Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2012, 12:54 PM   #26
ark42
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fallen Kell View Post
Not sure if you tried, but simply pull the batteries. Remove the laptop's battery, open up the laptop itself (search for directions on the internet, usually involved removing keyboard for access to motherboard), and remove the BIOS battery. Wait 5 minutes, put the BIOS battery back in, put laptop back together, and boot. The system should now no long contain a BIOS password, or it has been reset to hard-coded value.

Yes, I tried, and people keep suggesting it without reading the topic. I even said I tried in the first post. It does not work. The password is stored in NVRAM, not in the regular CMOS settings.
ark42 is offline  
Old 05-15-2012, 01:32 PM   #27
serpretetsky
Senior Member
 
serpretetsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 499
Default

this sounds strange, but if its a modern laptop, it probably has AHCI mode turned on the SATA port. AHCI supports hot swapping hard drives. You can try to boot to the cd, and after booting plug in the drive and continue the setup, it might work.

Good luck, i had an IBM i had to remove the password for. When i first got the IBM i thought i would simply reset the battery, I did not know what i was getting myself into. A couple of resisters, a diode, a DB9 serial port, a crap soldering job, and some alligator clips attached to a strange little chip on the IBM mobo and i finally got the password reset. :/. Not really sure the final product was even worth it, fun experience though.
serpretetsky is offline  
Old 05-15-2012, 01:49 PM   #28
imagoon
Diamond Member
 
imagoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,787
Default

The issue you are having is why all of my office laptops I deployed go out with a "office approved BIOS password." Quite a few of the D / E series laptops started using NVRAM to store the passwords (along with a sector of the HDD.) The laptop that was locked needed to be sent back to Dell. It came back with a different motherboard. Further reading indicated that there was an NVRAM chip that has to be replaced with another that has the proper code in it or the laptop will refuse to post. Can't cheat and plug a blank one in. If you can find a scrapped board you can left the 8pin chip and solder it in place.
imagoon is online now  
Old 05-15-2012, 02:06 PM   #29
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 7,278
Default

First time reading this thread, and I have a question I didn't see answered yet. How is there not an option to select boot device (F12 usually)? Every computer I've seen in the past several years has an option to go to the boot device menu without triggering the bios password.

Since you said it starts to load windows, this sounds like a normal bios password, and not a user password.

I have heard people say if the registered owner of the laptop calls Dell support, they can get a "master password." There is a form on their website if you need to transfer the ownership to do it yourself.
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is online now  
Old 05-15-2012, 02:17 PM   #30
imagoon
Diamond Member
 
imagoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,787
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ketchup79 View Post
First time reading this thread, and I have a question I didn't see answered yet. How is there not an option to select boot device (F12 usually)? Every computer I've seen in the past several years has an option to go to the boot device menu without triggering the bios password.

Since you said it starts to load windows, this sounds like a normal bios password, and not a user password.

I have heard people say if the registered owner of the laptop calls Dell support, they can get a "master password." There is a form on their website if you need to transfer the ownership to do it yourself.
On the laptops I worked with you could choose which devices didn't need a password to boot to. Default was "all require password." For the E and D series, there didn't seem to be a master password, they always made us replace the motherboard.
imagoon is online now  
Old 05-15-2012, 03:35 PM   #31
ark42
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 76
Default

I mentioned in the original post that F12 requires a password. It's the same as pressing F2, you get nowhere until you enter the password.
ark42 is offline  
Old 05-15-2012, 03:56 PM   #32
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 7,278
Default

Do you have any more details on the call to dell? I am really surprised that didn't work. May take a more forceful person to make the call.
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is online now  
Old 09-19-2012, 03:27 PM   #33
xennotech
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Default

i called dell today because a user brought me a laptop that was locked out. i managed to get the tech to generate a password for me, but it did not work.

im at my wits end and really dont want to spend anymore time on this issue.

for reference, ive downloaded and tried every took i could find here, and in other places.

laptop is a vostro 1700. the password the dell tech generated for me was the same i had gotten off numerous websites:

19.09.2012 20:20 DELL service tag: 5B4KRD1-595B password: 4b8es436

since this is an 07 laptop, im praying there is a CMOS jumper somewhere i can pull, but really, REALLY dont want to take this big thing apart. any help is appreciated.
xennotech is offline  
Old 09-19-2012, 06:20 PM   #34
Matt1970
Lifer
 
Matt1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Syracuse NY
Posts: 11,087
Default

I highly doubt you will find a CMOS jumper thast will erase that passowrd. There are CMOS crack programs out there but the ones I have seen boot off a cd and I cannot attest to their effectiveness.
Matt1970 is offline  
Old 09-20-2012, 02:00 PM   #35
Godfarva
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Default

@ ARK42

I might be able to help.

If i am understanding you correctly you power up the laptop and finishes POST and you get this screen that says "This computer system, #XXXXXXX-595B, is protected by a password authentication system. You cannot access the data
on this computer without the correct password." Correct? if so make sure that the numbers are 595b at the end. if it is all I need is the service tag and I have a dell utility that gives that admin password.
Godfarva is offline  
Old 09-26-2012, 01:46 AM   #36
jsalpha2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 144
Default

Try this 2eg8qrm4
It may ask for something else, I can't remember. I had one like this a few months ago.
Once I unlocked the bios password, I think it asked for a hard drive password.
Send me a PM if you need more help.
jsalpha2 is offline  
Old 09-26-2012, 04:41 PM   #37
Evander
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,133
Default

Some BIOS have a BIOS recovery mode, activated by a certain key combination, in case of a bad flash. I have a 2007 ACER laptop w/ Phoenix BIOS that can boot (while holding down keys) from a USB floppy and reflash the BIOS, even if you can't boot into the BIOS (this feature is not publicly documented). Maybe your Dell has a similar feature
Evander is offline  
Old 10-20-2012, 09:55 PM   #38
Tetrarch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Default

After updating your BIOS, have you tried generated password again?
Tetrarch is offline  
Old 11-22-2012, 12:55 PM   #39
Tetrarch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ark42 View Post
I mentioned in the original post that F12 requires a password. It's the same as pressing F2, you get nowhere until you enter the password.
I had the exact same problem and tried all the usual steps. Eventually I used a paid service (€10) which provided two different passwords which are dependent on your BIOS version.
I'm not sure if I can provide a weblink to a commercial service or PM it, can someone advise?
Tetrarch is offline  
Old 11-23-2012, 07:40 PM   #40
MinimalOwl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Default Dell Latitude e5520

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tetrarch View Post
I had the exact same problem and tried all the usual steps. Eventually I used a paid service (€10) which provided two different passwords which are dependent on your BIOS version.
I'm not sure if I can provide a weblink to a commercial service or PM it, can someone advise?
If you could PM me it'd be appreciated.
MinimalOwl is offline  
Old 11-23-2012, 08:25 PM   #41
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,501
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tetrarch View Post
After updating your BIOS, have you tried generated password again?
It won't matter - flashing the BIOS does not reset the password BIOS or boot menu passwords. Ironically, it is a security feature meant to prevent somebody from doing exactly what you are trying to do, i.e. reset the password by flashing the BIOS.
Steltek is offline  
Old 06-02-2013, 12:38 PM   #42
onlyhonda84
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
Default please hel me do youwant me to pm you or what

dell is trying to charge me 100 because my password went corrupt somehow I have it written down and it dose not work can you please help me

Quote:
Originally Posted by Godfarva View Post
@ ARK42

I might be able to help.

If i am understanding you correctly you power up the laptop and finishes POST and you get this screen that says "This computer system, #XXXXXXX-595B, is protected by a password authentication system. You cannot access the data
on this computer without the correct password." Correct? if so make sure that the numbers are 595b at the end. if it is all I need is the service tag and I have a dell utility that gives that admin password.
onlyhonda84 is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 05:48 PM   #43
Bump Boyz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
Default Need a password

I have a Dell Inspirion 600m Laptop it powers up only to the page that reads system# JPP4G61-595B and need a primary or administration password. I have tried several with no luck please help.....
Bump Boyz is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 09:09 PM   #44
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,752
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bump Boyz View Post
I have a Dell Inspirion 600m Laptop it powers up only to the page that reads system# JPP4G61-595B and need a primary or administration password. I have tried several with no luck please help.....
you should start a new thread about it.this thread is old
__________________
Motherboard+ram+cpu+hdd+psu.and it works
denis280 is offline  
Old 08-23-2013, 08:54 PM   #45
Arkaign
Lifer
 
Arkaign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19,249
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bump Boyz View Post
I have a Dell Inspirion 600m Laptop it powers up only to the page that reads system# JPP4G61-595B and need a primary or administration password. I have tried several with no luck please help.....
Your password is :

om7l1y9f

That is OM7L1Y9F, but all lower case. (that first digit is the letter O, not a number zero)

Once you get into Bios, you have to do this :

First, hit the 'unlock' button near the center bottom of the screen. It will prompt you to re-enter that same password, argh.

Next, enter the 'security' section of bios. Go to the top listing, and enter the password above in the 'current' or 'old' password field at the top. In the next two fields you can enter and confirm a new password if you choose. I recommend NOT entering one, they are a pain in the neck.

EDIT : If anyone else sees this and wants help, I'll give it a shot, just PM me. I'll probably rarely if ever check this old thread again. I just came across it because I recently ran through some similar problems, and it's not the most intuitive process defeating these things. There are also a ton of bogus programs or ineffective apps/tools out there that do not work against dell system passwords.
__________________
Death is the answer.

Last edited by Arkaign; 08-23-2013 at 09:00 PM.
Arkaign is offline  
Old 08-25-2013, 05:05 PM   #46
luvbug66
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
Default can't pm, just joined

Arkaign, can you help with a password please. Can't PM not been a member long enough.

Picked up a cheap inspiron 1501 at a car boot sale, turns out its passworded. (had to be a catch I guess) I was hoping to give it to my neighbours kid. Can you help please?

service tag h6dko3j

many thanks
luvbug66 is offline  
Old 08-25-2013, 09:00 PM   #47
Arkaign
Lifer
 
Arkaign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19,249
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by luvbug66 View Post
Arkaign, can you help with a password please. Can't PM not been a member long enough.

Picked up a cheap inspiron 1501 at a car boot sale, turns out its passworded. (had to be a catch I guess) I was hoping to give it to my neighbours kid. Can you help please?

service tag h6dko3j

many thanks
Hi, can you post a picture of the screen when it turns on?

That particular unit may be older than my tool can gen a password for, but there are other options :

http://dogber1.blogspot.com/2009/05/...ered-bios.html

What I would need to utilize my tool is the suffix to that service tag, which indicates the BIOS code. Eg : H6DKO3K-D35B or other 4-character suffix. Without that, I can't use the tool I have. If the cursory info I have on the 1501 is correct, we will need a completely different tool, as this is a 5-digit PWD.
__________________
Death is the answer.
Arkaign is offline  
Old 08-25-2013, 09:00 PM   #48
Arkaign
Lifer
 
Arkaign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19,249
Default

Oh and welcome to AT, please stick around and contribute to our forums
__________________
Death is the answer.
Arkaign is offline  
Old 08-25-2013, 09:03 PM   #49
Arkaign
Lifer
 
Arkaign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19,249
Default



^^ See that complete service tag where the red arrow is pointing? I can't do the pwd recovery without that complete number.
__________________
Death is the answer.
Arkaign is offline  
Old 08-26-2013, 06:42 AM   #50
luvbug66
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Hi

Thanks for getting back to me.

The screen just asks for a password no further info. if I try and get to the bios it also just asks for password.

This is the info from the back of the machine

model. PP23LA

service tag H6DK03J

express service code 373-908-650-23

Many thanks
luvbug66 is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
bios password, cmos, dell, inspiron 15

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.