Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Motherboards

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2012, 08:00 PM   #1
rottencurry
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 49
Red face BSOD Problem with ASUS PZ68-v after Pressing "Restore Optimized Defaults"

I was messing around with the voltage of my CPU, an i5 3570k, to make the voltage lower. I do not overclock but it was still too high. Everything was fine until I followed the tutorial and pressed restore optimized defaults in the BIOS so I could start from scratch. I then looked at a tutorial on how to lower voltage. I followed every step, but now I can't boot into Windows Ultimate 64 bit. As soon as I get to the windows logo I get BSOD. My computer has been working fine for 7 months and I've tested the memory before, so I'm sure it is something with the BIOS. I don't know if when I clicked restore optimized defaults it changed everything or just the CPU configurations, but I'm thinking it changed everything.

I really don't know how to change it. Is there some things I should change in the BIOS to see if it would work? I'm thinking I disabled something when i clicked restore optimized defaults. I changed everything in the AI Tweaker menu (CPU menu) to what it was before ( voltage and disabled and enabled settings) so I'm pretty sure the problem lies somewhere else in the BIOS, I just need to know what to do. I remember when I first built my computer I had a problem loading into Windows but I'm blanking out on what I did to fix it. Is there some things I should enable and disable in the BIOS to see if it will boot?

From clicking restore optimized defaults, did that somehow mess up my installation of Windows 7? Does that mean I have to install it again? I don't think I have a repair disk. If I have Windows 7 64 bit and then try to install it again will it work and not delete anything? Is that basically what a repair disk is? I'm really new to this stuff, sorry for asking so many questions.

Any help is appreciated.

  • ASUS PZ68-v
  • 8 GB of RAM
  • i5 3570k CPU
  • Intel Graphics 4000
  • 850 W Power Supply
rottencurry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:49 PM   #2
GPz1100
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 337
Default

Did you change your sata mode when you initially installed? Check to see if it's set to ahci or raid or ide. Typically the boards default to ahci these days.
__________________
Living reality in a dream

p8z77v-deluxe, 3770K @ 4.6, +.050V offset, LLC at high, xspc raystorm/ex360 WC
GPz1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:27 PM   #3
bankster55
Golden Member
 
bankster55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,124
Default

yeah, and if you are running IGPU (Intel HD 4000 onboard video) you have to change primary boot in graphics config in bios to IGPU

Next time put in a FAT32 usb stick and hit f12 on ea bios page top and middle and bottom to record all your settings.

AFTER you get video, you should just flip up the TPU switch on mobo (led lights up) which will give you a nice reliable overclock (reboot twice)
But always set XMP profile in OC tweaker first for RAM

Optimized defaults changed everything, including turning ON all onboard devices
__________________
I actually have ~8000 AT posts, was in first group to join Sep. 99 (text only format) - just too lazy to import my info. In fact, its kinda nice to be anonymous. Remember those live meet and greet other local AT members OT threads?

bankster55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 05:57 AM   #4
rottencurry
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 49
Default Thanks

Thanks for the quick responses. I'll try it out later today
rottencurry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 03:52 PM   #5
vailr
Diamond Member
 
vailr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 4,243
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GPz1100 View Post
Did you change your sata mode when you initially installed? Check to see if it's set to ahci or raid or ide. Typically the boards default to ahci these days.
AFAIK:
Z68 boards default to IDE mode.
Z77 boards default to AHCI mode.
__________________



vailr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 03:57 PM   #6
rottencurry
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 49
Default

Ok, so I went to SATA configuration and enabled all the hot plugs because they were all disabled. I also made the primary display iGPU. Is that what I was supposed to do or do I have to enable it somewhere else? Also should I change Serial Port settings? I'm just trying everything now. I still get BSOD.

Last edited by rottencurry; 11-20-2012 at 04:31 PM.
rottencurry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 04:17 PM   #7
GPz1100
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 337
Default

Chances are, when you installed windows, you didn't use ide, so i'd do either ahci or raid, depending on your config.

Something also to keep in mind, if you install with it set to ahci, then later decide to do raid, it may be a bit of a challenge to get the drivers updated in windows. I recall skimming over some guides on how to do it, but it's a pain. Otherwise, windows just doesn't boot because the driver configured in it doesn't match the bios setting.
__________________
Living reality in a dream

p8z77v-deluxe, 3770K @ 4.6, +.050V offset, LLC at high, xspc raystorm/ex360 WC
GPz1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 04:40 PM   #8
rottencurry
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 49
Default

For the graphics the iGPU memory is set to 64M. Should i raise it? Kind of off topic, but whatever. I set it to AHCI and it still won't boot. Should I try IDE?
rottencurry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 05:05 PM   #9
rottencurry
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 49
Default

YES! I changed thing to IDE and now it booted and everything is fine. Thanks for all the help. It was set to ACHI by default and I wouldn't have even thought of changing it if you guys didn't tell me.

Last edited by rottencurry; 11-20-2012 at 06:18 PM.
rottencurry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.