Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Merchandise and Shopping > Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-28-2012, 05:27 PM   #1
kleinkinstein
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Closet
Posts: 823
Default 3930k = $400

@ MC
kleinkinstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 08:49 PM   #2
gammaray
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 588
Default

just out of curiosity, why is this processor so expensive?

why would i pay 500-600$ for it??

i got a i5-2500 for now
gammaray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 08:57 PM   #3
Gillbot
Lifer
 
Gillbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Outside Bartman39's Tent
Posts: 28,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gammaray View Post
just out of curiosity, why is this processor so expensive?

why would i pay 500-600$ for it??

i got a i5-2500 for now
If you don't know, you don't need it.

Quote:
Specifications
Core Sandy Bridge
Processor Core i7 3930K
Operating Frequency 3.2GHz
Turbo Speed 3.8GHz
Number of Cores Six-Core
Number of Threads 12 Processing Threads
Level 2 Cache 12MB
Smart Cache 12MB
Bus/Core Ratio 32
Thermal Power 130W
Processor Architecture 32nm SOI
Processor Data Width 64-Bit
Socket Type Socket 2011
__________________
My Heatware
Michelle
Gillbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 09:15 PM   #4
clemsyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 363
Default

Nice price for a six core.
__________________
There are no hopeless men, there are only men who have grown hopeless about themselves.
clemsyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 11:11 PM   #5
superccs
Senior Member
 
superccs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 998
Default

Its a six core data rapist. Good price too.
__________________
I'll buy THAT for a dollar!
superccs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 11:35 PM   #6
tygeezy
Member
 
tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 158
Default

My Gf got one of those for 190 bucks from a friend who does the retail edge program. The motherboards for that socket are extremely expensive.
tygeezy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 01:08 AM   #7
Bryf50
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 1,204
Default

This board is on sale right now at the egg. I'm not sure if its because its a pos but it is by far the cheapest x79 board I've ever seen.
__________________
Desktop: i7 4770k@4.6ghz, Asus Z87-Pro, XFX R9 290, 16GB DDR3 1600,
250gb Samsung 840 Evo & 2x1TB Samsung F3s Raid 0, NZXT Hale90 750w, Win 8
Laptop: Acer P645, i7 4500u, Radeon 8750m, 256gb SSD x 2
HTPC: Pentium G3220, Asrock H81 mini-itx, 4GB DDR3 1600
Bryf50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 01:32 AM   #8
ericlp
Diamond Member
 
ericlp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Pahoa Hawaii
Posts: 5,476
Default

this chip is a thread monster. But if your not using any apps or software that is taking advantage of those threads it's a waste of cash... As most games don't max out the threads of a quad core.
ericlp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 11:03 AM   #9
kleinkinstein
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Closet
Posts: 823
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryf50 View Post
This board is on sale right now at the egg. I'm not sure if its because its a pos but it is by far the cheapest x79 board I've ever seen.
Only 4 dimm slots for 32GB max and only one PCIE 3.0, so no SLI. That's why the price. If this board is attractive to anyone, they are really miss-shopping for Z77.
kleinkinstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 11:36 AM   #10
gammaray
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 588
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericlp View Post
this chip is a thread monster. But if your not using any apps or software that is taking advantage of those threads it's a waste of cash... As most games don't max out the threads of a quad core.

ok thank you
gammaray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 11:47 AM   #11
cubeless
Diamond Member
 
cubeless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: otown, fl
Posts: 4,295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gammaray View Post
just out of curiosity, why is this processor so expensive?

why would i pay 500-600$ for it??

i got a i5-2500 for now
...because you would never, ever, ever again need to upgrade your pc...
__________________
i'm your huckleberry...

heatware under cubeless
cubeless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 01:39 PM   #12
Bryf50
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 1,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kleinkinstein View Post
Only 4 dimm slots for 32GB max and only one PCIE 3.0, so no SLI. That's why the price. If this board is attractive to anyone, they are really miss-shopping for Z77.
4 dimm slots I see but unless I'm missing something there are 2 PCIE 3.0 x16 slots and 1 x8. The board says SLI in its name lol. Still not saying it's a good board or anything.
__________________
Desktop: i7 4770k@4.6ghz, Asus Z87-Pro, XFX R9 290, 16GB DDR3 1600,
250gb Samsung 840 Evo & 2x1TB Samsung F3s Raid 0, NZXT Hale90 750w, Win 8
Laptop: Acer P645, i7 4500u, Radeon 8750m, 256gb SSD x 2
HTPC: Pentium G3220, Asrock H81 mini-itx, 4GB DDR3 1600
Bryf50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 02:01 PM   #13
ghost recon88
Diamond Member
 
ghost recon88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kleinkinstein View Post
Only 4 dimm slots for 32GB max and only one PCIE 3.0, so no SLI. That's why the price. If this board is attractive to anyone, they are really miss-shopping for Z77.
These are X79, not Z77. Big price difference right there.
__________________
Heatware
ghost recon88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 02:23 PM   #14
luv2liv
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,808
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gillbot View Post
If you don't know, you don't need it.
sooo true!
im on an AMD 3ghz and it's more than enough for editing pictures and home vids already.
while companies are moaning about the slump of PC sales, they should realize regular folks dont need anything more than a dual core anyway.
luv2liv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 05:01 PM   #15
Gillbot
Lifer
 
Gillbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Outside Bartman39's Tent
Posts: 28,436
Default

I keep talking myself out of getting it because i'm cheap. I could use it but I can't see spending the $ since I already have a 3820. I'm debating on holding out for the 8c/16t or 10c/20t chips.
__________________
My Heatware
Michelle
Gillbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 04:11 PM   #16
SHAQ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 738
Default

meh....$499 now.
__________________
Asrock X79 Extreme 6
i7 3820 @ 4.75 1.36v
Mega Shadow w/ CM R4 Blue 120mm push/pull
16 GB G. Skill Z Series 1666 7-8-8-24 1T 1.56v
EVGA 680 2GB SLI 1272/3200
Intel 80GB SSD, Crucial M4 128GB
WD Caviar Black 1.5TB,750GBX2
CM Silent Power Pro 1000W
CM Storm Sniper Black
SHAQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 04:37 PM   #17
j03h4gLund
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 237
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cubeless View Post
...because you would never, ever, ever again need to upgrade your pc...
lol
__________________
CPU/Mobo: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.8Ghz/ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 w/Hyper 212 Plus
RAM: Patriot Sig 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 (1866;9-10-9-22 CR1)
PSU: Rosewill FORTRESS-750W
GPU/Display: Reference 2GB MSI GTX 670 OC ed./BenQ XL2720T 120Hz 1ms
Keyboard/Mouse: CM Storm Quickfire TK Cherry MX Red/Logitech G9X
Storage: Samsung 830 256GB, (2)1TB Samsung F3's
j03h4gLund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 12:23 PM   #18
bunnyfubbles
Lifer
 
bunnyfubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 11,842
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHAQ View Post
meh....$499 now.
yeah, damn, was considering picking up a second one

now I wait
__________________
i7 3930K @ 4.7GHz + XSPC Raystorm/EX280/D5 | ASUS Sabertooth X79 | EVGA GeForce GTX780 | 4x4GB Samsung Green DDR3 @ 1866 CAS9 1.5v | 2x256GB Samsung 830 RAID-0 | 3 x 1.5TB Hitachi 7K3000 RAID-0 | 2 x 3TB Seagate 7200.14 RAID-0 | Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1 x64 | Creative X-Fi Titanium HD | Seasonic Platinum-1000 | Silverstone FT02B-WRI | BenQ XL2420T | Dell U2711 | Filco Majestouch-2 Tenkeyless Cherry MX Red | Razer Abyssus + Goliathus Speed | Beyerdynamic MMX300 / Astro A40 2013
bunnyfubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 02:20 PM   #19
SKORPI0
Lifer
 
SKORPI0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: I'm from the internet
Posts: 11,814
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gillbot View Post
I keep talking myself out of getting it because i'm cheap. I could use it but I can't see spending the $ since I already have a 3820. I'm debating on holding out for the 8c/16t or 10c/20t chips.
Same here, got the new X79 system late Sept and was thinking of the 3930k at MC. $499.99 vs. $229.99. Perhaps I'll just wait for the i7-3970K to go down in price.
__________________
HP TouchPad - Dual boot Android CM10 (Jelly Bean 4.12) and webOS (F4 Phantom Kernel).
Anandtech Off Topic [Archive] - May 2000-present
i7 3930k @ 4.3GHz @ 1.28v, Asus Sabertooth X79, 32GB (4x8GB) DDR3 1866, PNY GTX 680 4GB, CM HAF 932 Advanced, CM Silent Pro Gold 1kW.
NZXT Kraken X60 PULL, Samsung 830 128gb SSD (Windows 7), Kingston
SSDNow V300 120gb (OS X 10.8.2), Dual Yamakasi 2703, Logitech MK320.
SKORPI0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 03:46 PM   #20
goobee
Golden Member
 
goobee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 1,958
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKORPI0 View Post
Same here, got the new X79 system late Sept and was thinking of the 3930k at MC. $499.99 vs. $229.99. Perhaps I'll just wait for the i7-3970K to go down in price.
Yes it will, then something shinier and better gets released. I just don't worry about it anymore. If I buy it now, I get to enjoy it now. It's all relative.
__________________
.
I have a few Heatware refs under Goobee - feel free to have a look at them.

Linky to Heatware.

Click here, you won't be sorry.
goobee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 05:42 PM   #21
kleinkinstein
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Closet
Posts: 823
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghost recon88 View Post
These are X79, not Z77. Big price difference right there.
What, I don't know that? We all know that! You whiffed on my point. BIG TIME!!
kleinkinstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 05:43 PM   #22
Gillbot
Lifer
 
Gillbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Outside Bartman39's Tent
Posts: 28,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKORPI0 View Post
Same here, got the new X79 system late Sept and was thinking of the 3930k at MC. $499.99 vs. $229.99. Perhaps I'll just wait for the i7-3970K to go down in price.
I'm too busy cursing the WOL function on my two x79 boards..... I thought these were top tier enthusiast? Why is everything s flaky?
__________________
My Heatware
Michelle
Gillbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 10:10 AM   #23
TakeNoPrisoners
Platinum Member
 
TakeNoPrisoners's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,533
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kleinkinstein View Post
Only 4 dimm slots for 32GB max and only one PCIE 3.0, so no SLI. That's why the price. If this board is attractive to anyone, they are really miss-shopping for Z77.
Even if there are only 4 DIMM slots X79 still supports quad channel memory so if somebody needs lots of bandwidth but not a lot of memory that board would be a good choice.

Also there are 2 PCI-E 3.0 16x slots.

You can even do Tri-SLI

3 (1x16, 2x16 or 3x8 )
__________________
i7 3770k at 4.4Ghz | ASRock Z77 Extreme4 | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ | 16GB DDR3 at 2000Mhz | Dual MSI Gaming R9 290 4GB Crossfire | 128 GB Samsung 830 SSD | 2TB Seagate ST2000DM001 | Corsair TX850M | CM HAF 932 | 3 x Acer 21.5" 1080p IPS Eyefinity | Windows 8.1 64bit
TakeNoPrisoners is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 12:33 PM   #24
homercles337
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericlp View Post
this chip is a thread monster. But if your not using any apps or software that is taking advantage of those threads it's a waste of cash... As most games don't max out the threads of a quad core.
This does not make any sense. If you have threaded your code, why would you constrain the number of cores used? All the multithreaded apps i have used run on all cores. I have a six-core machine at home, and a quadcore machine at work. Of course i dont game at work, and have not tested core load when gaming at home...perhaps something to do tonight.

EDIT: So, not being a gaming programmer, but rather a scientific programmer, i think i understand why games cant be optimally threaded. I found this post at Tom's:

The main choke point for games is the control loop that manage user interactions. Since almost everything in the game depends on the outcome of user interactions and calculating those outcomes may have multiple inter-dependencies, trying to multi-thread that code would result in multiple threads being stalled on mutexes most of the time, little to no net gain and much higher potential for bugs to creep up.
__________________
*337

Last edited by homercles337; 12-03-2012 at 12:43 PM.
homercles337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 08:22 PM   #25
ericlp
Diamond Member
 
ericlp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Pahoa Hawaii
Posts: 5,476
Default

uh... because apps even the OS is not optimized to use 6 core. Programmers are not going to recode apps and games just because you have 6 or more cores. It doesn't work like that.

But if you were using distributing computing that takes advantage of how many cores you have then a 6 core cpu would finish work units faster than 4 cores that is if the were all running at the same frequency.

Do some homework yourself and read up on maximum PC's new dream machine that has this CPU in it. They basically say the same thing. Maybe a few years down the road when everyone starts having 6-8-10 core cpu's you might see programmers render the code to take advantage of it but even then... It's really hard to get games to work in all the CPU's. As for games most of the power is handed over the GPU and the CPU takes a back seat pretty much idle's away on 1 to 2 cores.
ericlp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.