Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Power Supplies

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-18-2012, 11:46 AM   #1
Mfusick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 500
Default Good PSU for 16 HDD flexRaid server on WHS2011?

I have Cosmos II case. Planning a 3570k.

My main concern is SATA power as its mostly HDDs with no video cards.

I'll have two super micro SATA pci x8 cards.
Mfusick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 01:56 PM   #2
aaksheytalwar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,137
Default

How can you have no video cards?

Getting a 1000 watts quality psu should be more than enough though even a 850 watts may cut it just fine.
__________________
3770k @ 4.3 with H100i, Asus Z77 Deluxe, Samsung 30nm 4x4gb ddr3 @ 1866 9-9-9-28 1T, MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G, Coolermaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300 watts, Crucial M4 512gb, 3x Seagate 7200.14 3TB each
aaksheytalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 01:59 PM   #3
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,998
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaksheytalwar View Post
How can you have no video cards?
Step 1. don't buy a video card
Step 2. connect monitor to motherboard
Step 3. profit!
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 04:14 PM   #4
MaxICH
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
Step 1. don't buy a video card
Step 2. connect monitor to motherboard
Step 3. profit!
Good one!
MaxICH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 05:01 PM   #5
Mfusick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
Step 1. don't buy a video card
Step 2. connect monitor to motherboard
Step 3. profit!
Lol. I laughed.

Yeah I have a video card in my desktop.

My server will use intel integrated graphics.
Mfusick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 05:03 PM   #6
Mfusick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 500
Default

I was thinking 600 watts is enough ??

20 watts per HDD is only 260 watts. A normal integrated build runs fine on 300 watt PSU

So 600 seemed good. I could buy more but I doubt I'll need it.

Looking for a good PSU with lots if SATA power good for server

Suggestions
Mfusick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 05:10 PM   #7
OVerLoRDI
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5,340
Default

Oh boy, that is a lot of hard drives.

Hard drives are good for what, 20-25 watts max? Maybe a little more during initial spin up?

You'd be fine with a decent 600 watt PSU. Maybe even a 500 watt like the Corsair 500 watt builder series.
__________________
TROOPER: Caselabs M8, i5 3570k, 16gb DDR3, 2x7970, X-1050
TARDIS: 750D, i5 2550k, 8gb DDR3, 7970, AX850, 8TB storage
CUBE: INWIN BQS656, Celeron something?, 4gb RAM, 32gb SSD
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=73710
OVerLoRDI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 05:34 PM   #8
Phantomaniac
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 257
Default

You will likely want a PSU with a lot of amps on a single 12v rail. That way you'll know for sure there will be no issues with the initial power spike on boot.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151119

This is a higher wattage version of what I have. I run 7 HDDs on the 360w version and I'm sure I could run a few more.
__________________
Desktop: Core i7 920 @ 3.5Ghz (1.2v) || MSI X58 Platinum || G.Skill 12GB DDR3 || EVGA GTX 660 || 120GB Crucial M500 || Rosewill CAPSTONE-550
FreeNAS Server: Xeon L5240 || Supermicro X7DCL-3 || Crucial 16GB DDR2 || 2 x 1TB WD Black (Mirror)|| 4 x 2TB WD Green (RAID-Z1) || SeaSonic SSR-360GP
Gadgets: Desire 601 || Nook HD+
Phantomaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:32 PM   #9
WhoBeDaPlaya
Diamond Member
 
WhoBeDaPlaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 5,915
Default

Both of my identical 15x 7200rpm drive, Phenom II X4 @ 3.6GHz fileservers run on Corsair TX750s. No problem with the HDD motor inrush current.
__________________
Main : Silverstone TJ09S - 4770K @ 4.6GHz - Z87-GD65 - 32GB Ballistix 1866 CL9 - Twin Frozr 780 - X-Fi Ti Fatal1ty Pro - BFG EX-1000 - Kuhler 920 - 6x NF-P12 - 840 Pro 512GB - F3 1TB - WH16NS40 - Logitech G19S - 2x Klipsch Promedia 2.1
HTPC : CM Stacker 830 - FX 8320 - M5A99FX Pro R2 - 8GB Ballistix 1600 CL8 - XFX 5670 - SeaSonic S12G-750 - 6x CF-V12HP - 16x HGST 5K4000 4TB - DW1640
Laptop : Clevo w230ss - i7 4810MQ - 16GB 1600 CL9 - GTX 860M - M500 240GB - HGST Travelstar 7200 1TB
WhoBeDaPlaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:49 PM   #10
Mfusick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 500
Default

It's on 25/7 btw.. But I'll spin down when idle
Mfusick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:32 PM   #11
WhoBeDaPlaya
Diamond Member
 
WhoBeDaPlaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 5,915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
It's on 25/7 btw.. But I'll spin down when idle
So's mine. It's more the inrush at cold startups that's the problem, unless you have a BIOS capable of doing staggered spin-ups.
__________________
Main : Silverstone TJ09S - 4770K @ 4.6GHz - Z87-GD65 - 32GB Ballistix 1866 CL9 - Twin Frozr 780 - X-Fi Ti Fatal1ty Pro - BFG EX-1000 - Kuhler 920 - 6x NF-P12 - 840 Pro 512GB - F3 1TB - WH16NS40 - Logitech G19S - 2x Klipsch Promedia 2.1
HTPC : CM Stacker 830 - FX 8320 - M5A99FX Pro R2 - 8GB Ballistix 1600 CL8 - XFX 5670 - SeaSonic S12G-750 - 6x CF-V12HP - 16x HGST 5K4000 4TB - DW1640
Laptop : Clevo w230ss - i7 4810MQ - 16GB 1600 CL9 - GTX 860M - M500 240GB - HGST Travelstar 7200 1TB
WhoBeDaPlaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 11:41 PM   #12
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 26,745
Default

24/7, I hope you mean.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 03:10 AM   #13
Mfusick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 500
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
24/7, I hope you mean.
Yeah. Lol. Typo
Mfusick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 04:22 AM   #14
_Rick_
Diamond Member
 
_Rick_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,390
Default

I'm running 12 drives on a 430W Seasonic PSU, with an i5 650 (73W TDP class).
No staggered spin up.

Never had issues with the PSU, except for one that died, but after 4 years or so, well within acceptable PSU death parameters....

So I'd say anything above 500W is utter overkill, in fact 450W should be enough. Just make sure to get enough SATA adapters and Y-connectors to get everything wired up.


You might want to consider getting a Xeon and a C216 board instead, as ECC support is quite nice to have, and the added cost pales next to 16 HDDs. Plus, you may be able to get a board with full AMT support. Makes headless operation much less painful, if you get it to work. (SeaMicro X9SAE boards and a Xeon 1220V2 or 1265LV2 would be my recommendation)
_Rick_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 04:36 PM   #15
Mfusick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 500
Default

I have a 400 watt now and a 460 watt.

I'm just concerned splitting the two SATA power lines with so many splitters ....

I'd like something more appropriate I think.

Budget $100 or less. I can use PSU I have now for another project.

I have:

Antec neo 400 watt ( in my HTPC)
Coolermaster 460 watt cheapo I got new egg egg saver for 25$. Only has two SATA power lines. Not modular.
Rosewill lightning 1000 watt modular installed in my desktop.

I'm planning on using my desktop case (cosmos II) for server so I guess I could just get another PSU for desktop instead but it seemed overkill.
Mfusick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 06:00 PM   #16
imagoon
Diamond Member
 
imagoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,897
Default

I always ball park 20-25watts for start up ~12 for operation. This of course depends on the drive. If you have Greens or Reds that have a seek power of <4watts then you can often get away with less power. Also you could use PUIS (reds do have this (pins 3/4 I think))

16 red drives only would use 64watts in normal use so a small psu could run it. run a bunch of 15k rpm drives at 12-15watts -> 240. Design around your drive.
imagoon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:06 AM   #17
_Rick_
Diamond Member
 
_Rick_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,390
Default

The Super Flower Golden Green Modular 600W ATX 2.3 (SF-600P14XE) has 10x SATA and 9x IDE, so with 6x IDE-SATA adapters, you should be able to do without Y-connectors.
Price should be around US$100.
Below 600W, there's the Antec TruePower New TP-550, 550W ATX 2.3 (0761345-07657-9/0761345-07658-6), but that's not cheaper, less efficient, using a smaller fan, only 9x SATA.
Antec has 5 year warranty though.

To get 16x SATA out of the box, you'll be looking at this: Enermax Revolution85+ 850W ATX 2.3 (ERV850EWT) at 200 dollar, and vastly overpowered. For the same price, and slightly more efficient, supposedly, there's also this: SilverStone Strider Gold Series 1200W ATX 2.3 (SST-ST1200-G)
_Rick_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 01:45 PM   #18
Mfusick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Rick_ View Post
The Super Flower Golden Green Modular 600W ATX 2.3 (SF-600P14XE) has 10x SATA and 9x IDE, so with 6x IDE-SATA adapters, you should be able to do without Y-connectors.
Price should be around US$100.
Below 600W, there's the Antec TruePower New TP-550, 550W ATX 2.3 (0761345-07657-9/0761345-07658-6), but that's not cheaper, less efficient, using a smaller fan, only 9x SATA.
Antec has 5 year warranty though.

To get 16x SATA out of the box, you'll be looking at this: Enermax Revolution85+ 850W ATX 2.3 (ERV850EWT) at 200 dollar, and vastly overpowered. For the same price, and slightly more efficient, supposedly, there's also this: SilverStone Strider Gold Series 1200W ATX 2.3 (SST-ST1200-G)

That's basically same as Rosewill lightning.

I'm basically thinking a modular that I can use more SATA power would make sense
Mfusick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 02:38 AM   #19
_Rick_
Diamond Member
 
_Rick_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,390
Default

Well, I guess you have to ask around your social network, to find out whether people are more likely to have extra modular cables lying around, or extra 4-pin - SATA adapters. The latter work always and are/were included with a lot of mainboards in the last few years, the former are more practical, but tend to have custom attachments on the PSU side.

You can probably get one of those for free. Once you do find a PSU that has 4/5 outlets for SATA/IDE power that match your acquired cable.
_Rick_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 11:34 AM   #20
Mfusick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 500
Default

Thanks keep the ideas coming... I am looking for deal under $100.

Last edited by Mfusick; 12-01-2012 at 09:39 AM.
Mfusick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 08:28 PM   #21
Mfusick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 500
Default

any more suggestions?
Mfusick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 03:11 PM   #22
bigi
Golden Member
 
bigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,437
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
I have Cosmos II case. Planning a 3570k.

My main concern is SATA power as its mostly HDDs with no video cards.

I'll have two super micro SATA pci x8 cards.
Get a good unit 500-600W will do.
Make sure you have staggered HDD spin up set up adequately to your # of HDDs.

Startups are what is killing PSUs/Arrays.
__________________
"I'm sick of being so healthy" - H.Simpson
bigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 05:11 PM   #23
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 26,745
Default

I have an Enhance 500W (ENP-GH5150 or something like that). It was an old Hot Deal, for like $14 or $16 at Geeks.com. I bought ten of them. Had a couple left over, decided to use one for my server box. Server has ten 2TB HDs, all Hitachi, six 7200RPM and four 5400RPM drives. No problems with spinup. Mobo is P35, CPU is Q6600, not overclocked.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.