Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > All Things Apple

· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2015
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2012, 08:57 AM   #1
Senior Member
tipoo's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 228
Default Mountain Lion is doodoo on 2GB RAM, what should I upgrade to?

So ML is really terrible on on 2GB RAM, should I go 4 or 8? Or 5, but that would be asynchronous and I think that would break dual channel? I'm happy with 4GB in Windows 8 but I'm not sure if ML handles differently (I was surprised how much heavier it feels than Windows). It's the last white macbook (c2d 2.4/320m).

If I did get a 4GB stick and went 5GB, would losing dual channel make anything significantly slower? This is for a med student, nothing heavy like programming or graphics work but she does multitask a lot.
tipoo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 09:47 AM   #2
Diamond Member
PCTC2's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,863

Your MacBook officially only supports 4GB but people have been able to bump to 8GB. I'm not sure how well NVIDIA chipsets handle mis-matched DIMM sizes. Intel has Flex Mode which does have much of a performance hit anymore at all. I doubt you'd notice anything.

I would say, jump to 6GB (2+4GB) or 8GB.

As a word of advice, stay away from Kingston. Kingston + Mac has always been finicky (I've never tried any Kingston memory that was designated "Mac", though). I worked in a Authorized Apple Service Provider shop for 4 years and every non-Mac Kingston stick had issues. Stick to Crucial and some Corsair. We officially used Crucial for everything (reliability might not be the best, but it worked).
-E3200,DG45FC,4GB,SSD - Q6600,GT240,eVGA 680i SLI,4GB - Q9400,8800GTS G92,EP45-UD3P,4GB
-Ci7 920,U2711,GT240,X58 FTW3,12GB,SSD - Ci7 860,HD5670,eVGA P55M,8GB,SSD
-17" MBP Ci5 - Mac Mini Server C2D - Mac Mini Server Ci7
-2x Xeon E5520,SM X8DTH-6F,24GB,ESXi5 - Xeon E3-1220,8TB RAID5,SM X9SCM-F,8GB,SSD -E3300,G43ITX,4GB,7.5TB RAID-Z+SSD
PCTC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 09:57 AM   #3
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 33,970

Throwing in an SSD helps a lot. I use Mushkin drives (120GB/240GB/480GB). They help the overall speed of the computer, including multi-tasking and virtual memory. The 240GB is on sale for $179:

Dave Likes Food | Food Wiki
Kaido is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 10:18 AM   #4
Diamond Member
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 9,823

Using 10.8 and 4GB pretty happily. I have an SSD though. I'd go to 8 if you can, just because it's cheap.
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 16GB RAM / GTX 970 / Samsung EVO 840 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05.
FreeBSD Server: SuperMicro X10SLM-F / Pentium G3250 / 16GB ECC DDR3 / 4x Toshiba DT01ACA200, 3x DT01ACA300, 1x DT01ABA200 / Fractal Node 804
dave_the_nerd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 10:50 AM   #5
Eug's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 19,678

4 GB would be fine, but 8 GB is cheap.

2 x 4 GB Crucial can be had for under 40 bucks. You'd only save about $15 by going with 2 x 2 GB.

OS X: 27" iMac Core i7 870 | 13" MacBook Pro C2D 2.26 P8400 + SSD | 13" MacBook C2D 2.4 T8300 + SSD
iOS: iPad Air 2 | iPad 2 | iPhone 5s
Windows: X3400 Athlon II X3 435 | 11.6" 1810TZ Pentium SU4100 + SSD | Revo R3610 Atom 330 + SSD
Android: Nexus 7 (2012)
Eug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 04:11 AM   #6
Diamond Member
Rottie's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4,740

See my expense signature below…
Main Laptop: 15" rMacBook Pro Intel i7 Quad 2.3 8GB ram 256GB SDD Yosemite 10.10.3
iPad Air 32GB Space Grey WIFI + Cellular
iPhone 6+ 64GB Space Grey AT&T
LG G Pad 48GB Grey WIFI + LTE
Rottie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 09:30 PM   #7
Diamond Member
midwestfisherman's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: S.E. MICH
Posts: 3,389

Memory is cheap. Max it out.
midwestfisherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 10:22 PM   #8
Diamond Member
boomhower's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6,941

8GB and SSD for me, it flies.
boomhower is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 10:33 PM   #9
Platinum Member
umrigar's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 2,088

8 GB is $47.50 here

6 GB is $38 - why bother when it's only $10 for 2 GB more & maxed out?

SSD will help for sure, there are some bargains to be had.
HEATWARE : davedecay
umrigar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 02:15 PM   #10
Golden Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,109


8GB is so cheap it is hardly a mind thought. My October 2009 mini came alive with 8GB and I would never look back. I used the cheap g.skill off newegg and it tested and worked flawless right off the bat. Its been in for over 2 yrs and no issues.

An SSD like a samsung 830 series is also an awsome upgrade. It is tried and true.
-Main: Fractal Arc Midi R2 | Z87-Pro | E3-1245V3 | 32GB | M500 240GB | Antec HCG-620m PSU | Win7x64 Pro | Dual Dell U2414H Borderless IPS Panels w/ MDS14 stand |
-HTPC: Mac mini | P7550 2.26 | 8GB | 500GB 7K500 | OS X 10.6.8 | Win7x64 Ultimate |
-Lappy: Dell Latitude D820 | C2D 2.0 | 2GB | 128GB Samsung 830 SSD | 15.4" WXGA | Win7 x86 Ultimate |
-Server: G2020 | 8GB | 500GB WD Black (OS)| 2x Seagate 4TB | 2x Segate 2TB |
Compman55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 10:07 PM   #11
Junior Member
xx0xx's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 20

I second the Samsung 830 + 8GB RAM upgrade. Can't go wrong there.

Using G.Skill here with no issues.
xx0xx is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.