Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2012, 01:48 PM   #1
dawks
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 5,029
Default Strange connection problem

RESOLVED

I have a corp network here with 50+ PC's, each using an internal DNS server. For some reason one computer on our network can no longer communicate with that DNS server. (It can occasionally). I can't ping it, and it wont resolve DNS queries. That computer can ping all other hosts on the network. All other hosts can ping the server fine. There is nothing specific about how this computer connects to the server. I have tried replacing its network cable, replacing its switch, by-passing the switch, rebooting, etc. An arp shows the computer has the correct MAC for the server.

Any ideas?

Last edited by dawks; 11-21-2012 at 03:00 PM.
dawks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 02:14 PM   #2
Qrilock
Member
 
Qrilock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 100
Default

Does the server have the correct mac for this computer in it's arp table?
__________________
Time to stop lurking, Time to annoy people! ...Ok, I lied. *hides*
Qrilock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 03:00 PM   #3
dawks
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 5,029
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qrilock View Post
Does the server have the correct mac for this computer in it's arp table?
Thanks for the tip. When pinging the IP of the troubled workstation from the server, I did get a different MAC address (the MAC of a shift checking 'attendance' scanner. Even though the server is also a DHCP server and was handing out the IP to the troubled computer.

I resolved the problem thanks to this... Love random problems.
dawks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.