Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Motherboards

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-27-2012, 02:15 PM   #1
kriviful
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 13
Default Gigabyte z77x UD3H vs AsRock z77 extreme 4?

Hello everyone! This is the first thread I'm making. I'm building my first PC and will buy the parts for like 3 weeks or so. The build goes:
Case: Cooler Master HAF 912
CPU: Intel i5 3570k
GPU: Sapphire 7870 2GB Ghz edition
PSU: Seasonic 650AM
RAM: 8gb ddr3 Corsair Vengeance
HD Seagate Barracuda 1tb 64mb st1000dm003
Now I don't know what motherboard to take between those 2. They seem best for my price range but just I don't know which one to pick (their price difference doesn't matter to me). Which board is better and why?
kriviful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 03:18 PM   #2
pauldun170
Golden Member
 
pauldun170's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,985
Default

Asrock posts quicker, 1 esata port
Gigbyte slightly sturdier and proper dimensions, 2 eSata ports

Asrock uses Realtek ALC898
Gigabyte uses VIA VT2021

Asrock uses 8 + 4 Phase Design
gigabyte uses 9+2 phase design

Asrock uses Broadcom BCM57781 lan
not sure about Gigabyte

Gigabyte has VIA USB ports
Asrock uses Etron


pauldun170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 04:25 PM   #3
kleinkinstein
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Closet
Posts: 823
Default

Flip a coin. Yes, really!
kleinkinstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 04:26 PM   #4
I4AT
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,584
Default

When I was looking at motherboards I went with the Z77X D3H.

The UD3H only has 2x SATA 6Gbps headers onboard. The other 2 are moved to the rear panel as eSATA ports. It would have made more sense to use SATA 3Gbps for the eSATA ports because those are mainly going to be used for storage drives where the extra speed is wasted, I can't imagine anyone would be using SSD's as external backups.

Aside from that all 3 boards are fairly similar with the exception of a few less USB3 ports for the Asrock and no eSATA for the D3H. The Asrock is supposed to be a quick booter as previously mentioned, and it can typically be found for $105 with no rebates which generally makes it about $20 cheaper than the Gigabyte options.

I don't think you can go wrong with either one unless a specific layout/IO option would be more suitable for your case/application.
I4AT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 04:42 PM   #5
WiseUp216
Golden Member
 
WiseUp216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CLE
Posts: 1,709
Default

I like the Asrock Extreme4 and can say that its been a solid board for me for the last 6 months.

If the price difference doesn't matter to you, just pick the one that you think looks the best. You won't find a consensus here for either board. Both are good buys.
__________________
i5-3570K @ 4.4 | TT Water 2.0 | Asrock Z77 Extreme4
GTX 670 SLI | Samsung 30nm 16GB | Crucial M4 128GB
Seagate 3+1 TB | Seasonic X650 | Corsair 400r w/ Bitfenix Recon

Heat
WiseUp216 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 05:41 PM   #6
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pauldun170 View Post
Asrock posts quicker, 1 esata port
Gigbyte slightly sturdier and proper dimensions, 2 eSata ports

Asrock uses Realtek ALC898
Gigabyte uses VIA VT2021

Asrock uses 8 + 4 Phase Design
gigabyte uses 9+2 phase design

Asrock uses Broadcom BCM57781 lan
not sure about Gigabyte

Gigabyte has VIA USB ports
Asrock uses Etron

Gigabyte has better layout and more expansion slots, including a 2.0 x4 slot which Asrock lacks entirely.

Gigabyte has an mSATA slot.

Gigabyte has DisplayPort which supports up to 2560x1600 via the integrated GPU.

Gigabyte has four chassis fan headers versus Asrock's three.

Also, Gigabyte's LAN is Atheros
__________________
System specs

Last edited by lehtv; 11-27-2012 at 05:43 PM.
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 08:10 PM   #7
pauldun170
Golden Member
 
pauldun170's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,985
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
Gigabyte has better layout and more expansion slots, including a 2.0 x4 slot which Asrock lacks entirely.

Gigabyte has an mSATA slot.

Gigabyte has DisplayPort which supports up to 2560x1600 via the integrated GPU.

Gigabyte has four chassis fan headers versus Asrock's three.

Also, Gigabyte's LAN is Atheros

I had to look up what the mSata was. LOL
Only thing that makes me a little suspicious on the Gigabyte board is the use of VIA usb3 ...seen some reports of driver issues.

Just tossing up more info for OP
http://www.anandtech.com/show/5793/i...gabyte-and-msi

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/artic...erboard/1520/9
pauldun170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 06:46 AM   #8
kriviful
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Well thanks for all the information! I was searching about the two boards a little and some people say AsRock board is harder to mount because it is a bit shorter than the standard ATX. I guess I will go for Gigabyte! Thanks again!
kriviful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 08:55 AM   #9
pauldun170
Golden Member
 
pauldun170's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,985
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kriviful View Post
Well thanks for all the information! I was searching about the two boards a little and some people say AsRock board is harder to mount because it is a bit shorter than the standard ATX. I guess I will go for Gigabyte! Thanks again!
Just to clarify..
The Asrock is not "harder to mount"
Its just that there is no support along the front edge of the board because it doesn't reach the leading edge standoffs on most cases.
You have to be make sure the board is braced prior to adding ram, hooking up connectors. Otherwise its flexes when you apply pressure.
pauldun170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 04:08 PM   #10
TechBoy101
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 14
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by kriviful View Post
Well thanks for all the information! I was searching about the two boards a little and some people say AsRock board is harder to mount because it is a bit shorter than the standard ATX. I guess I will go for Gigabyte! Thanks again!
Welcome to the Gigabyte family haha I use a gigabyte myself seems worth it but there is a lot of hype around the Extreme 4 kinda curious how it is now though.. maybe next time but still really glad I got the UD3H.
TechBoy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 11:17 PM   #11
infoiltrator
Senior Member
 
infoiltrator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Waterbury, CT
Posts: 657
Default

For future reference
http://www.ebay.com/itm/8-Nylon-Moth...item519ed96c61

Do not know where else to find these, delete if improper post, meant as example
__________________
Damn the cost, full build ahead! I wish.
infoiltrator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.