Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-28-2012, 01:32 AM   #1
Sean314159
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Default Overclock Asus P5Q Deluxe with Q6600

I overclocked the Q6600 to 3.2GHZ using the stock fan. I was pretty stable for a long time as long as I didn't try to over stress the system. It started shutting down so I replaced the stock cooler with Hyper 101 (with an extra fan).

I'm still getting the reboot here and there and the CPU seems to be running hotter than I'd expect.



Have a look at my numbers and see what you think? Maybe the CPU fan can't handle 3.2GHZ?

Also, I'm looking at the CPU Core Temps and wondering if the CPU Silicone Paste was applied evenly.

Last edited by Sean314159; 11-28-2012 at 01:37 AM.
Sean314159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 05:41 AM   #2
T_Yamamoto
Lifer
 
T_Yamamoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina State University
Posts: 13,779
Default

Did you replace the TIM?
Have you tried reseating it?
__________________
Intel i5 4430, MSI B85M-P33, Gigabyte Windforce R9 270x, 6GB ram, Intel 530 128gb SSD, WD 160gb HDD, Toshiba Canvio 1tb External HDD, Windows 7, NZXT Vulcan, Dell E2414H, ROCCAT Kova+ Max, TG3 BL82
Mid 2014 13" Macbook Pro, Intel Core i5-4278U 2.6Ghz, Intel Iris 5100 GPU, 8GB ram, 128gb SSD
iPhone 6 16gb CDMA
Heatware | Steam
T_Yamamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 11:41 AM   #3
Sean314159
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Yes, I replaced the Thermal Compound. I spread it evenly across the CPU with a plastic bag. I didn't but any Thermal Compound on the Heat Sink.

I changed by overclocking to 3.0GHZ and it still seems way too hot.

Core Temp

Temp: 60, 61, 57, 58
Min: 50, 50, 45, 45, 47
Max: 77, 78, 75, 75

Asus Prove: 39 (not real load)




I'm thinking about redoing to Thermal Compound and seeing if it makes a difference?
Sean314159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 11:59 AM   #4
SPBHM
Platinum Member
 
SPBHM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,487
Default

is there anything on the bios set to shutdown the PC at this temp?

or is something else, like VRMs overheating?
SPBHM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 01:53 PM   #5
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 26,007
Default

might be psu too
or mobo vrms getting weak
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 04:48 PM   #6
Sean314159
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Ok, I reseeded the fan, applied new thermal paste, increased the fan speed, and improved the air flow in the case. Also, I mounted the CPU fans towards the large fan at the top of the case. Asus probe is know reporting the following:

MB 33
CPU 23

[Overclocked at 3.0GHZ] Those numbers are obviously good, but there seems to be a bit of a spread between the cores. Here are some numbers after running a run-in test for a few minutes.



Are the core numbers ok? Is core 1 and 2 two high compared to 3 and 4?
Sean314159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.