Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-27-2012, 04:58 PM   #1
mango123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Milwaukee Area
Posts: 214
Default what the 3570k?

Ok so apologies ahead of time if I am missing something I cleared my CMOS on p8z77 V- LK w 3570k and updated bios, am redoing my OC...

WHAT ON GODS GREEN EARTH would cause bios to read 45 multiplier (desired mult) and the CPU-z and everything else to read 35 multiplier????

Comp does a seem slower than 4.5 too, so I dont think its reading it incorrectly???

Somone have any idea I'm sure I'm overlooking something?
mango123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 05:01 PM   #2
Idontcare
Administrator
Elite Member
 
Idontcare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 台北市
Posts: 20,107
Default

Did you clear the BIOS after you updated it? Also, when clearing, don't forget to physically unplug the PSU. Simply turning it off doesn't seem to be enough for some mobos.
Idontcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 05:11 PM   #3
WhoBeDaPlaya
Diamond Member
 
WhoBeDaPlaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 5,509
Default

Do you have Speedstep and C1E enabled?
__________________
BlueSmoke.net
Silverstone Temjin TJ09S - 4770K @ 4.55GHz - MSI Z87-GD65 - 32GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 1866 CL9 - 2x MSI Twin Frozr 780 - X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - BFG EX-1000 - Antec Kuhler 920 - 6x Noctua NF-P12 - Samsung 840 500GB - Samsung F3 1TB - OptiArc 7261S - Logitech G19 - 2x Klipsch Promedia 2.1
WhoBeDaPlaya is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 05:31 PM   #4
mango123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Milwaukee Area
Posts: 214
Default

yes i do have (did have) EIST and C1E enabled, and i had turbo off, it showed target speed of 4500 and when i would boot windows and load prime and load 100% it would read 3500/3400 i forget which one...

fast forward to now, the only way i can get it to read 4500 in windows was by turning turbo on... and now my cpu speed sits at 4500 and voltage doesnt drop either...
settings

turbo-manual/ratio
ci1 en
c3 dis
c6 dis
c pack auto
offset + .115

eist on
llc medium...

voltage doesnt move, neither does clock? wtf.....
mango123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 05:42 PM   #5
GPz1100
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 337
Default

If you're unable to figure this out through traditional means, reflash the bios. On occasion, that may clear up oddities such as this.
__________________
Living reality in a dream

p8z77v-deluxe, 3770K @ 4.6, +.050V offset, LLC at high, xspc raystorm/ex360 WC
GPz1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 05:48 PM   #6
mango123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Milwaukee Area
Posts: 214
Default

What exactly are traditional means? I'm kind of lost on which settings here do whag? Do you mean to tell me that my system is indeed acting oddly?
mango123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 06:06 PM   #7
GPz1100
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 337
Default

Well, if the settings in the bios are not being accepted, then something is amiss. Try reflashing the bios and see what happens. Note, all settings will be reset to defaults.
__________________
Living reality in a dream

p8z77v-deluxe, 3770K @ 4.6, +.050V offset, LLC at high, xspc raystorm/ex360 WC
GPz1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 06:39 PM   #8
mango123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Milwaukee Area
Posts: 214
Default

Roger reset to defaults reads 3.8 Target turbo now... And shows a 3.6 @ full load. Is that right? I reflashed it and rest it to default.

Last edited by mango123; 11-27-2012 at 07:20 PM.
mango123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 06:42 PM   #9
mango123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Milwaukee Area
Posts: 214
Default

I thought I remember seeing it shoot to 38 before this snafu.
mango123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 08:47 PM   #10
GPz1100
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 337
Default

A 3570K @ stock settings is

Clock Speed 3.4 GHz
Max Turbo Frequency 3.8 GHz
__________________
Living reality in a dream

p8z77v-deluxe, 3770K @ 4.6, +.050V offset, LLC at high, xspc raystorm/ex360 WC
GPz1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 10:55 PM   #11
mango123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Milwaukee Area
Posts: 214
Default

Okay, I figured that something may be wrong with the flash...

I redownloaded the BIOS file, renamed and reflashed, cleared CMOS again.

Cranked it up and did my usual settings and voila no problems. 45 x 100 = 4500

But I'm still left here wondering... Am I actually using turbo mode when I overclock on this motherboard? When I enter a multiplier it greys out the turbo enabled option?
mango123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 06:05 AM   #12
ShintaiDK
Diamond Member
 
ShintaiDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 9,546
Default

Turbomode wouldnt work anyway at that speed.
ShintaiDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 09:52 AM   #13
mango123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Milwaukee Area
Posts: 214
Default

SO when it shows turbo as enabled and greyed out, it's actually not really enabled???
mango123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 09:59 AM   #14
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mango123 View Post
But I'm still left here wondering... Am I actually using turbo mode when I overclock on this motherboard? When I enter a multiplier it greys out the turbo enabled option?
Does your CPU still throttle down to 1.6Ghz and lowered voltage when idle?
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 02:18 PM   #15
mango123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Milwaukee Area
Posts: 214
Default

Yes it does so beauftifully.
mango123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 02:19 PM   #16
mango123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Milwaukee Area
Posts: 214
Default

Does anyone have any links to information about how turbo boost works on CPU in regards to multiplier, and what happens to turbo boost when you are using a non stuck multiplier? And also the effects of the motherboard multiplier wise. I am looking for hardware level information.

Thanks.
mango123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 11:19 AM   #17
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

Sounds as if everything is working as it should. The CPU will have three states.

1) 1600MHz at lowered voltage for idle.

2) 3400MHz at normal voltage for normal operation.

3) Turbo boost (in your case cranked up to 4500MHz) at boosted voltage for periods of high CPU utilization when conditions are met (temperatures in check, CPU utilization high, within TDP setting).

You will see 1 whenever CPU utilization is low. You will otherwise see 3 whenever CPU utilization is high. I think 2 is just the "failsafe" speed if temps go too high, or something.
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 01:48 PM   #18
Saylick
Senior Member
 
Saylick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 429
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mango123 View Post
Does anyone have any links to information about how turbo boost works on CPU in regards to multiplier, and what happens to turbo boost when you are using a non stuck multiplier? And also the effects of the motherboard multiplier wise. I am looking for hardware level information.

Thanks.
Anandtech has a few articles on the principles behind Turbo Boost. I know for certain Anand's Nehalem microarch article has a section on Turbo Boost.

I'm not sure if this is a hardware level answer but I can personally vouch that it is possible to get Turbo Boost working in addition to using a higher multiplier. The feasibility of this option comes down to how much cooling you can provide to the chip as the chip will only kick into higher Turbo bins if it has an excess TDP budget that it can capitalize on.

I personally have this setup on my rig: my chip (i5-750) runs at a base speed of 3.5 Ghz (21x multiplier on a 167 BCLCK), but can boost all the way up to 4.0 Ghz if need be (24 x 167). Power saving features are enabled as well, so it down clocks when it's idling.

As for SNB and IVB, I am not sure if you can run a "dynamic" overclock but for Nehalem chips, it should be possible.
Saylick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 04:26 PM   #19
GPz1100
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 337
Default

I have all the power saving/speed step features enabled on mine. Under idle/light load the cpu runs at 1.6ghz (see below for specs). Under mild load it ramps up to ~3ghz, and under heavy, to 4.6ghz. However, it seems most times it goes straight from idle to 4.6. The 3570K being of similar characteristics should operate similarly as well.

Note, in my bios, the turbo boost is set to the same multiplier (46x) for all cores, not just one.
__________________
Living reality in a dream

p8z77v-deluxe, 3770K @ 4.6, +.050V offset, LLC at high, xspc raystorm/ex360 WC
GPz1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.