Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Home Theater PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2012, 10:24 AM   #1
Alienwho
Diamond Member
 
Alienwho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 6,699
Default Upgrading current HTPC to cutting edge

I created my HTPC setup 4 years ago and have been happy with it but I'm hoping things have gotten better.

I am currently just running the HTPC box just right next to my TV. What I want to do is hide the box downstairs and buy a new smart TV that can hopefully do everything I do right now. I guess my question is can current smart TV's easily connect and navigate windows media center on the HTPC? I want to record/watch etc everything recorded. I also want to easily browse my movie/tv collection.

I fear the tv's cannot connect to media center and access the live/recorded TV. I watch all my TV in the house through the network (4 HD Homerun tuners). I'll probably have to get a media extender but it seems that was so 2010 and there really aren't any out there anymore.

My ideal setup:
-set server in the basement that contains all old divx movies/mp3s/live/recorded TV (windows media center)
-Use smart tv features like netflix/amazon instant/pandora
-Do all of the above using the remote that comes with the TV

Thanks
Alienwho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 10:53 PM   #2
TastesLikeChicken
Lifer
 
TastesLikeChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: 4th fairway
Posts: 15,461
Default

Currently there are no TVs that have a WMC extender function and with MS appearing to be abandoning Media Center it is unlikely there ever will be such a thing.

Your only viable solution would be a separate extender. The Ceton Echo is due to be released soon so that may be something you might want to consider.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed...skydiving is probably not for you.
TastesLikeChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 02:31 PM   #3
SMOGZINN
Diamond Member
 
SMOGZINN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,039
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TastesLikeChicken View Post
Currently there are no TVs that have a WMC extender function and with MS appearing to be abandoning Media Center it is unlikely there ever will be such a thing.

Your only viable solution would be a separate extender. The Ceton Echo is due to be released soon so that may be something you might want to consider.
Many TV's do support DLNA, so you could set up a Plex server and navigate it from a Smart TV.
__________________
"The open society, the unrestricted access to knowledge, the unplanned and uninhibited association of men for its furtherance? These are what may make a vast, complex, ever-growing, ever-changing, ever more specialized and expert technological world nevertheless a world of human community." - J. Robert Oppenheimer
SMOGZINN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 04:07 PM   #4
TastesLikeChicken
Lifer
 
TastesLikeChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: 4th fairway
Posts: 15,461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SMOGZINN View Post
Many TV's do support DLNA, so you could set up a Plex server and navigate it from a Smart TV.
He couldn't get live TV through Plex and I'm not sure how Plex would handle recordings that might have copy protection.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed...skydiving is probably not for you.
TastesLikeChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 11:15 PM   #5
TastesLikeChicken
Lifer
 
TastesLikeChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: 4th fairway
Posts: 15,461
Default

To update this thread, things do suddenly change. Silicon Dust has updated their HD Homerun Prime to work through DLNA-enabled TVs.

http://www.missingremote.com/news/20...dia-server-dms

How many current TVs or DLNA devices other than the PS3 will work properly is unknown. However, it's nice to know there might finally be alternatives to extenders.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed...skydiving is probably not for you.
TastesLikeChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.