Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2012, 08:41 AM   #1
lilvaratep
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 127
Default i5-3570k. CPU doesn't downclock when idle.(overclocked)

I've overclocked my 3570k to 4.2ghz @ stock 1.2v. I have EIST enabled, Turbo boost enabled, C1E SUPPORT enabled, and Intel C-States enabled with c-state package limits on auto. The volts as well as the multipliers dont downclock when they are idle. the only way I could get the volts to automatically reduce is if I set the volts to auto, but then it will overvolt above 1.2 when on load. Any way to overcome these problems?
lilvaratep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:37 AM   #2
Idontcare
Administrator
Elite Member
 
Idontcare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 台北市
Posts: 20,317
Default

What is your mobo?

FWIW on ASUS mobo's if you leave the mobo to its default settings then it will default the VRM Phase control to "Extreme" in which case the mobo never allows the CPU to reduce its multipliers when C1E and EIST call for reducing the multiplier at idle.

To get around this you must go into the BIOS and manually set the phase control to anything other than extreme or auto, try the optimal or standard settings and see if it improves.
Idontcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:53 AM   #3
lilvaratep
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 127
Default

I have msi gd65 z77


I believe the phase control is off. does this need to be on?
lilvaratep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:40 AM   #4
TJCS
Senior Member
 
TJCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 859
Default

Also, the minimum processor state in Windows Power Options should be set to 5%.
__________________
3570K @ 4.4 +.04 | Megahalem | Z77 Extreme4 | 30nm DDR3 @ 2000 | M4 256 | 850HX

TJCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:52 AM   #5
Idontcare
Administrator
Elite Member
 
Idontcare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 台北市
Posts: 20,317
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lilvaratep View Post
I have msi gd65 z77


I believe the phase control is off. does this need to be on?
Sorry, I have no experience with MSI mobos...you might be better off asking about this in the Motherboards subforum.
Idontcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 11:19 AM   #6
lilvaratep
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 127
Default

as for power options in windows7, the only processor option available is to set the cpu cooling, which is on active. the state options dont show up for me, but in the registry i believe they are 5% for min and 100% on max
lilvaratep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 11:52 AM   #7
dma0991
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,693
Default

I didn't adjust much on my board. Increase clockspeed, set voltage to manual, dial in the required voltage, adjust RAM speed if necessary and check if EIST and Cstates are enabled. CPU-Z will show that the clockspeed only ramps up under load. Under idle conditions, it will remain at 1.6GHz.

Here's my overclock profile for the MSI Z77A-GD65 but it is only suitable for BIOS 10.6. Put it in a thumbdrive and load it from the BIOS. Be aware that it is set at 4.5GHz@1.295V. If yours ramps down with my BIOS, tweak it to your preferred clockspeed and voltage.
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K [4.5GHz @ 1.28V]|MSI Z77A-GD65|Samsung MV-3V4G3D 16GB 1866MHz@9-9-9-24/1.35V|Powercolor HD4650|Corsair Force GT 120GB|Samsung F3 1TB|Corsair CX500|Corsair 400R|XSPC Raystorm + XSPC EX240 + EK DCP 4.0
Intel Core i7 2600|ASRock H61M/U3S3|Kingston HyperX 8GB|Intel HD2000|WD Blue 320GB|Samsung F4EG 2TB|WD Green 2TB|WD Green 3TB|WD Green 3TB|FSP SAGA II 500W|CM Elite 343
| |
dma0991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 11:55 AM   #8
lilvaratep
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 127
Default

Ahh, I never updated my BIOS - should I do that? I think it's currently on 10.5 but will check when I get home. How would I go about updating the bios?

Did you set package limit on c states or did you set it to auto? also, what about your C1E support?
lilvaratep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:19 PM   #9
dma0991
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,693
Default

Probably you should but it shouldn't be a problem either way. Those settings worked fine with my original BIOS which way older than 10.5, A2. The only thing is that my older OC profiles wouldn't work with the newer BIOS so I had to create new ones for the updated BIOS.

Download the BIOS file from MSI's website. Preferably 10.6 even though there is a 10.7. I can't guarantee that it will work if it isn't of the same BIOS version. Place it in a thumbdrive and update(right side, middle) it through the BIOS, there is an option where it asks you if you'd like to update from a single file. Cstates is on auto, CIE enabled, don't quite remember them.

The downside to an MSI motherboard is that it doesn't support offset voltages so it will have a fixed voltage value that you've set. Here's another OC profile that suits the 4.2GHz@Stock, just made it. I did a brief test with CPU-Z and Prime95 and it ramps down as per usual. No guarantees on stability at those settings, don't have much time to actually test it thoroughly.
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K [4.5GHz @ 1.28V]|MSI Z77A-GD65|Samsung MV-3V4G3D 16GB 1866MHz@9-9-9-24/1.35V|Powercolor HD4650|Corsair Force GT 120GB|Samsung F3 1TB|Corsair CX500|Corsair 400R|XSPC Raystorm + XSPC EX240 + EK DCP 4.0
Intel Core i7 2600|ASRock H61M/U3S3|Kingston HyperX 8GB|Intel HD2000|WD Blue 320GB|Samsung F4EG 2TB|WD Green 2TB|WD Green 3TB|WD Green 3TB|FSP SAGA II 500W|CM Elite 343
| |
dma0991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:29 PM   #10
lilvaratep
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 127
Default

Ahh, so this msi board will be a money guzzler when overclocking?
lilvaratep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:36 PM   #11
dma0991
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,693
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lilvaratep View Post
Ahh, so this msi board will be a money guzzler when overclocking?
I don't think so. If not mistaken, from review I've read about this board, it consumes less power than other competing brands. It was even tested at its overclocked settings. Having said that, it isn't a stellar performer when it comes to benchmarks.
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K [4.5GHz @ 1.28V]|MSI Z77A-GD65|Samsung MV-3V4G3D 16GB 1866MHz@9-9-9-24/1.35V|Powercolor HD4650|Corsair Force GT 120GB|Samsung F3 1TB|Corsair CX500|Corsair 400R|XSPC Raystorm + XSPC EX240 + EK DCP 4.0
Intel Core i7 2600|ASRock H61M/U3S3|Kingston HyperX 8GB|Intel HD2000|WD Blue 320GB|Samsung F4EG 2TB|WD Green 2TB|WD Green 3TB|WD Green 3TB|FSP SAGA II 500W|CM Elite 343
| |
dma0991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 01:25 PM   #12
lilvaratep
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 127
Default

if you have the time, do you mind screenshotting your cpu overclock settings? as well as the cpu features(with the c1e and intel c-state configs)
lilvaratep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 02:58 PM   #13
FalseChristian
Diamond Member
 
FalseChristian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Oshawa, ON, CA
Posts: 3,305
Default

My i5 2500K at 4.5GHz doesn't throttle down to 1.6GHz anymore. It stays at 4.5GHz all the time and I don't remember changing anything in the BIOS lately. But that's exactly what I want, anyhow.
__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.5GHz (45x100) 1.350v-Asus P8Z68-V/Gen3 (BIOS 3402)-16GB Kingston VR DDR3-1333Mhz @ 1600MHz 1.65v-2 EVGA GTX 760 2GB (1212/7600) ACX-750w Cooler Master GXII-RealTek on-board sound-Intel Onboard 1Gb Ethernet-Rogers Cable Internet 6.6MB/second-2TB Seagate 7200 SATA 6 HD-3TB SeaGate USB 3.0 EHD-22" Samsung SyncMaster 2253BW 1680x1050 67Htz-Windows 7 HP 64-bit SP1
FalseChristian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 03:08 PM   #14
SaurusX
Senior Member
 
SaurusX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 976
Default

MSI boards have an Enhanced Turbo function in the bios that causes this. Turn it off and I think you'll see the CPU cycle down when idle.
SaurusX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 03:51 PM   #15
lilvaratep
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 127
Default

enhanced turbo is off. its off by default
lilvaratep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:56 PM   #16
lilvaratep
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dma0991 View Post
Probably you should but it shouldn't be a problem either way. Those settings worked fine with my original BIOS which way older than 10.5, A2. The only thing is that my older OC profiles wouldn't work with the newer BIOS so I had to create new ones for the updated BIOS.

Download the BIOS file from MSI's website. Preferably 10.6 even though there is a 10.7. I can't guarantee that it will work if it isn't of the same BIOS version. Place it in a thumbdrive and update(right side, middle) it through the BIOS, there is an option where it asks you if you'd like to update from a single file. Cstates is on auto, CIE enabled, don't quite remember them.

The downside to an MSI motherboard is that it doesn't support offset voltages so it will have a fixed voltage value that you've set. Here's another OC profile that suits the 4.2GHz@Stock, just made it. I did a brief test with CPU-Z and Prime95 and it ramps down as per usual. No guarantees on stability at those settings, don't have much time to actually test it thoroughly.
I tried both of your profiles to no avail. I'm starting to think that I'm screwed!

As for cpu lifespan and energy/money-saving, does keeping it overclock with no downclock when idle waste a lot of cpu lifespan as well as energy?
lilvaratep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 08:29 PM   #17
dma0991
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,693
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lilvaratep View Post
I tried both of your profiles to no avail. I'm starting to think that I'm screwed!

As for cpu lifespan and energy/money-saving, does keeping it overclock with no downclock when idle waste a lot of cpu lifespan as well as energy?
Unless the BIOS profile is tied to the specific machine it is created from, it should work if you had updated the BIOS to 10.6. There is no reason why you shouldn't turn on the power saving features.

As you could see from the screenshots(1, 2), it is pretty much the basic adjustments. If all else fails, just press the OC Genie button. It should overclock it to 4.2GHz at a certain voltage that is still within the safe limits.
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K [4.5GHz @ 1.28V]|MSI Z77A-GD65|Samsung MV-3V4G3D 16GB 1866MHz@9-9-9-24/1.35V|Powercolor HD4650|Corsair Force GT 120GB|Samsung F3 1TB|Corsair CX500|Corsair 400R|XSPC Raystorm + XSPC EX240 + EK DCP 4.0
Intel Core i7 2600|ASRock H61M/U3S3|Kingston HyperX 8GB|Intel HD2000|WD Blue 320GB|Samsung F4EG 2TB|WD Green 2TB|WD Green 3TB|WD Green 3TB|FSP SAGA II 500W|CM Elite 343
| |
dma0991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:08 PM   #18
lilvaratep
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 127
Default

could it be because my xmp profile is set to enabled?

just noticed that your core switching frequency is on auto as well as your core voltage - my core voltage is set to 1.2, if it's on auto, the voltage goes above 1.2 which isn't what I want. i never saw the core switching frequency option, gonna have to check that.

Update: mine looks pretty almost identical to yours...





Last edited by lilvaratep; 11-19-2012 at 10:15 PM.
lilvaratep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 07:50 AM   #19
dma0991
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,693
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lilvaratep View Post
just noticed that your core switching frequency is on auto as well as your core voltage - my core voltage is set to 1.2, if it's on auto, the voltage goes above 1.2 which isn't what I want. i never saw the core switching frequency option, gonna have to check that.
My setup is only an adjustment to a few parts from the default settings. My original settings are not auto, they are fixed at 1.295V for a 4.5GHz overclock. I simply created a setting that is similar to your requirement, 4.2GHz@Auto.

If you set the voltage manually to 1.2V it will remain there but I can't guarantee that it is for the best. If the auto settings suggests that it needs >1.2V for 4.2GHz, it probably needs it. Setting the voltage at auto will result in a more stable system than starving the CPU of the required volts.
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K [4.5GHz @ 1.28V]|MSI Z77A-GD65|Samsung MV-3V4G3D 16GB 1866MHz@9-9-9-24/1.35V|Powercolor HD4650|Corsair Force GT 120GB|Samsung F3 1TB|Corsair CX500|Corsair 400R|XSPC Raystorm + XSPC EX240 + EK DCP 4.0
Intel Core i7 2600|ASRock H61M/U3S3|Kingston HyperX 8GB|Intel HD2000|WD Blue 320GB|Samsung F4EG 2TB|WD Green 2TB|WD Green 3TB|WD Green 3TB|FSP SAGA II 500W|CM Elite 343
| |
dma0991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 11:27 AM   #20
lilvaratep
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 127
Default

wouldn't setting the voltage to auto be dangerous/heat up the cpu? i seem to be doing fine at 1.2v.
any word on why my cpu isnt downclocking?
lilvaratep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 11:58 AM   #21
Jimzz
Platinum Member
 
Jimzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NoVA
Posts: 2,798
Default

Its not down clocking if its like my board.

I have a Biostar TZ77A board and when you overclock it locks the setting you set. The only way to overclock on my board and allow it to lower down is set the Turbo up settings higher. So I have mine set to go up to 4.2Ghz instead of the default 3.8Ghz.
Jimzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 12:06 PM   #22
dma0991
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,693
Default

Voltage on auto is better as the requirement is regulated on the fly. If it is within the 1.2V range, I wouldn't even bother with manual voltage. Unless of course you're doing overclocks like mine where manual voltage is the only way to go. No idea on why yours isn't downclocking. Mine works just fine.
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K [4.5GHz @ 1.28V]|MSI Z77A-GD65|Samsung MV-3V4G3D 16GB 1866MHz@9-9-9-24/1.35V|Powercolor HD4650|Corsair Force GT 120GB|Samsung F3 1TB|Corsair CX500|Corsair 400R|XSPC Raystorm + XSPC EX240 + EK DCP 4.0
Intel Core i7 2600|ASRock H61M/U3S3|Kingston HyperX 8GB|Intel HD2000|WD Blue 320GB|Samsung F4EG 2TB|WD Green 2TB|WD Green 3TB|WD Green 3TB|FSP SAGA II 500W|CM Elite 343
| |
dma0991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 06:49 PM   #23
lilvaratep
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dma0991 View Post
Voltage on auto is better as the requirement is regulated on the fly. If it is within the 1.2V range, I wouldn't even bother with manual voltage. Unless of course you're doing overclocks like mine where manual voltage is the only way to go. No idea on why yours isn't downclocking. Mine works just fine.
well, i am overclocking to 1.2v and I've watched some videos and read some reviews that the cpu doesn't need that much voltages especially when staying around 4.2ghz. also read that voltages at around 1.3v get dangerous for the cpu and also shorten its lifespan?

What I don't get is why my cpu isn't automatically downclocking, but yours is. We have the same friggin cpu for crying out loud lol...
lilvaratep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 07:20 PM   #24
dma0991
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,693
Default

Not all CPUs are made equal so to say that >1.2V for 4.2GHz doesn't sound too bad. At 4.5GHz, mine is much closer to 1.3V than 1.2V, that's with a 300MHz difference. I consider anything that requires me to be >1.3V is dangerous as the voltage requirement increases exponentially if I want it to run at 4.6GHz and beyond.
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K [4.5GHz @ 1.28V]|MSI Z77A-GD65|Samsung MV-3V4G3D 16GB 1866MHz@9-9-9-24/1.35V|Powercolor HD4650|Corsair Force GT 120GB|Samsung F3 1TB|Corsair CX500|Corsair 400R|XSPC Raystorm + XSPC EX240 + EK DCP 4.0
Intel Core i7 2600|ASRock H61M/U3S3|Kingston HyperX 8GB|Intel HD2000|WD Blue 320GB|Samsung F4EG 2TB|WD Green 2TB|WD Green 3TB|WD Green 3TB|FSP SAGA II 500W|CM Elite 343
| |
dma0991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 08:08 PM   #25
rgallant
Golden Member
 
rgallant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJCS View Post
Also, the minimum processor state in Windows Power Options should be set to 5%.
-I have all that set to 100% so I can idle at 3.5 , the micro sec. swings from x16 to x46 and back is nuts and proves MS turned win 7 into a battery saver even if there's none.
__________________
3770k [KL370]|| 3xMCR320[basement] || MR|| 655x2 ek-tops || 9xSFF21F || Vl4n
MVF WC || Evga GTX 780sc sli EK block,s
Sam 256gb 840 Pro|| HAF 932 || 8 gb Tridents 2400
W7HP-64 || 27"A850D || AX1200w || G15,G13,G500s
SB-Z -analog >Yamaha 765 AVR, 4x PSB alpha b1 ,1 x PSB alpha C1 ,10" sub
rgallant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.