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default Monitor problem when booting into windows..

When I boot into windows, sometime the monitor screen goes blank at login screen (i.e. blinking power led) . If i turn the monitor off and then on again, i get the normal screen to login . This only happens occassionally.

Monitor: Samsung 205BW
Board Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Graphics card: Asus HD6850

I suspect it relates to interaction of monitor with graphics card settings... Reason i say this is that this had happened somewhat regularly in past, then was occurring very , very rarely of late.. But now has come back again , as I just reinstalled windows 7 onto a new drive.... Problem had happened using a prior video card as well...

any ideas??? it's more annoying than anything...

Thanks in advance... Mike
__________________
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Q6600 quad @ 3.2
Corsair 700W
ASUS EAH6850
X-FI Extreme Music Sound Card
Zalman 9700 HSF
mlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 09:19 PM   #2
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,642
Default

what kind of connection are you using.the wire could be defect
__________________
Motherboard+ram+cpu+hdd+psu.and it works
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 11:11 PM   #3
tracerbullet
Golden Member
 
tracerbullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by denis280 View Post
what kind of connection are you using.the wire could be defect
Agreed, try a difference cable if you have one. I had a monitor (Samsung, 226BW I believe was the model) that did this to me as well. I eventually narrowed it down to only happening on one computer, Then to only happening over DVI, then finally narrowed it down to the actual DVI cable. Replaced it and no more problems.

If you are using DVI, maybe try VGA for a while (or vice-versa) to see if you can narrow it down to a particular video card output / monitor input / cable?
__________________
ebay / Heat
tracerbullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:58 PM   #4
mlc
Senior Member
 
mlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

thanks guys... great idea...

I'm using a DVI cable... hadn't thought of a cable issue, as its always fixed by simply flipping the monitor power button off then on again...

I'll give it a shot... like i said... it only happens on occassion.. but we'll see what happens.
__________________
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Q6600 quad @ 3.2
Corsair 700W
ASUS EAH6850
X-FI Extreme Music Sound Card
Zalman 9700 HSF
mlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.