Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Distributed Computing

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2012, 11:16 PM   #1
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,768
Default 660ti won't fold under winxp64 ?

I just got 2 new 660ti cards. First I installed everything. Then Firefox would not even run(loads, but just a black screen). So I uninstalled everything, then re-installed just the drivers. Now Firefox is fine, but when I start the GPU client (after cleaning work dir, queue, etc) it just hangs after calling fah_main in the log file.

WTF ?? Help please.
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 2 x 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w 2 x GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons w 2 x GTX 460
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w 2 x GTX 460
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 12:53 AM   #2
Kiska
Member
 
Kiska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 135
Default

Please post the first 20 or so lines in the log so I can analyse them. Also the kelper series F@H is still in progress of programming them so that might be why. So you might want the beta version until they can release it officially. I recommend trying BOINC seeing if it does work there.
Kiska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 03:11 AM   #3
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,768
Default

This was working fine with a single GTS250 card, then I removed it and put in a pair of 660ti cards. Below is here it stops:


Note: Please read the license agreement (Folding@home-Win32-GPU.exe -license). F
urther
use of this software requires that you have read and accepted this agreement.

[09:10:50] cudaRuntime lib not found.
[09:10:50] Gpu species not recognized.


--- Opening Log file [November 22 09:10:50 UTC]


# Windows GPU Console Edition #################################################
################################################## #############################

Folding@Home Client Version 6.30r1

http://folding.stanford.edu

################################################## #############################
################################################## #############################

Launch directory: \gpu0
Executable: \gpu0\Folding@home-Win32-GPU.exe
Arguments: -gpu 0

[09:10:50] - Ask before connecting: No
[09:10:50] - User name: Mark_F_Williams (Team 198)
[09:10:50] - User I 51FFD2E350276369
[09:10:50] - Machine I 2
[09:10:50]
[09:10:50] Gpu species not recognized.
[09:10:50] Work directory not found. Creating...
[09:10:50] Could not open work queue, generating new queue...
[09:10:50] - Preparing to get new work unit...
[09:10:50] Cleaning up work directory
[09:10:50] + Attempting to get work packet
[09:10:50] Passkey found
[09:10:50] Gpu species not recognized.
[09:10:50] - Connecting to assignment server
[09:10:51] - Successful: assigned to (171.67.108.11).
[09:10:51] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
[09:10:51] Loaded queue successfully.
[09:10:51] Gpu species not recognized.
[09:10:51] + Closed connections
[09:10:51]
[09:10:51] + Processing work unit
[09:10:51] Core required: FahCore_11.exe
[09:10:51] Core not found.
[09:10:51] - Core is not present or corrupted.
[09:10:51] - Attempting to download new core...
[09:10:51] + Downloading new core: FahCore_11.exe
[09:10:51] + 10240 bytes downloaded
[09:10:51] + 20480 bytes downloaded
[09:10:51] + 30720 bytes downloaded
[09:10:51] + 40960 bytes downloaded
[09:10:51] + 51200 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 61440 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 71680 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 81920 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 92160 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 102400 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 112640 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 122880 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 133120 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 143360 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 153600 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 163840 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 174080 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 184320 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 194560 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 204800 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 215040 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 225280 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 235520 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 245760 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 256000 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 266240 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 276480 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 286720 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 296960 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 307200 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 317440 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 327680 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 337920 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 348160 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 358400 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 368640 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 378880 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 389120 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 399360 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 409600 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 419840 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 430080 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 440320 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 450560 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 460800 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 471040 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 481280 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 491520 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 501760 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 512000 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 522240 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 532480 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 542720 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 552960 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 563200 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 573440 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 583680 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 593920 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 604160 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 614400 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 624640 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 634880 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 645120 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 655360 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] + 665067 bytes downloaded
[09:10:52] Verifying core Core_11.fah...
[09:10:52] Signature is VALID
[09:10:52]
[09:10:52] Trying to unzip core FahCore_11.exe
[09:10:52] Decompressed FahCore_11.exe (1908736 bytes) successfully
[09:10:57] + Core successfully engaged
[09:11:03]
[09:11:03] + Processing work unit
[09:11:03] Core required: FahCore_11.exe
[09:11:03] Core found.
[09:11:03] Working on queue slot 01 [November 22 09:11:03 UTC]
[09:11:03] + Working ...
[09:11:03]
[09:11:03] *------------------------------*
[09:11:03] Folding@Home GPU Core
[09:11:03] Version 1.31 (Tue Sep 15 10:57:42 PDT 2009)
[09:11:03]
[09:11:03] Compiler : Microsoft (R) 32-bit C/C++ Optimizing Compiler Version 14
.00.50727.762 for 80x86
[09:11:03] Build host: amoeba
[09:11:03] Board Type: Nvidia
[09:11:03] Core :
[09:11:03] Preparing to commence simulation
[09:11:03] - Looking at optimizations...
[09:11:03] DeleteFrameFiles: successfully deleted file=work/wudata_01.ckp
[09:11:03] - Created dyn
[09:11:03] - Files status OK
[09:11:03] - Expanded 45442 -> 251112 (decompressed 552.5 percent)
[09:11:03] Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=45442 data_size=2511
12, decompressed_data_size=251112 diff=0
[09:11:03] - Digital signature verified
[09:11:03]
[09:11:03] Project: 5772 (Run 0, Clone 268, Gen 2520)
[09:11:03]
[09:11:03] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[09:11:03] Entering M.D.
[09:11:09] Tpr hash work/wudata_01.tpr: 4207025310 2299159391 509117299 2045732
264 3139416912
[09:11:09]
[09:11:09] Calling fah_main args: 14 usage=100
[09:11:09]
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 2 x 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w 2 x GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons w 2 x GTX 460
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w 2 x GTX 460
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 03:18 AM   #4
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,768
Default

I am using 304.87j drivers according to gpu-z. I also tried with the forcegpu flag, no go.
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 2 x 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w 2 x GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons w 2 x GTX 460
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w 2 x GTX 460
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 03:39 AM   #5
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,768
Default

I downloaded a new client from stanford, and now here is what I get, but it still hangs.


Note: Please read the license agreement (Folding@home-Win32-gpu.exe -license). F
urther
use of this software requires that you have read and accepted this agreement.

[09:37:57] Gpu type=2 species=30.


--- Opening Log file [November 22 09:37:57 UTC]


# Windows GPU Console Edition #################################################
################################################## #############################

Folding@Home Client Version 6.41r2

http://folding.stanford.edu

################################################## #############################
################################################## #############################

Launch directory: \gpu0
Executable: \gpu0\Folding@home-Win32-gpu.exe
Arguments: -gpu 0

[09:37:57] - Ask before connecting: No
[09:37:57] - User name: Mark_F_Williams (Team 198)
[09:37:57] - User I 51FFD2E350276369
[09:37:57] - Machine I 2
[09:37:57]
[09:37:57] Gpu type=2 species=30.
[09:37:57] Loaded queue successfully.
[09:37:57]
[09:37:57] + Processing work unit
[09:37:57] Core required: FahCore_11.exe
[09:37:57] Core found.
[09:37:58] Working on queue slot 01 [November 22 09:37:58 UTC]
[09:37:58] + Working ...
[09:37:58]
[09:37:58] *------------------------------*
[09:37:58] Folding@Home GPU Core
[09:37:58] Version 1.31 (Tue Sep 15 10:57:42 PDT 2009)
[09:37:58]
[09:37:58] Compiler : Microsoft (R) 32-bit C/C++ Optimizing Compiler Version 14
.00.50727.762 for 80x86
[09:37:58] Build host: amoeba
[09:37:58] Board Type: Nvidia
[09:37:58] Core :
[09:37:58] Preparing to commence simulation
[09:37:58] - Ensuring status. Please wait.
[09:38:07] - Looking at optimizations...
[09:38:07] - Working with standard loops on this execution.
[09:38:07] - Previous termination of core was improper.
[09:38:07] - Files status OK
[09:38:07] - Expanded 45442 -> 251112 (decompressed 552.5 percent)
[09:38:07] Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=45442 data_size=2511
12, decompressed_data_size=251112 diff=0
[09:38:07] - Digital signature verified
[09:38:07]
[09:38:07] Project: 5772 (Run 0, Clone 268, Gen 2520)
[09:38:07]
[09:38:07] Entering M.D.
[09:38:13] Tpr hash work/wudata_01.tpr: 4207025310 2299159391 509117299 2045732
264 3139416912
[09:38:13]
[09:38:13] Calling fah_main args: 14 usage=100
[09:38:13]
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 2 x 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w 2 x GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons w 2 x GTX 460
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w 2 x GTX 460
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 03:55 AM   #6
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,187
Default

For V7 client: http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=83&t=22458

For V6 client I think you have to join beta testers to fold on a Kepler gpu.


http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=59&t=22395
__________________
Crunch for TeAm Anandtech!!

Q9550, GTX460, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux
2600K, GTX660Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX780Ti, Linux, Win8 dual boot
biodoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 12:20 PM   #7
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,768
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biodoc View Post
For V7 client: http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=83&t=22458

For V6 client I think you have to join beta testers to fold on a Kepler gpu.


http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=59&t=22395
I saw tht, and did not understand the version numbers, but I downloaded v7, and now they are folding. 26k ppd each. But I can't figure out how to add to my HFM.net. I found a log file under the data folder for each card, but when I select that, it apparently doesn't know how to read the log file.
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 2 x 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w 2 x GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons w 2 x GTX 460
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w 2 x GTX 460
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 03:23 PM   #8
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markfw900 View Post
I saw tht, and did not understand the version numbers, but I downloaded v7, and now they are folding. 26k ppd each. But I can't figure out how to add to my HFM.net. I found a log file under the data folder for each card, but when I select that, it apparently doesn't know how to read the log file.
Unfortunately, HFM.net doesn't work with v7 client. Bummer.

26k ppd for 660ti. How does that compare with gtx570?
__________________
Crunch for TeAm Anandtech!!

Q9550, GTX460, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux
2600K, GTX660Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX780Ti, Linux, Win8 dual boot
biodoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 05:07 PM   #9
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,768
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biodoc View Post
Unfortunately, HFM.net doesn't work with v7 client. Bummer.

26k ppd for 660ti. How does that compare with gtx570?
I only have 2 560ti's and they get at most 20k. Right now one of those is getting 15, and the other less than 8, I don't understand why, they are all dedicated folding boxes, nothing else running.
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 2 x 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w 2 x GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons w 2 x GTX 460
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w 2 x GTX 460
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 10:25 PM   #10
Kiska
Member
 
Kiska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 135
Default

Thats the problem. Nvidia deliberately downgraded their compute power for projects like F@H and PrimeGrid Generalized Fermat.
Kiska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 12:34 PM   #11
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,768
Default

Well, they get 26k for BOTH, crap. my 560ti's used to do 20k each. These were supposed to be almost 50% more points in F@H per the benchmarks I saw.
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 2 x 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w 2 x GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons w 2 x GTX 460
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w 2 x GTX 460
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 01:50 PM   #12
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markfw900 View Post
Well, they get 26k for BOTH, crap. my 560ti's used to do 20k each. These were supposed to be almost 50% more points in F@H per the benchmarks I saw.
So 13K ppd for the 660Ti. Jeez, I was thinking of buying one for the race. Maybe I'll test my 570GTX and then decide on buying another one or a 660Ti.
__________________
Crunch for TeAm Anandtech!!

Q9550, GTX460, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux
2600K, GTX660Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX780Ti, Linux, Win8 dual boot
biodoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 03:07 PM   #13
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markfw900 View Post
But I can't figure out how to add to my HFM.net. I found a log file under the data folder for each card, but when I select that, it apparently doesn't know how to read the log file.
The latest version of HFM.net does work for v7 and v6 clients. For adding a v7 client, the dialog box asks for an address (host name or IP address) and a password, if applicable. It automatically detected both the gpu and cpu slots. cool.
__________________
Crunch for TeAm Anandtech!!

Q9550, GTX460, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux
2600K, GTX660Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX780Ti, Linux, Win8 dual boot
biodoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 04:22 PM   #14
Markfw900
Super Moderator
Elite Member
CPUs & Overclocking
Video Cards & Graphics
 
Markfw900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 12,768
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biodoc View Post
The latest version of HFM.net does work for v7 and v6 clients. For adding a v7 client, the dialog box asks for an address (host name or IP address) and a password, if applicable. It automatically detected both the gpu and cpu slots. cool.
Well, my IP is 192.168.1.2, but when I click "test connection" I get nothing.

I have no password set to boot. But port 36330 ???

Well, I tried 127.0.0.1, and now it sees them both. and Yes 26k ppd is what they get total. At the moment the 560ti's are getting 7k and 10k, so maybe its the units ???

crap
__________________
I7 3930k @ 4500 on Asrock Extreme 7, 24 gig ram w 2 x 660ti
I7 920 @ 3800 on X58 extreme w 2 x GTX 460
2 x I7 950's@4080 on UD3R w 2 x GTX 470 + 2 x 560ti
KGPE-D16 + 2 6234 Opterons w 2 x GTX 460
2600k @ 4.4 ghz 1.35 vcore w 2 x GTX 460
2 x Xeon 5639@2.8 on SR-2
2 x Xeon E5660's@2.8
My RX-8

Last edited by Markfw900; 11-25-2012 at 04:30 PM.
Markfw900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 05:20 PM   #15
DooKey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 676
Default

It's just the WU you are folding. My 660Ti gets 18-19K PPD on 8018 WU.
__________________
4770K @4.5|GA-Z87X-UD4H|16gb G.SKILL 1866|EVGA GTX 690 Signature Edition|Samsung EVO 1TB SSD|Dell U2711|Sliverstone Raven RV02B-EW|Corsair AX1200 PSU
DooKey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.