Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2012, 12:02 PM   #1
tential
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,447
Default PC Gaming on HDTVs (Emulating the Console Experience)

I'm in the midst of preparing to buy a HTPC. The goal of this PC is in fact a do it all PC. I currently have a 360, and my laptop which is always connected to my TV and that is how I watch all my movies and TV.

The Goal: To have my PC do it all
I have a 70 inch television and I was excited to fire it up and play Xbox 360 games. Now though, I can see every imperfection and the limitations of Console hardware, which is never updated and is always vastly outdated compared to a PC. Skyrim looks better on my laptop than it does on Xbox 360.

I'm wondering if it's possible to add a GFX card to my HTPC, and a wireless controller, and be able to basically emulate the feel of playing console games, except with MUCH better graphics quality. Is this possible or will a HDTV hold me back. Not compared to PC gaming which I understand will be able to achieve higher resolutions on smaller monitors producing a crisper image, but compared to console gaming.

Thanks!
tential is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 12:54 PM   #2
Annisman*
Golden Member
 
Annisman*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 1,012
Default

Absolutely go for it! I plopped a gtx 650 ti in my htpc, which is a very inexpensive card, and play many games (usually third person or racing games) on my 55 inch hdtv with a wired 360 controller. because you are clearly looking for superior graphics, you should spring for a more powerful card than the one I have though. If you have steam, download the steam big picture beta and be prepared to be blown away by their television interface, it's just the cherry on top.
__________________
Gigabyte Assasin 2 X79 |3930K @ 4.4 | Crsr H100 p/p | Gigabyte Windforce GTX 980 1.5/8000| 16gGskill ddr3-2133 | Samsung 830 256g SSD (OS) | 512g Crucial M4 SSD (Games) | WD Black 4TB | Asus Xonar Stx l 650ti Physx l Cooler Master Gold 1K Watt | Win7- 64 | Asus VG248QE 144Hz w/G-Sync | Sennheiser 650 l Cosmos 2
-Christian, Conservative, PC Gamer.-
Annisman* is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 01:11 PM   #3
Soundmanred
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Czelktik, Uzbenistaz
Posts: 10,664
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tweakboy View Post
You can do it, but it WILL NOT look as good as pure PC Monitor.

Gaming is excellent pictures are excellent.

Text is horrible. So you cant do web browsing on it but Gaming will be great, especially if you have low latency. There will be ghosting and unsmoothness on FPS games.

gl
More unexperienced BS.
I've been doing it for years.
Doing it now on a 65" LCD.
__________________
Nothing like doing a little meth and defending the honor of lions on the internet. NOTHING.
Soundmanred is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 02:11 PM   #4
thebigbolgna
Diamond Member
 
thebigbolgna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: In da woods
Posts: 5,196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tweakboy View Post
You can do it, but it WILL NOT look as good as pure PC Monitor.

Gaming is excellent pictures are excellent.

Text is horrible. So you cant do web browsing on it but Gaming will be great, especially if you have low latency. There will be ghosting and unsmoothness on FPS games.

gl
Wrong.
__________________
HTPC: Intel G3258 @ 4.5GHz | MSI H81M-P33 | MSI GTX 760 Gaming ITX 2GB | 8GB Ballistix DDR3-1600 | 120GB Intel 320 | 1TB WD Black | LG 55" 1080p LED |
Tablet: Galaxy Tab S 10.5
Phone: iPhone 5s 64GB
Console: PS4
thebigbolgna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 02:12 PM   #5
tokie
Golden Member
 
tokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,492
Default

I plan on hooking up my computer to a 46" plasma.

I'm concerned about the text without 4:4:4 subsampling, but I'm not sure how bad it is.

I would be playing games like BF3, Dota 2, etc with wireless keyboard/mouse.
tokie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 02:13 PM   #6
thebigbolgna
Diamond Member
 
thebigbolgna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: In da woods
Posts: 5,196
Default

I've been gaming on my 50" Plasma for years. Looks Excellent, Text is excellent. Prefer it over a monitor. See Sig.
__________________
HTPC: Intel G3258 @ 4.5GHz | MSI H81M-P33 | MSI GTX 760 Gaming ITX 2GB | 8GB Ballistix DDR3-1600 | 120GB Intel 320 | 1TB WD Black | LG 55" 1080p LED |
Tablet: Galaxy Tab S 10.5
Phone: iPhone 5s 64GB
Console: PS4
thebigbolgna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 02:22 PM   #7
Annisman*
Golden Member
 
Annisman*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 1,012
Default

Tweak boy is wrong, any lcd/plasma tv purchased in the last 4 years will work perfectly imo. When if surf the web I just enlarge (zoom) the web page if need be, and I have desktop icons set as large. There are so many easy tweaks to get a comfortable image on everything.
__________________
Gigabyte Assasin 2 X79 |3930K @ 4.4 | Crsr H100 p/p | Gigabyte Windforce GTX 980 1.5/8000| 16gGskill ddr3-2133 | Samsung 830 256g SSD (OS) | 512g Crucial M4 SSD (Games) | WD Black 4TB | Asus Xonar Stx l 650ti Physx l Cooler Master Gold 1K Watt | Win7- 64 | Asus VG248QE 144Hz w/G-Sync | Sennheiser 650 l Cosmos 2
-Christian, Conservative, PC Gamer.-
Annisman* is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 03:19 PM   #8
Silverforce11
Diamond Member
 
Silverforce11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,683
Default

There's plenty of tiny HTPC mITX cases out there that can handle a full sized GPU. You can get a very nice one, Silverstone's SG06, with its sexy front panel and built in excellent 450W PSU.. in my sig is the SG05.
__________________

Rig 1: 3570K | Z77 E4 | Crossfire R290 | 840 250GB + 840EVO 250GB | 8GB G.Skill Ares 2133 | OCZ 850W Gold+ | Nanoxia DS1 | Ghetto Water
Hobby: Mobile Game Dev & Cryptocoin day-trader
Silverforce11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 03:21 PM   #9
tokie
Golden Member
 
tokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverforce11 View Post
There's plenty of tiny HTPC mITX cases out there that can handle a full sized GPU. You can get a very nice one, Silverstone's SG06, with its sexy front panel and built in excellent 450W PSU.. in my sig is the SG05.
I have the SG08 and it can handle a full 6950.

The other concern I have is that the fans can get a bit loud if it is underneath the TV.
tokie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 03:35 PM   #10
Silverforce11
Diamond Member
 
Silverforce11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,683
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tokie View Post
I have the SG08 and it can handle a full 6950.

The other concern I have is that the fans can get a bit loud if it is underneath the TV.
SG08 has a huge 180mm fan from top right? It's silent, downward positive pressure.

Unless your 6950 is a reference design, such a setup should not be noisy at all.
__________________

Rig 1: 3570K | Z77 E4 | Crossfire R290 | 840 250GB + 840EVO 250GB | 8GB G.Skill Ares 2133 | OCZ 850W Gold+ | Nanoxia DS1 | Ghetto Water
Hobby: Mobile Game Dev & Cryptocoin day-trader
Silverforce11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 04:07 PM   #11
Final8ty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 996
Default

My PC is hooked up to my 50" Pioneer KURO Plasma and my 360, PS3 don't stand a chance in comparison on many levels.
Emulating the Console Experience, potentially exceeding it + a 360 wireless controller with PC receiver .
__________________
AMD Piledriver FX-8350, 4.8Ghz
NEC's 2560x1600 2x1600x1200 PLP 4960x1600
2x5970 Sapphire Toxic 4GB @ 945/1225 Quadfire
3xMSI HD 7950 OC BE @1065/1465 stock volts.
32GB Ballistix Tactical Tracer
Creative Sound Blaster ZxR, Corsair AX1200 PSU

Last edited by Final8ty; 11-22-2012 at 04:12 PM.
Final8ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 04:11 PM   #12
tokie
Golden Member
 
tokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverforce11 View Post
SG08 has a huge 180mm fan from top right? It's silent, downward positive pressure.

Unless your 6950 is a reference design, such a setup should not be noisy at all.
I have a reference 6950 which is loud. For some reason my i5 2500K is also noisy since the stock Intel fan goes at 2000rpm.

I need to get a lower-wattage video card and find a CPU cooler that works in this case.
tokie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 04:46 PM   #13
Dave3000
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 445
Default

I used to have connected my PC to my receiver to my 32" 1080p TV and my 23" 1080p monitor simultaneously. I used a GTX 680, DVI to monitor, HDMI to TV. The only drawbacks I saw with doing it this way is that it takes longer to get into games if I want to switch to the TV for games because of the extra step to get the inputs setup using my harmony remote before getting into the game. If I could dedicate this PC for gaming and leave it connected to my TV and buy a 2nd PC and connect my monitor to it then I wouldn't have do to the extra step to use my TV for PC gaming. Also I can switch to my stereo system' audio in addition to switching to my TV after doing some configuring in the sound properties in Windows 7 so when I want to play a PC gaming on my TV, it would automatically switch to HDMI audio that get's routed to my receiver and the onboard audio on my motherboard automatically disables, until I turn off my TV and receiver then it goes back to motherboard's onboard audio. The TV/audio switching thing worked flawlessly most of the time for me. There are just some games that I prefer playing on my 32" TV with my real stereo system, 360 gamepad, without having a computer desk in front of me
Dave3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 06:22 PM   #14
gpse
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 413
Default

don't forget an x-box 360 controller, makes PC gaming on a tv awesome!
gpse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 06:30 PM   #15
toyota
Lifer
 
toyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: my chair
Posts: 12,447
Default

too bad you cant use a controller for many games.
__________________
Win 8.1 64 bit | 4770k@4.4 | Asus Z87 Pro | Asus reference GTX 980 | G.SKILL Ares 16GB DDR3 2133 | Seagate SSHD 2TB | Corsair 500R | Corsair TX650 V2 | Sound Blaster Zx | Gateway 23inch 1920x1080 IPS
toyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 06:52 PM   #16
Annisman*
Golden Member
 
Annisman*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 1,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toyota View Post
too bad you cant use a controller for many games.
Sure, but most games that you would play on a tv have support. Who cares if an rts doesn't have support for example, you would never play one from your couch.
__________________
Gigabyte Assasin 2 X79 |3930K @ 4.4 | Crsr H100 p/p | Gigabyte Windforce GTX 980 1.5/8000| 16gGskill ddr3-2133 | Samsung 830 256g SSD (OS) | 512g Crucial M4 SSD (Games) | WD Black 4TB | Asus Xonar Stx l 650ti Physx l Cooler Master Gold 1K Watt | Win7- 64 | Asus VG248QE 144Hz w/G-Sync | Sennheiser 650 l Cosmos 2
-Christian, Conservative, PC Gamer.-
Annisman* is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 07:09 PM   #17
toyota
Lifer
 
toyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: my chair
Posts: 12,447
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Annisman* View Post
Sure, but most games that you would play on a tv have support. Who cares if an rts doesn't have support for example, you would never play one from your couch.
I dont care anything about an rts game but there are plenty of games that have no controller support. even the Mass Effect series does not have have official controller support. and even plenty of Windows Live games such as FEAR 2 and Bioshock 2 do not have controller support either.
__________________
Win 8.1 64 bit | 4770k@4.4 | Asus Z87 Pro | Asus reference GTX 980 | G.SKILL Ares 16GB DDR3 2133 | Seagate SSHD 2TB | Corsair 500R | Corsair TX650 V2 | Sound Blaster Zx | Gateway 23inch 1920x1080 IPS

Last edited by toyota; 11-22-2012 at 07:12 PM.
toyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 07:18 PM   #18
Annisman*
Golden Member
 
Annisman*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 1,012
Default

Worst comes to worst whip out a kb and mouse
__________________
Gigabyte Assasin 2 X79 |3930K @ 4.4 | Crsr H100 p/p | Gigabyte Windforce GTX 980 1.5/8000| 16gGskill ddr3-2133 | Samsung 830 256g SSD (OS) | 512g Crucial M4 SSD (Games) | WD Black 4TB | Asus Xonar Stx l 650ti Physx l Cooler Master Gold 1K Watt | Win7- 64 | Asus VG248QE 144Hz w/G-Sync | Sennheiser 650 l Cosmos 2
-Christian, Conservative, PC Gamer.-
Annisman* is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 07:22 PM   #19
thebigbolgna
Diamond Member
 
thebigbolgna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: In da woods
Posts: 5,196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tweakboy View Post
You have lag ,,, PERIOD ,, is vsync on ? if not you will get tearing.

Uneexperienced you wish man Im 35 and I was using prodigy when you were in your dypers diapers.. whatever........ stupid leave your comments to yourself if they are stupid ones. jealous guy you are.

You cant play FPS games with a mouse and its not lag free like a CRT or 1ms monitor.. SO RELAX MADRID , spain. Professionals still use CRT in tournaments so relax with your 65 inches ,, Have you played UT3 or BF3 or MW3 ,,,,,, with a controller ? lol its not fast and smooth ,,,, like crt end of story........ its horrible actually,, why you need so big TV , to compensate for your mid section ? I used to be a pro Quake 2 player so relax, jealous guy I have more experience then you brother,, Im 35 what are you,, a jerk who makes stupid comments on my posts ?
__________________
HTPC: Intel G3258 @ 4.5GHz | MSI H81M-P33 | MSI GTX 760 Gaming ITX 2GB | 8GB Ballistix DDR3-1600 | 120GB Intel 320 | 1TB WD Black | LG 55" 1080p LED |
Tablet: Galaxy Tab S 10.5
Phone: iPhone 5s 64GB
Console: PS4
thebigbolgna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 07:26 PM   #20
toyota
Lifer
 
toyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: my chair
Posts: 12,447
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tweakboy View Post
You have lag ,,, PERIOD ,, is vsync on ? if not you will get tearing.

Uneexperienced you wish man Im 35 and I was using prodigy when you were in your dypers diapers.. whatever........ stupid leave your comments to yourself if they are stupid ones. jealous guy you are.

You cant play FPS games with a mouse and its not lag free like a CRT or 1ms monitor.. SO RELAX MADRID , spain. Professionals still use CRT in tournaments so relax with your 65 inches ,, Have you played UT3 or BF3 or MW3 ,,,,,, with a controller ? lol its not fast and smooth ,,,, like crt end of story........ its horrible actually,, why you need so big TV , to compensate for your mid section ?
in your time here, you have made a fool of yourself more than all other members combined. most of your comments are silly inaccurate nonsense. my favorite thread of recent from you is the one where you were caught pirating your games. that alone shows what kind of person you are.
__________________
Win 8.1 64 bit | 4770k@4.4 | Asus Z87 Pro | Asus reference GTX 980 | G.SKILL Ares 16GB DDR3 2133 | Seagate SSHD 2TB | Corsair 500R | Corsair TX650 V2 | Sound Blaster Zx | Gateway 23inch 1920x1080 IPS
toyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 07:49 PM   #21
Soundmanred
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Czelktik, Uzbenistaz
Posts: 10,664
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by toyota View Post
in your time here, you have made a fool of yourself more than all other members combined. most of your comments are silly inaccurate nonsense. my favorite thread of recent from you is the one where you were caught pirating your games. that alone shows what kind of person you are.
He doesn't realize I'm older, more educated, more experienced, and more knowledgeable.
(And I don't resort to insane personal attacks, I call him out when he's wrong.)


TB: Tell me you've actually used such a setup, and I'd possibly respect that. As it is, I doubt you have and just go on hearsay, using terms like "laggy, ghosting, ms" etc.
I have an incredibly fun time using my slow TV and slow controller, and my friends love it. I can't see any downsides!

toyota: It does suck that the ME series and Bioshock II don't support controllers, I was disappointed when I found out about both, but just busted out my wireless mouse and keyboard for them. It's not a problem that can't be worked around, and most popular games support the 360 controller. I use my C3P0 360 controller from the Star Wars bundle (I heard it had .2 ms less lag than a regular controller once I defrag it weekly.).

Today's PC game played on a 65" HDTV and 7.1 Klipsch surround with my C3P0 controller is Family Guy : Back To The Multiverse - HILARIOUS!

p.s. - Can anyone tell me what Madrid, Spain has to do with anything?
__________________
Nothing like doing a little meth and defending the honor of lions on the internet. NOTHING.
Soundmanred is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 11:11 PM   #22
dragantoe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 609
Default

upgrade to a gtx 660 instead of the 650 ti so you never have to worry about fps
__________________
Rig; Xeon L5639 @ 4ghz
x58 Sabertooth
8gb 2000 mhz RAM
force gt ssd
GTX 660 ti sli (1 asus dcu2, 1 evga sc)
modded HAF XB
dragantoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 06:36 AM   #23
Final8ty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toyota View Post
too bad you cant use a controller for many games.
My friend uses a 360 controller on his pc for every game except for EVE online and if the game does not have native 360 controller support then he remaps using Xpadder.
__________________
AMD Piledriver FX-8350, 4.8Ghz
NEC's 2560x1600 2x1600x1200 PLP 4960x1600
2x5970 Sapphire Toxic 4GB @ 945/1225 Quadfire
3xMSI HD 7950 OC BE @1065/1465 stock volts.
32GB Ballistix Tactical Tracer
Creative Sound Blaster ZxR, Corsair AX1200 PSU
Final8ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 09:23 AM   #24
skipsneeky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,650
Default

Been thinking of purchasing a smaller hdtv,perhaps in the 22-26'' inch range and a 720p version to replace my 1440x900 monitor.

With so many games especially console ports tanking on the 7850 and even on single 7970s at 1080p,i could get perhaps a few years out of the damn card if i emulate console gaming on the pc sticking to lower resolutions.

To damn bad i had nothing but stuttering issues with my gtx670.......for once i actually prefer amd cards and their drivers.....
skipsneeky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 07:50 AM   #25
tential
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,447
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundmanred View Post
He doesn't realize I'm older, more educated, more experienced, and more knowledgeable.
(And I don't resort to insane personal attacks, I call him out when he's wrong.)


TB: Tell me you've actually used such a setup, and I'd possibly respect that. As it is, I doubt you have and just go on hearsay, using terms like "laggy, ghosting, ms" etc.
I have an incredibly fun time using my slow TV and slow controller, and my friends love it. I can't see any downsides!

toyota: It does suck that the ME series and Bioshock II don't support controllers, I was disappointed when I found out about both, but just busted out my wireless mouse and keyboard for them. It's not a problem that can't be worked around, and most popular games support the 360 controller. I use my C3P0 360 controller from the Star Wars bundle (I heard it had .2 ms less lag than a regular controller once I defrag it weekly.).

Today's PC game played on a 65" HDTV and 7.1 Klipsch surround with my C3P0 controller is Family Guy : Back To The Multiverse - HILARIOUS!

p.s. - Can anyone tell me what Madrid, Spain has to do with anything?
I didn't even know who to quote first off I didn't even expect this many responses. I didn't know Bioshock 2 didn't support controllers though. TBH, I thought all games being released recently did. I'm happy to see the amount of support for this idea and will now DEFINITELY be moving forward with this. I thought it was a insane dream at first, and many forums I'd read had laughed at the idea. I'm not really sure why since if you're building an entertainment PC why not let it do all of the entertainment. Sure you miss out on some resolution maybe and it's not as convenient for certain styles of games, but now that I'm a more casual gamer it makes more sense.

Anyhow, my current set up is a 5.1 surround sound Polk Audio, with Klipsch sub. I have a 70 inch LED Sharp TV. I have an OLD pc that I want to convert into this set up (I understand everything in it except the drives have to be overhauled).

So what card am I looking at to achieve 1080p gaming at Ultra settings for most games? Literally, the last card I looked at was the 9800GT, and recent reviews I read for cards (I just read the 680 review awhile back), have me believing that I can now purchase a card and have it run 2 screens relatively easy (correct me if I'm wrong about that). Since I'm only gaming at 1080p with a goal of Ultra, I was looking at the 660TI and the 580. It looks like the 580 wins, and the price difference is only on average like 30-40 dollars. However, I'm not factoring in CPU or anything either yet so I dunno maybe the performance will be exactly the same if I'm CPU bound.

Conclusion
What price range am I looking at to achieve 1080p gaming at maximum graphics levels?
What graphics cards should I be looking at?(I was thinking it should be the 660TI, 580, or 7950?)
Am I even looking at the right price range?

Sorry if I'm a little bit of a scatter head, I've been studying each day for 12 hours straight for this CFA exam and it's killing me.

@skipysneeky
I see no reason purchasing a 720p HDTV when 1080p tvs are so cheap. What if you watch a movie in 1080p? Just the resolution alone is worth it. That's my 2 cents though. Since I've got a 1080p resolution screen (actually a little more) on my laptop, and since I moved to 1080p HDTVs I'd never go back. I may not benefit gaming wise that much, but it's nice for movies, anime, TV (well I rarely will get a show in 1080p), and just generally using my PC.

Again just my 2 cents.
tential is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.