Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-20-2012, 02:34 AM   #1
ericlp
Diamond Member
 
ericlp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Pahoa Hawaii
Posts: 5,480
Default Wifi Extended 3 times?

I was wondering...

Can you say... do something like this?

Building 1 (incoming internet) AP
Building 2 (VAP1 - Strong wireless connection to building 1)
Building 3 (VAP2 - Can't connect to building 1 / strong signal from Building 2)

So I don't think your can you string a VAP together to talk though a another vap to get internet access or is that gonna slow things way down? I dunno if it's even possible. BTW, all these routers are the same using DD-WRT ...

Specs for equipment:

Wireless speed up to 150Mbps CCA technology delivers reliable performance even in noisy environment
Wireless security encryption easily at a push of QSS button Priority of service assures the quality of bandwidth sensitive applications such as voice and video
Standards: IEEE 802.11n, IEEE 802.11g, IEEE 802.11b Interface: 4x 10/100 LAN Ports, 1x 10/100 WAN Port
Antenna: 5dBi Fixed Omni Directional Antenna Wireless Signal Rates: Up to 150Mbps Frequency Range: 2.4~2.4835GHz
6M: -88dBm@10% PER 1M: -90dBm@8% PER
Receiver Sensitivity:130M: -68dBm@10% PER 54M: -68dBm@10% PER 11M: -85dBm@8% PER

Is there another way I can make this work wirelessly with out stringing cat5 cable? Would like to get 50Mbs on all three links. Not doing any encryption.

Thanks!

Last edited by ericlp; 11-20-2012 at 02:38 AM.
ericlp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 08:49 AM   #2
Insert_Nickname
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,970
Default

I suppose its possible, but you WILL need some kind of external directional antenna. 2.4GHz 802.11 should be good for 500m outdoors with no obstructions and high-gain directional antennas...

But you should properly get someone more knowledgeable then me to explain the hows and whys...
Insert_Nickname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 11:47 AM   #3
drebo
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,654
Default

If you use the right kind of equipment, you won't have any real issues. If you use the wrong kind of equipment (regardless of the kind of antenna you use,) it'll be nearly unusable.

You need to make sure that your backhauls, or the connections between buildings, are made with dedicated radios, and not shared with the client access radios.

If you do the former, then there's no issues.

If you do the latter and share the backhaul with the client radio, your effective bandwidth will be cut in half for every hop. So if you start with 150mbps, your effective bandwidth will be ~37mbps (actually only half that, because wireless is a simplex media.) This speed will apply at ALL stages of the wireless network, not just the furthest.

The moral of the story is to use dedicated backhaul links, preferably on a different frequency spectrum.
__________________
"All men are not created equal, and if you believe they are, there's something seriously wrong with you. Some men are destined for greatness. Most aren't. End of story." - Jose Canseco
drebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 12:40 PM   #4
spidey07
No Lifer
 
spidey07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 65,476
Default

Outdoor mesh, easy to do. 5Ghz backhaul, and 2.4 Ghz servicing clients. Or vice versa if you have all 802.11n 5Ghz clients. Agree on directional antennas, if you have line of site then just go back to building 1. Cisco Mesh solution would be easy, 4k per access point however and you need controllers.
__________________
___
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
spidey07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 03:41 PM   #5
ericlp
Diamond Member
 
ericlp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Pahoa Hawaii
Posts: 5,480
Default

as usual the client wants it done as cheap as possible (don't we all) but I'm doing it as a favor for someone. So... I guess ... I've already set up a vap with 3 of my neighbors and I got over 300' range ... Thought it was pretty good for measly 9 dollar router on sale. So much for 4K a link! hahaha

Anyway, this is for a humane society non profit so the don't have much to spend in the first place. But I'll buy another router and play around with it... I know that the traffic is cut in half already and I am sure you add another hop with only half the bandwidth and now you asking the router in the middle to pass information between another vap and an AP so...... I just think it's gonna be too slow. So..... I'll probably run cat5 cable and make building 2 an AP and building 3 a VAP.

Thanks. I'll post my setup results when I get the equipment ...
ericlp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 03:46 PM   #6
spidey07
No Lifer
 
spidey07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 65,476
Default

What is a VAP?
__________________
___
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
spidey07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 04:32 PM   #7
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 26,753
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spidey07 View Post
What is a VAP?
Virtual Access-Point. It's a feature of DD-WRT Atheros builds. (I don't think Broadcom.)

Basically, you set the "master" SSID to the AP that you are repeating, and then create a "Virtual AP" with a new SSID for clients to connect to the repeating router. As opposed to just setting up a Broadcom router for wireless bridge or repeater mode.

Edit: If you have Broadcom-based routers (which I don't think that you do), then I would recommend a multi-way WDS setup. That's what I have at home with three APs in WDS mode.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 02:55 PM   #8
thecoolnessrune
Diamond Member
 
thecoolnessrune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Stoughton, WI
Posts: 8,347
Default

To expand on the previous point, VAP is a way to use the Layer 2 VLAN feature of DD-WRT on some routers to create VLAN trunk ports on the internal ethernet port that connects to the wireless access point.
__________________
New technologies make me excited.
thecoolnessrune is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 05:04 PM   #9
spidey07
No Lifer
 
spidey07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 65,476
Default

So just multiple BSSID.
__________________
___
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
spidey07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 05:49 PM   #10
thecoolnessrune
Diamond Member
 
thecoolnessrune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Stoughton, WI
Posts: 8,347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spidey07 View Post
So just multiple BSSID.
Correct, which is why a Mesh is wholly unnecessary. As said in the original OP, Building 1 does not have access to building 3. There is no need nor provision for the redundant connections or self-healing that a centralized wireless controller would provide. All the OP needs is simple WDS bridging. No need to buy a Makita drill to screw in a paper towel holder.

To the OP, as your update said, anywhere you can get a wire, you should. A wired solution will be much faster, and much more reliable than any solution you could create with a wireless setup.
__________________
New technologies make me excited.
thecoolnessrune is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 03:03 PM   #11
remixedcat
Member
 
remixedcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 52
Default

Hotels have it configured like that...
remixedcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.