Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2012, 11:15 PM   #1
ingeborgdot
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,071
Default Hard drive mystery?

I just recently built a new computer and used a couple of hard drives for my different storage drives I have used in the last two I built. I followed the same steps as before but have run into one little glitch. After I restarted my computer after putting them in they now are part of the safely remove hardware section. I should say two of them are but one of them is running like normal. What did I do wrong? What info do you need me to give.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro-(2)-ASUS VS248H-P24" Monitor-CORSAIR Hydro Series H60 Liquid CPU Cooler
ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Z77 Intel MB - EVGA 012-P3-1571-KR GTX 570 GPU
Kingston Hyper X Blu 16GB - Intel Xeon E3-1245 V2 Ivy Bridge
Antec High Current Pro HCP-750 750W Certified 80 PLUS GOLD - SAMSUNG 830 256GB SSD
3 -2TB Western Digital Black HDD - Rosewill 3.0 3.5 Internal Card Reader
1 Asus Blu Ray Burner 1 Plextor DVD Burner
ingeborgdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 01:39 AM   #2
Elixer
Diamond Member
 
Elixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,366
Default

Why do you think anything is wrong ?
That is normal, since SATA drives support hot-plugging.
__________________
The truth is incontrovertible, malice may attack it, ignorance may deride it, but in the end; there it is.

The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter.
Elixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 02:32 AM   #3
dave_the_nerd
Diamond Member
 
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 6,191
Default

You said just one of them is in the list for device removal?

Is it on a RAID-enabled port?
__________________
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 8GB RAM / GTX 660Ti / Samsung EVO 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05. NAS: Foxconn D-70S-P (Celeron 1037U) / 4GB DDR3 / Mess 'o Toshiba Drives, / APEX MI-008.
dave_the_nerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 07:56 AM   #4
ingeborgdot
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,071
Default

I figured it out. The two were in the inferior gray ports and not one of the 6 black ones that are controlled by the Z77 chip.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro-(2)-ASUS VS248H-P24" Monitor-CORSAIR Hydro Series H60 Liquid CPU Cooler
ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Z77 Intel MB - EVGA 012-P3-1571-KR GTX 570 GPU
Kingston Hyper X Blu 16GB - Intel Xeon E3-1245 V2 Ivy Bridge
Antec High Current Pro HCP-750 750W Certified 80 PLUS GOLD - SAMSUNG 830 256GB SSD
3 -2TB Western Digital Black HDD - Rosewill 3.0 3.5 Internal Card Reader
1 Asus Blu Ray Burner 1 Plextor DVD Burner
ingeborgdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 12:52 PM   #5
Auric
Diamond Member
 
Auric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 9,155
Default

More precisely, different controllers and driver combinations are presented differently. Presumably the gray ports are on a third-party controller from the likes of Marvel, JMicron, ASMedia, and so on. Even Intel controllers are presented under "Safely Remove..." if the generic Microsoft driver is used.
__________________
"I beseech you, in the bowels of Christ, think it possible that you may be mistaken."
Auric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.