Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2012, 08:24 AM   #1
WiseUp216
Golden Member
 
WiseUp216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CLE
Posts: 1,711
Default Now I remember why I only do clean installs.

After reading a lot of positive experiences in this forum regarding Windows 8, I purchased the Windows 8 Pro upgrade. As much as I love Windows 7, I'm not afraid of a little change.

After going through the complete upgrade process, I received this message on the final re-boot. No information, no error codes, nothing. Just a simple 'FAIL'. I don't even know where to begin in troubleshooting with a message like this.

The installer also required that I uninstall my Asmedia USB 3.0 drivers before I could begin. After reinstalling them when I got back to Windows 7, my USB 3.0 ports are still dead. Bah!

So, yea, no real point to this thread other than vent a little. I'll give 7 a little more time before I try a clean installation of 8 in the future.

__________________
i5-3570K @ 4.4 | TT Water 2.0 | Asrock Z77 Extreme4
GTX 670 SLI | Samsung 30nm 16GB | Crucial M4 128GB
Seagate 3+1 TB | Seasonic X650 | Corsair 400r w/ Bitfenix Recon

Heat
WiseUp216 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 10:07 AM   #2
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

Wow, that's fail for sure.

So is there an easy way to fresh install Win8 Upgrade? Win7 was pretty easy.
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 03:32 PM   #3
KillerBee
Senior Member
 
KillerBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 901
Default

Now if only "we" gives you a refund - then you would be back to like it was before
KillerBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 04:42 PM   #4
ImDonly1
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,145
Default

Shouldn't there be a failed install log somewhere?
ImDonly1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 04:47 PM   #5
WiseUp216
Golden Member
 
WiseUp216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CLE
Posts: 1,711
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImDonly1 View Post
Shouldn't there be a failed install log somewhere?
Good point. I'll see what I can dig up.
__________________
i5-3570K @ 4.4 | TT Water 2.0 | Asrock Z77 Extreme4
GTX 670 SLI | Samsung 30nm 16GB | Crucial M4 128GB
Seagate 3+1 TB | Seasonic X650 | Corsair 400r w/ Bitfenix Recon

Heat
WiseUp216 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:30 AM   #6
Super56K
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,343
Default

I actually was hit with that the first time I tried to upgrade from Windows 7. Rather than futz with it I re-ran the upgrade install and it completed successfully.
Super56K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:56 AM   #7
HumblePie
Lifer
 
HumblePie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 11,432
Default

I just installed 8 over the weekend for the first time. Admittedly I did a FRESH install of windows 7 before doing the upgrade. I just installed 7, did all the patches, and driver installs I needed. Nothing else besides that for windows 7. After, I the the digital windows 8 pro upgrades and it went smooth.

I will admit it was something that took the vast majority of the day to complete. A fresh install of windows 7 with all the patches still takes about 3-4 hours. windows 8 took another 3-4 hours to do as well. Then there were hours of tweaking and "app" installing on 8 after as well. Basically my entire Sunday was consumed with window's 8 install. If I had to start over from the beginning from an error like the OP got I might have thrown in the towel out of frustration as well.
__________________
Heat: 45-0-0
Political Compass
Humble Pie UK/US Rock Band
Quote:
Originally Posted by highland145;
I can't ever provide facts for my arguments so I just call others trolls instead and feel like I am winning!

Last edited by HumblePie; 11-19-2012 at 10:58 AM.
HumblePie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 11:01 AM   #8
kleinkinstein
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Closet
Posts: 823
Default

Did you keep your receipt? WTF kind of message it that?! I hate win8ate, but I digress.
kleinkinstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 02:08 PM   #9
WiseUp216
Golden Member
 
WiseUp216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CLE
Posts: 1,711
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Super56K View Post
I actually was hit with that the first time I tried to upgrade from Windows 7. Rather than futz with it I re-ran the upgrade install and it completed successfully.
Well, that is good to hear. I will try it again over the long holiday weekend.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kleinkinstein View Post
Did you keep your receipt? WTF kind of message it that?! I hate win8ate, but I digress.

Digital download. Not sure I could return it even if I wanted to.
__________________
i5-3570K @ 4.4 | TT Water 2.0 | Asrock Z77 Extreme4
GTX 670 SLI | Samsung 30nm 16GB | Crucial M4 128GB
Seagate 3+1 TB | Seasonic X650 | Corsair 400r w/ Bitfenix Recon

Heat
WiseUp216 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:54 PM   #10
SimMike2
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,472
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HumblePie View Post
I just installed 8 over the weekend for the first time. Admittedly I did a FRESH install of windows 7 before doing the upgrade. I just installed 7, did all the patches, and driver installs I needed. Nothing else besides that for windows 7. After, I the the digital windows 8 pro upgrades and it went smooth.

I will admit it was something that took the vast majority of the day to complete. A fresh install of windows 7 with all the patches still takes about 3-4 hours. windows 8 took another 3-4 hours to do as well. Then there were hours of tweaking and "app" installing on 8 after as well. Basically my entire Sunday was consumed with window's 8 install. If I had to start over from the beginning from an error like the OP got I might have thrown in the towel out of frustration as well.
Are you on dialup internet? An install should not take that long.
SimMike2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.