Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Mobile Devices & Gadgets

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-27-2012, 08:33 PM   #1
Northern Lawn
Platinum Member
 
Northern Lawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 2,231
Default How do I create a wifi connection on my kindle?

How do i create a wifi connection on my kindle?

It says there are two connections but they are locked, I've never did this before.

I'm trying to connect to Amazon so that I can make files or collections on my kindle.

I already typed in my amazon account and password..

Last edited by allisolm; 11-27-2012 at 08:42 PM. Reason: moved from OT
Northern Lawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 08:34 PM   #2
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 54,064
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Northern Lawn View Post
How do i create a wifi connection on my kindle?

It says there are two connections but they are locked, I've never did this before.

I'm trying to connect to Amazon so that I can make files or collections on my kindle.

I already typed in my amazon account and password..
err, I am assuming you have a wireless access point?
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 08:42 PM   #3
Northern Lawn
Platinum Member
 
Northern Lawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 2,231
Default

I have high speed DLS but I think I've been told that we do have something wireless also even though I've never used it. I think my brother used it on a laptop.
Northern Lawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 08:52 PM   #4
s44
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,928
Default

Can't tell if serious...

The lock sign is the fact that a password is required for the WiFi network at your house. Ask your brother what the password (and network name, so you know which it is) is.
s44 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 08:54 PM   #5
Thegonagle
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 9,773
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s44 View Post
Can't tell if serious...
LOL, cuz this is basic stuff these days, but...

It's asking for the password to the wireless network.

Ask your brother for the wireless password.

After the Kindle connects to the wifi, then enter your Amazon username and password.
Thegonagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 09:10 PM   #6
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 54,064
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Northern Lawn View Post
I have high speed DLS but I think I've been told that we do have something wireless also even though I've never used it. I think my brother used it on a laptop.
ask your brother for the ssid and pwd
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 09:11 PM   #7
Northern Lawn
Platinum Member
 
Northern Lawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 2,231
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s44 View Post
Can't tell if serious...

The lock sign is the fact that a password is required for the WiFi network at your house. Ask your brother what the password (and network name, so you know which it is) is.
I went into set up network connection, too complicated, IP address, subnet mask, Router, DNS...
Northern Lawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 09:15 PM   #8
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 54,064
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Northern Lawn View Post
I went into set up network connection, too complicated, IP address, subnet mask, Router, DNS...
... dhcp...
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 09:25 PM   #9
Northern Lawn
Platinum Member
 
Northern Lawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 2,231
Default

I did it, thanks all.

My brother told me all I had to do was type in the number on the downstairs router.

It connected right up... now hopefully amazon won't nerf my kindle since every book on there was pirated.
Northern Lawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 09:27 PM   #10
senttoschool
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,148
Default

Troll
senttoschool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 10:08 PM   #11
T_Yamamoto
Lifer
 
T_Yamamoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina State University
Posts: 13,779
Default

wow.
__________________
Intel i5 4430, MSI B85M-P33, Gigabyte Windforce R9 270x, 6GB ram, Intel 530 128gb SSD, WD 160gb HDD, Toshiba Canvio 1tb External HDD, Windows 7, NZXT Vulcan, Dell E2414H, ROCCAT Kova+ Max, TG3 BL82
Mid 2014 13" Macbook Pro, Intel Core i5-4278U 2.6Ghz, Intel Iris 5100 GPU, 8GB ram, 128gb SSD
iPhone 6 16gb CDMA
Heatware | Steam
T_Yamamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.