Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2012, 10:49 PM   #1
MrBighouse
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 13
Default Enabling Trim on Samsung 840

I've had my 840 for about two weeks now and the first thing I did was to download trim enabler. The problem is I'm not sure if it is actually working. S.M.A.R.T is not populating any data other than up time and Power cycle count. Any idea if it is working right? I am running snow leopard (still.. yes i know)

Thanks for your help.

Marc

MrBighouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 02:33 AM   #2
Coup27
Golden Member
 
Coup27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,794
Default

Crystaldiskinfo is for Windows only.

OP - Maybe if you can find a mac alternative to crystaldiskinfo it will highlight which commands are being sent?
__________________
Intel i5 4670 | Asus H87I-PLUS | Corsair XMS3 2x4GB | Samsung 840 Evo 120GB SSD | WD Green 3TB HDD | Seasonic SS-360GP | Lian-Li PC-Q27B mITX | Dell 23" IPS Monitor
Coup27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:48 AM   #3
MrBighouse
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 13
Default

The search continues. Thanks for your help guys.
MrBighouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:58 AM   #4
MrBighouse
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 13
Default

I think I might have found the answer to my question. Seems I installed a 64 bit version of trim enabler.. I guess snow leopard should be installing the 32bit version.

http://www.groths.org/?p=785#comments
MrBighouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.