Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2012, 04:40 PM   #1
Dari
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 16,173
Default Aero effects are in slow motion

I have a computer with Windows 7 Professional and a GTX 460 card. The Windows 7 animation have been running slowly over the past couple of days. I'm not sure what it is. I thought it was the Nvidia card or HDD but when I ran the Windows Experience Index it came out HIGHER than before for the HDD (and stayed at 7.9 for the graphics card). This problem has been happening for the past month. It goes away when I do an F8 and choose "Last Known Good COnfiguration" but that did not work this time. The computer runs the same as before except when it comes to games, videos, and Aero. I think this problem may have started when I upgraded the Nvidia video drivers last month but I'm not 100% positive. Any help would be appreciated...

EDIT: I would also like to add that the POST process also slows to a crawl whenever this happens as well. And this is before the computer even boots into Windows.

Last edited by Dari; 11-19-2012 at 04:46 PM.
Dari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:56 PM   #2
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,712
Default

Give system spec. plz. and i would say if it all started after nvidia upgrade.that is probably the cause.did you do a clean install.
__________________
Motherboard+ram+cpu+hdd+psu.and it works
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 07:32 PM   #3
Dari
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 16,173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by denis280 View Post
Give system spec. plz. and i would say if it all started after nvidia upgrade.that is probably the cause.did you do a clean install.
System spec is i7 870 at 2.93 Ghz, 8GB Memory, 2 HDDs in Raid 1, several other HDDs, and the GTX 460.

I have no interest in doing a clean install because I have a lot of important programs and, besides, I'll be building a new computer anyway. I want to believe it's the Nvidia drivers but the problem starts before the computer boots into Windows. The POST process is very slow.
Dari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 08:06 PM   #4
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,496
Default

Shut the system down and check all of the cables, addin cards, and DRAM modules, making sure they are tightly seated. Then restart the system -- as soon as the desktop comes up, make a note of the system time in the system tray. Check the Windows system log for any warnings or errors occurring in the 5 minutes prior to the noted time (it probably wouldn't hurt to check the application log as well). Were it me, I would also download diagnostic software from the web site of the hard drive manufacturer to check for problems along with running a MEMTEST86+ session to boot.

You might also consider uninstalling and reinstalling the video drivers (you might need to manually uninstall the nVidia driver before reinstalling -- Google it if you don't know how). If it doesn't seem to fix the problem, you might consider jumping back to the prior driver revision to see if it might be a bug in the current driver.

Last edited by Steltek; 11-19-2012 at 08:59 PM.
Steltek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 02:20 PM   #5
Dari
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 16,173
Default

I updated the Nvidia drivers to the latest ones (beta, this time). WHen I rebooted, the problem was still there. So I turned off the computer last night and put the power supply switch to "off". When I woke up this morning and turned on the computer, everything is working fine again. Not sure what is wrong.
Dari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 03:42 PM   #6
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,743
Default

scan for malware. You might be infected. Download GPU-Z or EVGA Precision Legacy version, and check the GPU utilization. If it is high when the computer is idle, then you may be part of a distributed-computing botnet. Your computer could be cracking passwords for criminals.

Edit: Although, that doesn't explain slow POST. Try removing all USB devices, except for mouse/keyboard.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 06:50 PM   #7
Dari
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 16,173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
scan for malware. You might be infected. Download GPU-Z or EVGA Precision Legacy version, and check the GPU utilization. If it is high when the computer is idle, then you may be part of a distributed-computing botnet. Your computer could be cracking passwords for criminals.

Edit: Although, that doesn't explain slow POST. Try removing all USB devices, except for mouse/keyboard.
GPU load fluctuates between 1-4%...
I've scanned for viruses and malware using MalwareBytes, Kaspersky, Bitdefender, and MSE. Nothing has come up. This problem has been happening on and off for a month now.
Dari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 12:28 AM   #8
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,712
Default

open a CMD a run a CHKDSK
__________________
Motherboard+ram+cpu+hdd+psu.and it works
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 09:15 AM   #9
Dari
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 16,173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by denis280 View Post
open a CMD a run a CHKDSK
I've ran it when it had this problem in the past and there were no errors or bad sectors...
Dari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 06:39 PM   #10
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dari View Post
I've ran it when it had this problem in the past and there were no errors or bad sectors...
did you also try a sfc/ scannow
__________________
Motherboard+ram+cpu+hdd+psu.and it works
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 08:15 PM   #11
Smoove910
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nampa, Idaho
Posts: 1,104
Default

ctrl/alt/del and open a task manager. See if it gives you any clues under 'processes'. Could be some random (unknown) program that is taking your CPU cycles. Also, go through your 'add/remove' programs list and see if there's anything in there that you don't think should be.
__________________
Mobo: Biostar TA880GU3+ uATX
Proc: AMD Phenom II 960T unlocked/6 cores @ 3.5ghz
Ram: (4) 4gb GSkill 1600mhz (16gb total)
HDDs: (2) 640GB WD AAKS, (1) 750GB Seagate Ext
Vid: Sapphire 6870 1gb DDR5 1000mhz core, 1100 mhz mem
Camera: Pentax K5, I'm not a Canikon fanboy.
Smoove910 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 10:34 PM   #12
zebrax2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 817
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dari View Post
I updated the Nvidia drivers to the latest ones (beta, this time). WHen I rebooted, the problem was still there. So I turned off the computer last night and put the power supply switch to "off". When I woke up this morning and turned on the computer, everything is working fine again. Not sure what is wrong.
Maybe the CPU/GPU is overheating/throttling. Check your CPU/GPU temps.
zebrax2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 08:20 PM   #13
Dari
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 16,173
Default

How is it doing that when I rarely use it for what it was made for? It was acting up again today. My wife turned on the computer Friday and today and it was slow as hell. I came home later in the day and turned it on and it was slow as well. When I turned off the computer, turned the power switch off and on and restarted the computer, it was normal again.
Dari is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.